ATV4: how to play classic Nintendo and Sega games!

Discussion in 'Apple TV Apps' started by Che Castro, Oct 31, 2015.

  1. Che Castro, Oct 31, 2015
    Last edited: Jan 3, 2016

    Che Castro macrumors 603

    Joined:
    May 21, 2009
    #1


    What you will need:
    Apple TV 4
    Computer Running Mac OSX
    USB Type-C to USB Cable - http://amzn.to/1Ypo6Bn
    XCODE mac app and Apple Developer Account - free



    How-to Install Provenance (Emulator) to Apple TV & Import ROMs


    When you connect the Apple TV to the computer , you must use the power cable also



    How to Update Provenance on the Apple TV

    Provenancetv-release


    you can use any MFI controller

    https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=EHMt_0C4Iw4

    PROVENANCE EMULATOR
    sega/nintendo

    https://github.com/jasarien/Provenance
    page 3 troubleshoot
    #66








    MAME EMULATOR- ARCADE GAMES
    https://github.com/kevsmithpublic/MameAppleTV
    page 10 troubleshoot
    how to install click here #247
     
  2. nasa25 macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2010
    Location:
    canada
    #2
    Just saw this online as well. I'm definitely sold
     
  3. Che Castro, Oct 31, 2015
    Last edited: Nov 14, 2015

    Che Castro thread starter macrumors 603

    Joined:
    May 21, 2009
  4. nasa25 macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2010
    Location:
    canada
    #4
    USB c to a so yes that will work

    Just got one off of amazon.ca for $15
     
  5. xmichaelp macrumors 68000

    xmichaelp

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2012
    #5
    Hell yes. I was wondering if it was going to be easy to sideload apps.

    Classic games are the only games I really care about, nice to know I can play them on my Apple TV. I want one now.
     
  6. Rigby macrumors 601

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2008
    Location:
    San Jose, CA
    #6
    He doesn't stream them. He uploads them to the Apple TV (using a web server that's built into the emulator app).
    On the Apple TV. But the ROMs for SNES games can't be very big, or are they?

    Does anybody know of a build of MAME that works on the Apple TV? That would make the device a bit more interesting for me. :p
     
  7. jrcsh6 macrumors 6502

    jrcsh6

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2008
  8. TrueBlou macrumors demi-god

    TrueBlou

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2014
    Location:
    Scotland
    #8
    Provenance works brilliantly on the Apple TV. I've been using it for weeks and everything has been plain sailing.
    As mentioned, getting roms on is as easy as opening your web browser and dragging and dropping them.
     
  9. AFEPPL macrumors 68030

    AFEPPL

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2014
    Location:
    England
  10. nasa25 macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2010
    Location:
    canada
    #10
    So you drag them from the web browser into the provenance window?
     
  11. zachlegomaniac macrumors 6502a

    zachlegomaniac

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2008
    #11
    How much space does an average NES rom take up? What about the app itself? Thanks!
     
  12. TrueBlou macrumors demi-god

    TrueBlou

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2014
    Location:
    Scotland
    #12

    Yeah, on Provenance on Apple TV you click the Import Roms button, it gives you a url to type into your computers web browser. Then you just drag any rooms you want to add onto that and it copies them to the Apple TV.
     
  13. TrueBlou macrumors demi-god

    TrueBlou

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2014
    Location:
    Scotland
    #13
    Provenance itself takes up 58MB on the Apple TV, the average NES Rom is about 100 to 200 KB so barely any space at all. the entire english language rom set for the NES is just over 150MB. SNES and Genesis roms are in the region of 1 - 2MB
     
  14. zachlegomaniac macrumors 6502a

    zachlegomaniac

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2008
    #14
    Damn that's awesome! Thank you.
     
  15. xmichaelp macrumors 68000

    xmichaelp

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2012
    #15
    What do you use for a controller? The only one I have is a wii u pro controller which works well for Openemu but I doubt it would work with the Apple TV
     
  16. mattopotamus macrumors G5

    mattopotamus

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2012
    #16
    gonna do this now since i have a macbook and usb-c already
     
  17. TrueBlou macrumors demi-god

    TrueBlou

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2014
    Location:
    Scotland
    #17
    Probably not, I'm using a Mad Catz C.T.R.L.i and it's really good. Well worth the money. The Siri remote does a surprisingly decent job as a basic controller for NES, Master System, Gameboy and the like. But I'd definitely recommend investing in a decent MFI controller.
     
  18. Che Castro, Oct 31, 2015
    Last edited: Oct 31, 2015

    Che Castro thread starter macrumors 603

    Joined:
    May 21, 2009
    #18
    So you have to upload each rom one by one
    Or can you upload folders ?
    Edit : I see you can just drag and drop

    Snes and nes are small like 300mb for the entire collection , but when you get to n64 and ps1 the files get bigger , in the future there might be emulators for them
     
  19. mattopotamus macrumors G5

    mattopotamus

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2012
    #19
    super easy to install and works great. In less that 5 minutes I am up a running :)
     
  20. xmichaelp macrumors 68000

    xmichaelp

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2012
    #20
    Will Apple ever crack down on this stuff? It seems too easy...

    I don't believe you can sideload apps on the iPhone. Why is it so easy for the Apple TV?
     
  21. Eau Rouge macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2013
    #21
    It's possible to sideload to iPhone. Lots of people do this to get f.lux without jailbreaking.
     
  22. nasa25 macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2010
    Location:
    canada
    #22
    Damn I'll be playing a lot of old school games and loving every minute of it pretty soon
     
  23. nasa25 macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2010
    Location:
    canada
    #23
    You just followed the tutorial?
     
  24. shacky macrumors regular

    shacky

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2008
    #24
    Can you do this with a PC instead of a Mac? All my devices are Apple but my computers are Windows.
     
  25. TrueBlou macrumors demi-god

    TrueBlou

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2014
    Location:
    Scotland
    #25
    It is great. I've still got my 30 odd retro consoles set up in my office, but it's handy having an emulator downstairs instead of moving hardware about.
     

Share This Page