AT&T Activation how long is it taking?

Discussion in 'iPhone' started by planetgirth, Sep 19, 2014.

  1. planetgirth macrumors member

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2013
    #1
    I've been waiting about 20 minutes and wondering how long most are waiting?

    Also the 6 is PERFECT for me!!
     
  2. DravenGSX macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2008
    #2
    The two I did were immediate. Have you rebooted the phone? Is your old phone still activated?
     
  3. planetgirth thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2013
  4. planetgirth thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2013
  5. byeehaaw macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    May 7, 2007
    Location:
    New York, NY
    #5
    been waiting for over an hr.. maybe somethings wrong. rebooted new phone.nothing yet
     
  6. thoryamaha919 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2008
    Location:
    Pittsburgh PA
  7. Mustangjac macrumors member

    Mustangjac

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2012
    Location:
    Florida
    #7
    No issues for me. Took just minutes. Didn't seem to hang up at all. Sorry to hear other folks having trouble.
     
  8. thoryamaha919 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2008
    Location:
    Pittsburgh PA
    #8
    I just got off the phone with att and they said the system is backed up for activations
     
  9. mloffa macrumors 6502a

    mloffa

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2009
    #9
    Mine didn't activate so I just put the SIM card from my old iPhone in.
     
  10. Diode macrumors 68020

    Diode

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2004
    Location:
    Washington DC
    #10
    Ha - I remember on the first iPhone it took over a day to activate.
     
  11. chhhrrriiisss macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2009
    Location:
    Connecticut
  12. planetgirth thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2013
    #12
    Over an hour and still nothing.

    ----------

    How long did you wait? I thought they were using a NANO sim instead of micro. Anyone see any problems from this?

    ----------

    att message says to give at least 4 hours for activation.
     
  13. mloffa macrumors 6502a

    mloffa

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2009
    #13
    I didn't wait long - maybe 10 minutes. I'm coming from a 5S so it uses the same nano sim. Sorry you guys have to wait coming from older devices!
     
  14. brian.leveille macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2007
    #14
    I was waiting... waiting... waiting...

    Then decided to try a reboot after reading this thread and PRESTO! It joined AT&T immediately.
     
  15. pvmacguy macrumors 65816

    pvmacguy

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2009
    Location:
    Jax
    #15
    Try resetting your network settings. Power off old phone and try and activate. Back in the days when I was at att selling we would sometimes have to do that with the older iphones.
     
  16. vitacura macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2014
    #16
    Wife gets home in just over an hour, we'll see how long it takes hers to activate.
     
  17. ROLLTIDE1 macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2012
    #17
    4G phones don't need to be activated ! Just switch sim cards and you are cooking with gas
     
  18. thoryamaha919 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2008
    Location:
    Pittsburgh PA
  19. Diode macrumors 68020

    Diode

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2004
    Location:
    Washington DC
    #20
    Unless you are upgrading from a phone that doesn't use the nanosim or are switching providers. Then you have to activate.
     
  20. bmms8 macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2007
  21. Qui Gon JinnCon macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2014
    #22
    AT&T Activation

    I was just at the Apple store and waited until mine got activated. It didn't activate for about 20 minutes. They had me try putting the old phone on airplane mode, and then restart the new phone---that seemed to fix mine and activate it right away.
     
  22. TAI182 macrumors regular

    TAI182

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2013
    Location:
    Chicago, IL
  23. Che Castro macrumors 603

    Joined:
    May 21, 2009
    #24
    How do you activate a phone from at&t

    Do you have to call?

    Can you do it with iTunes wihtout calling


    And can it be done over a chat on the at&t site
     
  24. joeshmo2010 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2009
    Location:
    Seattle, WA

Share This Page