ATI Radeon 3870 is NOW available...

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by rcw3, Jul 1, 2008.

  1. rcw3 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2006
    #1
    I've been checking shop.ati.com daily for the ATI Radeon HD Radeon 3870 Mac & PC. Today it went from no-stock to in-stock and I was able to place my order. It appears that it will be shipping tomorrow for delivery on Thursday. We shall see.... Just missed June by a day.
     
  2. ZeelessOne macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2008
    #2
    Nice find. Notice how it isn't in the Mac section but the Gamer section. I was just about to check there but I checked here first.
     
  3. TheRevolution55 macrumors member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2008
    #3
    ya but there tax is crazy it says 30 dollars for standard shipping ( I live in Florida) for a 5 pound total purchase
     
  4. Siron macrumors 6502

    Siron

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2008
    Location:
    North Carolina
    #4
    Link please. I searched the ATI site and couldn't find anything.
     
  5. CharlieKirk macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2008
    #7
    Another reason for a pre-nehalem upgrade?

    It's unlikely..but it's adding up they could add this and the... 9800gt? as an option?
     
  6. Tallest Skil macrumors P6

    Tallest Skil

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2006
    Location:
    1 Geostationary Tower Plaza
    #8
    Nope.
     
  7. TheRevolution55 macrumors member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2008
    #9
    does anyone now if I run two 3870 with the crossfire bridge connected, And if I boot into OSX will it run or will I have to take the other one out, and disconnect the bridge?
     
  8. ZeelessOne macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2008
    #10
    If you have two 3870s connected with a Crossfire bridge (or 2), I think Mac OS X will still function, just not with the advantage of Crossfire obviously. If you notice, you have to enable Crossfire in Windows, otherwise they just run as two seperate graphics cards. In Mac OS X, whichever one the monitor is plugged into will be used. They're still both in use, just as seperate cards for extra monitors if you like.

    A 9600 GT would be silly. It's just a less powerful 8800 GT.

    Whoever gets a retail 3870 Mac and PC edition first, could you list off the package contents? I want to know if it has the power cables and Crossfire bridges.
     
  9. Siron macrumors 6502

    Siron

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2008
    Location:
    North Carolina
  10. fresh look macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2008
    #12
    still not available on the canadian site.also does this card need 10.5 or is 10.4 enough.THANKS
     
  11. DeuceDeuce macrumors 6502a

    DeuceDeuce

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2007
    Location:
    San Dimas, CA
    #13
    Is this card that much better then the older one?
     
  12. rcw3 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2006
    #14
    My 3870 arrived at my house this morning via Fedex... Look forward to installing it this evening...
     
  13. kabunaru Guest

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2008
    #15
    And please post pictures/make a Youtube video about it. Thanks. :)
     
  14. pprior macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2007
    #16
    Just ordered - hope it runs better than the 8800 I had to return.
     
  15. m1stake macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2008
    Location:
    Philly
    #17
    To quote benchmarks that everyone has access to, the 8800GT is 1.2 to 1.3 times faster in games, but doesn't do core image well and makes your basic OSX experience worse. Just buy two for crossfire under windows.
     
  16. Chrispy macrumors 68020

    Chrispy

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2004
    Location:
    Avon, IN
    #18
    Haha, I just posted that in the other thread. We need some vids and pics of these for sure!
     
  17. Spikeanator6982 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2007
    #19
  18. kabunaru Guest

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2008
    #20
    I have a question.
    For the Mac requirement, I see it requires a Mac with PCI Express. It doesn't necessarily says a Mac Pro. Will the HD 3870 work with PowerMac G5s too? :confused:
     
  19. Cowinacape macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2006
    Location:
    Surrey B.C. Canada
    #21
    Yes, inquiring minds want to know!
     
  20. rcw3 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2006
    #22
    Just installed it into my Early 2008 Mac Pro running 10.5... Runs WoW well enough :)

    Yes, IT DOES include a CrossFire cable, even though it is not included in the list of included items on the box.

    The box states that 10.5.2 or higher is required.
     
  21. Alith macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2008
    Location:
    London, UK.
    #23
    I'd love to get excited about these cards but not when there are 4850s and 4870s about.

    ATI really need to get Mac&PC versions of those cards out fast.

    EDIT: Oh, speaking of which. Is it possible to crossfire a 3870 and two 4870s in Windows? Or one 3870 and one 4870? I thought I read that it used all sorts of different combinations now?
     
  22. Frozonecold macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    #24
    You would use too much power, if they were all running at once, that and they would run slower.
     
  23. TheRevolution55 macrumors member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2008

Share This Page