Ask your stupid questions in this thread! :)

Discussion in 'Apple Watch' started by Goldfrapp, Apr 24, 2015.

  1. Goldfrapp macrumors 601

    Goldfrapp

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2005
    #1
    I'll start:

    Is there any other way to go back to home screen besides pressing the crown?
     
  2. Sparkeze macrumors 6502a

    Sparkeze

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2014
    Location:
    Indiana
    #2
    Can I change the color in a doodle without it sending?
     
  3. anez macrumors 6502

    anez

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2011
    Location:
    Ireland
    #3
    Where do I input WiFi settings, or does it automatically lift them from a paired phone?
     
  4. jjlannoo Suspended

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2011
    #4
    lifts them. once lifted it will use them even if phone is dead for siri and iMessage, maybe other stuff as well
     
  5. zorinlynx macrumors 601

    zorinlynx

    Joined:
    May 31, 2007
    Location:
    Florida, USA
    #5
    How good is the watch at detecting when you want to look at the time? Is there a delay when you lift it to look at it?

    Does it turn on randomly as you move about when you're not looking at it? Like, when you sit at a desk or start typing on your computer?
     
  6. jjlannoo Suspended

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2011
    #6


    comes on way too much for me and would never work for me at work. It would always be coming on. I turned that feature off.
     
  7. anez macrumors 6502

    anez

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2011
    Location:
    Ireland
    #7
    What does the red dot on the top of the wake screen mean?
     
  8. gwynne macrumors 68000

    gwynne

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2010
    #8
    Is there going to be a way to have custom faces?

    ----------

    I believe that lights up at < 50% battery (or so). Turns to a green charging icon when charging, or a lock when locked.

    EDIT: Poster below me seems to imply I guessed wrong about the red dot. Their answer makes more sense.
     
  9. jjlannoo Suspended

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2011
    #9
    new notifications, pull down from the top to view
     
  10. tgi macrumors 65816

    tgi

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2012
    #10
    This is NOT a stupid question. :)
     
  11. spiritedcharm macrumors member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2012
    #11
    The red dot means you have unread notifications
     
  12. acctman macrumors 65816

    acctman

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2012
    Location:
    Georgia
    #12
    you're right, and i thought it was a sync notification
     
  13. paulkaliciak macrumors newbie

    paulkaliciak

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2015
    Location:
    Toronto, ON
    #13
    At the top of the clock face I have a red phone icon with a line through it, because the watch has lost its connection to my iPhone 6 Plus (I went upstairs and obviously out of range). What's annoying is that I'm back right next to the phone and it won't reconnect. I'd like to power off the watch and restart it, but I have no idea how to shut it down!
     
  14. gwynne macrumors 68000

    gwynne

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2010
    #14
    Does loading the Apple Watch app on the *phone* help?

    EDIT: Shut down by holding down the button that isn't the crown.
     
  15. dusters711 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2008
    #15
    How do I get my phone to ding again when text messages come through? I had on "mirror iPhone" but only my watch would give haptic feedback but nothing from the phone. Shouldn't the phone still ding when I get a text?
     
  16. paulkaliciak macrumors newbie

    paulkaliciak

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2015
    Location:
    Toronto, ON
    #16
    No, the app on the phone also says it has lost its connection. Neither the watch nor the iPhone app suggest any remedy.
     
  17. Pupi macrumors regular

    Pupi

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2015
    #17
    Can it answer FaceTime Audio calls?

    Can it answer or does it even ring for FaceTime video calls (which of course would only get the sound across).
     
  18. acctman macrumors 65816

    acctman

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2012
    Location:
    Georgia
    #18
    1. How do you check your pulse and heart rate?
    2. how do you go to the draw screen?
    3. how do you send someone your heart beat (do they have to have a Watch too?)
     
  19. a1psx macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2015
    Location:
    UK
    #19
    Are duck billed platypus the only venomous mammal?
     
  20. profets macrumors 68040

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2009
    #20
    This was happening to me a few times as well. Quite annoying. Even the not super stable Pebble would reconnect much quicker for me.

    Anyway, I toggled airplane mode on watch and iPhone, and then checked bluetooth under Settings on the iPhone. It's been good since then.
     
  21. Seannyb macrumors member

    Seannyb

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2012
    Location:
    Oregon
    #21
    How do I get an app on my :apple:Watch?

    For example: I have the ESPN app on my phone and when I go to the Watch App Store and go to ESPN it just says "OPEN" to open the app on my phone. How do I get it on my watch?
     
  22. foxkoneko macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2011
    #22
    can we trade our spare strap on black for say another person's pink/blue/white one? ;)
     
  23. anez macrumors 6502

    anez

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2011
    Location:
    Ireland
    #23
    Swipe up from the wake screen. It should be one of the options there, you swipe left and right to go through them, and it seems to revert to the last one used every time you use it.

    (Unless you've disabled it from showing in Glances via the Watch App on the phone.)
     
  24. gwynne macrumors 68000

    gwynne

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2010
    #24
    Pulse and heart rate mean the same thing, I think. You can only view it from Glances. To get to Glances, swipe up from the watch face screen. Swipe L/R to find the heart monitor. If it's not there, you may need to enable it from the Apple Watch app.
     
  25. Karnicopia macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2015
    #25
    One of the cool things I found when playing around with the demo versions was double clicking the crown seemed to work like a back button and take you into whatever your previous screen, app was. Seemed to really help navigating.
     

Share This Page