Aqua Computer kryoM.2 evo PCIe 3.0 x 4, adapter

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by Matty_TypeR, Sep 4, 2018.

  1. Matty_TypeR macrumors regular

    Matty_TypeR

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2016
    #1
    I just installed this PCIe card with a 970 pro NVMe to boot from ( big thanks to TSIALEX for modding my boot rom's top man )

    https://www.amazon.co.uk/gp/product/B0742LW4WB/ref=oh_aui_detailpage_o01_s00?ie=UTF8&psc=1

    this adapter card is very very nice, and as I have the PX1 angel wings to compare its very well made and weighs about 3 times as much, real heavy heatsink and a heatsink both sides of the card.

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    so far all is working very well, have to do an update to beta 8 but iam very pleased with not only the PCIe card but also being able to boot NVMe Tsialex also sorted out my boot rooms as they had some junk in there, plus he said I had a very long 17 digit number on my logic board on one Mac Pro he had never seen before, so will take a pic when I next have a good clean.
     
  2. crjackson2134 macrumors 68040

    crjackson2134

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2013
    Location:
    Charlotte, NC
  3. handheldgames macrumors 68000

    handheldgames

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2009
    Location:
    Pacific NW, USA
    #3
    Thanks for sharing. What king of temp drop are you seeing with and without the fan you will be adding?
     
  4. Matty_TypeR thread starter macrumors regular

    Matty_TypeR

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2016
    #4
    I don't have any fans on the PCIe cards so can't say what temps are, and Mac fan control doesn't read the PCIe devices. but going by the nice heatsink and the heatsink on the back it should stay nice and cool.
     
  5. tsialex macrumors 68040

    tsialex

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2016
    Location:
    Brazil
    #5
    It's the LogicBoardSerialNumber, you will need to take a picture of the label at the left of the male CPU tray connector on the logic board, you will need to take out the CPU tray cage.

    Your BootROM is working as is with iMessage, but it's better to have the correct LBSN on your BootROM. Apple change the requirements of iMessage validation frequently, trying to stop the hackintosh crowd. Last time they changed it, I lost the ability of login with Fusion VMs even with all the ids correctly defined into the VMX file, iCloud even thinks the VM is a Mac Pro (I use the data of a defective logic board that I have).
     
  6. Matty_TypeR thread starter macrumors regular

    Matty_TypeR

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2016
    #6
    All is working 100% thank you, and yea that's kinda cool from a defective logic board, I wonder if the Hackintosh boys will be able to fiddle all in the future, seems apple is clamping down there.
     
  7. Earl Urley macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2014
    #7
  8. tsialex macrumors 68040

    tsialex

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2016
    Location:
    Brazil
    #8
    gallery-img-PX1-9-lg.jpg

    I've noticed something with the kryoM.2, where is the SPI-flash with the PCIe id data/option ROM? I can't see any flash memory in the pictures.

    It's a totally dumb card?
     
  9. Matty_TypeR thread starter macrumors regular

    Matty_TypeR

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2016
    #9
    I can't see anything like that on it, when I take it out I will look and see, but if its a dumb card, it sure does work well, and keeps it cool:)
     
  10. tsialex macrumors 68040

    tsialex

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2016
    Location:
    Brazil
    #10
    PCIe SSDs work without the option ROM, but it's a problem when you have lot's of cards or a PCIe switch/bifurcation - you can't use two dumb cards together.

    For the everyone using it to install only one PCIe SSD/only one card on a system, will work nicely.
     
  11. Matty_TypeR thread starter macrumors regular

    Matty_TypeR

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2016
    #11
    That explains it, so a good thing I use it with my angel wings PX1 then, but as a single card offering exceptional cooling, it works very well.
     
  12. itadampf macrumors newbie

    itadampf

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2016
    Location:
    Europe
    #12
    Does the Lycom DT-120 have this problem too? I will test one at the end of the week, and if all is good I would love to get a second one, i'm slowly removing all the hds from my macpro... easier to move it around :)
     
  13. tsialex macrumors 68040

    tsialex

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2016
    Location:
    Brazil
    #13
    I never had one and the photos of the site are horrible. Look for the SOIC/SOP SPI flash, it's the 8-pin chip that I showed on the Angelbird Wings PX1 and it's the same SPI flash as your Mac Pro.

