Are iPhone plans "unlimited SMS" from ATT-ATT customers? (M2M)

Discussion in 'iPhone' started by coolbreeze, Jul 1, 2007.

1. coolbreeze macrumors 68000

So I am sitting here worrying about every text I send to my GF b/c the iPhone plan is limited to 200 SMS'. I was flipping through the iPhone brochure (titled "AT&T Plans for iPhone) and read this:

(under AT&T Advantages)
    "Largest Mobile to Mobile Community"
    with unlimited calling and texting to AT&T's wireless customers - over 62 million

Sooo, does this mean as long as I'm sending/receiving an SMS from an AT&T subscriber, it doesn't count as one of the 200? (similar to Verizon's IN network).

I sure hope so. The iPhone plan brochure clearly states this.

I'm new to ATT, so forgive me if this common knowledge.

If this is true, and you want to iChat with another ATT wireless user, just SMS them. It's free according to this.

EDIT: Here is the scan. This is the most current brochure they have...anyone want to explain why this is falsley advertised?

Attached Files:

• scan.jpg
      scan.jpg
      File size:
      463.9 KB
      Views:
  2. ssh macrumors member

I believe that the unlimited mobile to mobile is for calls, not text. Typically, the unlimited mobile to mobile SMS is a $5/month add-on on AT&T. I'm planning on calling AT&T in the morning to check on this myself (and make sure that the $5 option is on it if needed).

3. siurpeeman macrumors 603

siurpeeman

unfortunately, texting between at&t mobile customers is not free.

4. coolbreeze thread starter macrumors 68000

Also, my plan online says this:

UNLIMITED EXPANDED M2M-N/C $0.00

Expanded...referring to SMS?

I sure hope it's unlimited from ATT-ATT. I'm scanning the brochure now for everyone to see...

5. whateverandever macrumors 6502a

6. ssh macrumors member

Well, perhaps we'll get lucky with this, then! I hadn't seen that.

7. coolbreeze thread starter macrumors 68000