Are Desktop NAS drives appropriate for Mac Pro 5,1 Internal RAID?

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by devynbrew, Apr 10, 2018.

  1. devynbrew macrumors newbie

    devynbrew

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2017
    #1
  2. bsbeamer macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2012
    #2
    The 8TB HGST drives do not show in system after a restart. This might be especially bad for RAID. They do show on cold start. Be aware of this ahead of time.

    Also worth mentioning, my 8TB HGST was showing abormal wear with the pin tape fix. Was getting extremely hot and wouldn’t manage power properly. Moved the drive to external enclosure and all was fine, but it does report in DriveDx as less healthy than other (much older) drives.
     
  3. devynbrew thread starter macrumors newbie

    devynbrew

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2017
    #3
    Thanks for your advice.
     
  4. jdelgado macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2009
    Location:
    Chile
    #4
    There are drives that implement a new feature called Power Disable. It seems that older enclosures do not support this and there are problems making the drives work. I do not have a Mac Pro, but my guess is that it does not support this feature. You may want to check or ask HGST if the drive you will buy implements this or not.

    Regarding HGST, I have six drives and have worked for 6 years in a NAS. I just bought two HGST He10 10TB drives without the Power Disable feature for a case that does not support it and I expect to have no trouble with them.
     
  5. PowerMike G5 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2005
    Location:
    New York, NY
    #5
    If it helps, I have used 4TB WD Red NAS drives in different RAID configs in my Mac Pro (RAID 0/RAID 5) with great success in the past.

    Currently using 4x6TB WD Blacks in RAID with no issue as well.
     
  6. bsbeamer macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2012
    #6
  7. lowendlinux Contributor

    lowendlinux

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2014
    Location:
    North Country (way upstate NY)
    #7
    My 6TB WD uses the new screw layout too
     
  8. PowerMike G5 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2005
    Location:
    New York, NY
    #8
    Yes, this is a good point I forgot to mention. I have the sled adapters from OWC that support the mounting layout of these larger capacity drives.
     

Share This Page