    If you want to test, install one on the slot 2 and another on the slot 3 or 4. Do not install both on the 3 or 4 slots.
     
  14. Matty_TypeR thread starter macrumors regular

    Matty_TypeR

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2016
    #14
    The Lycom DT-120 is also a dumb card, it has no SPI flash on it. I have one in front of me now.
     
  15. LightBulbFun macrumors 68000

    LightBulbFun

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2013
    Location:
    London UK
    #15
    interesting this is something iv been mentioning in places for a long time

    that someone should try make an M.2 card with an EEPROM we can stuff the Apple NVMe driver into as an option ROM so we would not have to worry about editing BootROMs and the risks and issues that editing BootROMs can entail.

    I wonder what can be done with that card if that is indeed an EEPROM. :)
     
  16. tsialex macrumors 68040

    tsialex

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2016
    Location:
    Brazil
    #16
    Angelbird Wings PX1 has a option ROM, maybe we just need to change it to a bigger one and do the magic EFI trick with the NVMe DXE.
     
  17. Earl Urley macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2014
    #17
    Since I doubt I can ever afford a HighPoint 7101A, I picked this up from Amazon US.

    It has heat sinks and thermal pads for both sides of the M.2 chip. Carefully cleaned the sinks with 99% alcohol pads before applying the putty-like thermal pads.

    With a 512 GB Samsung 970 Pro, My temps were averaging 47-51C with the Lycom DT-120 and no heat sinks I was using before.

    With the Kryo, after waiting for 8 hours or so, temps were now averaging 37-39C.

    Temps were courtesy of DriveDX v.1.8.1, updated to latest device definitions.

    I left the LED switch on the card on "SSD" so the area under my desk gets lit up like a radioactive chamber from an Irwin Allen TV show.

    Very high quality build for a 'dumb' carrier card.

    PCI bracket is vented to allow air to flow directly over heatsinks to the outside of the computer.
     
  18. handheldgames macrumors 68000

    handheldgames

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2009
    Location:
    Pacific NW, USA
    #18
    Thanks for sharing some rock-solid stats. This elevates the product beyond just looking cool to a great solution.

    +1 on drive DX. The developer behind the app is very responsive.
     
  19. tsialex macrumors 68040

    tsialex

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2016
    Location:
    Brazil
    #19
    Just $5 on this Bundle Hunt, finally bought it.
     
  20. ezylstra macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2017
    #20
    I ran two Lycom DT-120 with sm961 cards in MacPro4,1->5,1 slots 3 and 4. Those slots share 4 PCIe lanes via PCIe switch on the motherboard. No problems. Using both at the same time, though, limits combined throughput.
     
  21. MacGuy'ver Suspended

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2018
    #21

    But with a regular PCIe M.2 card WITH heatsink mine runs 36C too, runs all day long.
    Kryo is just twice the price, like the Wings.

    https://nl.aliexpress.com/item/Key-....html?spm=a2g0z.search0104.0.0.3bfa9b6feDRCun
     
  22. crjackson2134 macrumors 68040

    crjackson2134

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2013
    Location:
    Charlotte, NC
    #22
    I was planning on doing the same after your post. It looks like it costs $5 to unlock the bundle and another $5 for the App itself. Is that correct? What other apps do you feel are worth adding to the bundle?
     
  23. MacGuy'ver Suspended

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2018
    #23
    Screen Shot 2018-09-19 at 18.38.18.png
     
  24. bookemdano macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2011
    #24
    I chose to buy it direct from binary fruit because they give you a key good for up to three installs, and I have at least three Macs I would want to run it on.

    The bundle at $10 is half the price, but the license expressly allows only installing on one machine. I have no idea if binaryfruit's back-end actively enforces this (i.e. won't allow more than one activation with the same SN) but I didn't want to take the risk, plus as everyone has said it's good software worth supporting.
     
  25. crjackson2134 macrumors 68040

    crjackson2134

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2013
    Location:
    Charlotte, NC
    #25

Share This Page