Apple TV first impressions and questions.....

Discussion in 'Apple TV and Home Theater' started by rossy100, Oct 30, 2015.

  1. rossy100 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2011
    #1
    I ordered my Apple TV 4 earlier in the week with the expectation that it would likely be returned - as I wasn't sure it would offer me sufficient incremental value over my ATV3. Well I think i was wrong.......

    1. I love the interface - much improved, crisper on screen etc
    2. The remote is great and I find the touchpad very easy to use and responsive
    3. Not sure if something was missing setup wrong on old box.... but now when I turn on the ATV4 it automatically switches on my Samsung soundbar (ATV is connected to sounder which is in turn connected to TV) and likewise turns it off when I put ATV to sleep. Sounds small, but makes getting everything up and running so much easier. The volume buttons on the remote also control my TV volume (didn't have to set anything up)

    Questions
    1. How can you tell how much charge is left on the remote?
    2. How long do you leave charging for/know when full? I couldn't see any provided instructions on this.
    3. Is there any way of using iPhone as a keyboard for typing?
     
  2. Blujelly macrumors 65816

    Blujelly

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2012
    Location:
    South East England
    #2

    1. How can you tell how much charge is left on the remote? I asked this on another forum, no has clarified at the moment, but the assume it will be like ATV3 remote, and it will warn you on the TV when its low.

    2. How long do you leave charging for/know when full? I couldn't see any provided instructions on this. Not 100% sure maybe a sound from the remote or Bluetooth settings to see when its full?

    3. Is there any way of using iPhone as a keyboard for typing? Not yet hopefully they will update apple remote soon
     
  3. Godzilla71 macrumors 6502

    Godzilla71

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2009
    Location:
    WA state
    #3
    From another post....
    1. Under 'Settings -> Remotes and devices -> Bluetooth' it shows a battery icon. This will go down as the battery reduces.
    2. not sure. Probably have to look at #1
    3. the remote app has not been updated yet so at the moment. no.
     
  4. nasa25 macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2010
    Location:
    canada
    #4
    the remote charge level will be in the settings menu I believe. You'll need to check this menu when its charging to see when it is fully charged
     
  5. Grumpyman macrumors regular

    Grumpyman

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2013
    #5
    been playing all day with it. very impressed overall. Don't need the wii anymore so that will be £50 on fleabay.
    bit nervous about the remote being £65 to replace. kids just don't understand that stuff!
     
  6. StevenWalker macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2014
    #6
    Its a shame HBOgo servers wont validate the boxes though.
    I and ten others have reported that every attempt fails.
    Says it has 'success' on the Mac you are entering details on, but then on the device comes up with a fail message. Extremely disappointing.
     
  7. rick snagwell macrumors 68040

    rick snagwell

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2011
    Location:
    oceanside, ca
    #7
    so really just one thing? the interface?

    i use the remote app, so 2 doesnt apply to me.

    im looking for a reason to upgrade to ATV4 dang it.
     
  8. CruiseToGo macrumors member

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2012
    #8
    Had mine for a few hours. Has anyone else noticed a substantial reduction in both sound quality and general loudness. My atv4 is connected through hdmi to my receiver, but for some reason, the surround doesn't seem to be directing to the proper channels (ie dialog center channel) and I need to crank up the volume on the receiver to hear a decent level of sound. This was not an issue on my atv3. There does not appear to be any settings to adjust other than the basic audio/video ones.
     
  9. whodatrr macrumors 6502a

    whodatrr

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2004
    #9
    Got my first of two, and played with it for a couple minutes. It's an improvement, but not exactly earthshaking. Remote helps a bit, but my kids tend to break them and I worry about the replacement cost. Apps were limited, but we'll see how that improves?

    If I had it to do over again, I'd probably save $50 and buy the 32G unit. I suspect that extra $50 will need to go into a remote replacement, in the coming year.

    It's an OK bump, but I won;t be replacing all of our ATVs with it (we have 4). When a 4k unit comes out, we'll shuffle these to the bedroom TVs.
     
