Carrier AT&T to Verizon XS Max imei issues

Discussion in 'iPhone' started by MacUzer1, Oct 2, 2018.

  1. MacUzer1 macrumors member

    MacUzer1

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2011
    Location:
    New Jersey
    #1
    I keep trying to put in my imei to get a Verizon sim and no matter what I do it keeps saying my iPhone is incompatible
     
  2. chscag macrumors 68040

    chscag

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2008
    Location:
    Fort Worth, Texas
    #2
    If your iPhone is GSM (AT&T, T-Mobile) it may not be compatible with Verizon or Sprint which use CDMA.
     
  3. MacUzer1 thread starter macrumors member

    MacUzer1

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2011
    Location:
    New Jersey
    #3
    the new iPhones are CDMA and GSM compatible I managed to get it working
     
  4. rmt52 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2015
    #4
    How’d you manage to get it to work? Does it show up as an iPhone on your account page or as a non-vzw device?
     
  5. Packers1958 macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2017
    Location:
    South Dakota
  6. BasicGreatGuy Contributor

    BasicGreatGuy

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2012
    Location:
    In the middle of several books.
    #6
    When I first got the SIM-free Max and put in the SIM that was in my iPhone X, Verizon could not identify the phone for several days in the app and online. Yesterday, I checked and Verizon correctly sees I have the XS Max.
     
  7. Packers1958 macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2017
    Location:
    South Dakota
    #7
    I bought my Max directly from Verizon. I tested a T-Mobile sim and it would not recognize the sim for 1 day. The next day I tried and it worked perfectly.
     
  8. TheRealAlex macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2015
    #8
    I got my XsMAX exchanges at the Apple store yesterday. And there is a Factory Menu. That only New Phones display. It’s a Menu you don’t see even after a Full factory reset.

    The Menu list all compatible carriers.
    Sprint, at&t, Verizon, T-Mobile, are all compatible from the Same device.
     
  9. ThatGuyInLa macrumors 6502

    ThatGuyInLa

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2012
    Location:
    Glendale, Ca.
    #9
    I was on the phone with Verizon for three hours, for real, launch day trying to get my phone activated. The support rep said a ton of phones bought from Apple for their network were having the same issue. She claimed after this three hours we were the first on their supprt team to find the solution. Much joy was to he had. She pinged her support channel to let the other reps know. Heh.

    Also, I still only have two bars instead of four. As I had with all previous devices. :/
     

Share This Page

8 October 2, 2018