  10. T5BRICK macrumors 604

    T5BRICK

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2006
    Location:
    Oregon
    #10
    https://support.apple.com/en-us/HT205384

    At some point I believe Apple stated that it took 2 hours to a full charge. Plug it in overnight when it gets low and it'll be good in the morning.

    I'm guessing the Remote app for iOS will be updated for the aTV 4 soon.
     
  11. uwdude macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2014
    #11
    It kind of worries me that the remote replacements are $79. So as of right now since you can't use the remote app, if you lose that remote you need to do a $79 replacement to be back in business.
     
  12. CruiseToGo macrumors member

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2012
    #12
    Not sure of this has been brought up, but if you had a universal remote (harmony for example), to operate an atv3, that can also be used for the atv4. Of course, you cannot access the siri features, but my harmony works with all other commands on the atv4.
     
  13. normanfox macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2014
    #13
    I have been playing with mine for an hour and here is what I found:
    1) using Logitech Bluetooth headset is awesome. turning off headset, it automatically switch to TV speaker. turn on headset, it switch to headset
    2) my Logitech Bluetooth keyboard used to work with ATV 3. but ATV 4 can't find/connect to it.
    3) Can't find a way to pair with old ATV3 remote since I program it with my universal remote to control all devices
    4) holding down Menu takes you back to home screen (like home button)
    5) holding down home button allow to select and put ATV to sleep


    you can use (5) above to turn off other devices, like TV and Receiver. pressing any buttons will turn on devices, like TV and receiver. but I don't like this feature since it can turn on your TV by accident when you toss and turn at night and press on a button.
     
  14. normanfox macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2014
    #14
    I have an URC universal remote that I program it with my old ATV3 remote. How do I connect old ATV 3 remote to the ATV 4?
     
  15. CruiseToGo macrumors member

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2012
    #15
    On my harmony, I did not need to reprogram anything it just worked as before. I think other than the siri button, most of the commands have remained the same as before.
     
  16. normanfox macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2014
    #16
    but before you use your Harmony remote, do you have to pair it with ATV4 first?
     
  17. groovyf macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2010
    Location:
    Halifax, UK
    #17
    My Harmony also worked without the need to do anything at all.

    Also, my Twelve South Hi-Rise will Do just nicely as a charging stand for the remote :D
     
  18. camarobh macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2007
    Location:
    San Diego, CA
    #18
    Nice improvements overall, but very disappointed that the interface to local iTunes library is virtually the same as before, and Siri won't search it. At least group shows first by name, then season, then episode. The list of tv shows I have in my library is so long it takes forever to scroll by flicking the touch pad. At least before I could hold down the button.
     
  19. mac.cali macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2012
    #19
    Nice to know. I was initially thinking of going for 64gb, but not sure I would actually store content and more than likely stream it. That being said, $50 for double the storage isn't a bad deal. The question is would I even use the extra storage. :(
     
  20. IscariotJ macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2004
    Location:
    UK
    #20
    My thoughts exactly. I was hoping for some improvements with a local library ( the grouping of the shows is my biggest wish ), but there's nothing. I'd settle for quick way of skipping to each letter, something akin to how it works on iOS where you start scrolling down and the alphabet appears. Hopefully, it's something that coming in a future update.

    Tis nice, though, and hopefully Apple will build on it, and not let it languish....
     
  21. BMox macrumors 6502

    BMox

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2014
    Location:
    United Kingdom
    #21
    Quick question, is the purchased screen (for movies as an example) exactly the same as it is on the 3rd gen ATV?
     
  22. Bokes macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2008
    #22

    No iTunes search!?!
    I assumed it would include a search through your own library- I was really excited about that.
    How can Apple not include a local iTunes search?
     
  23. stocklen macrumors member

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2013
    #23

    double tap the menu button whilst on the home screen to instantly start the rather pretty screen saver
     
  24. shamus99 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2014
    #24
    I like how it takes over the tv... turned it on and it switched inputs without me doing anything. Volume works and it even turned off the tv when its done. I can totally see the potential for when you only use an appletv in the future.
     
  25. Yumbo macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2011
    Location:
    Australia

Share This Page