Bad GFX performance on MacBook Pro 16-inch

SE0Master

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Mar 2, 2020
Hello

I'm new to Mac and just got my brand new MacBook Pro 16-inch 5 days ago, and I can't figure out why it is performing so badly? I'm plugged into power, but with just browsing the web, the windows and my workflow has small gfx-lagspikes all the time. Let's say I will drag a window from the one side to the other or enabling full screen mode, all the windoes are lagging with small "gfx lagspikes". It's not a very smooth experience.

Even though I know it's "just" a base model i7 with 16GB RAM and Radeon 5300 GFX 4GB it still performs worse than my MacBook Air 2012. This is really strange?

I know this Mac should have the auto-kick in and enable the dGPU when needed, but it's not even activating Adobe Lightroom if I look under Activity Monitor > Energy. It's like the dGPU is not active at all?

And even though the dGPU isn't active this MacBook Pro 16-inch with Intel UHD 630 GFX should still perform better than an 8 year older MacBook Air from 2012, but it isn't.

Help what's going on?

Reactions: Vasiliy Kudryashov

Vasiliy Kudryashov

macrumors newbie
Mar 2, 2020
Hi, i have same perfomance problem with window lagging. My mac randomly starts lagging if im browsing.
It is absolutly random, I can open all my programms like cinema4d, blender, figma and its works fine, but most of time when i do simple browsing its lagging

SE0Master

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Mar 2, 2020
Yes it is pretty annoying. And I can't even get my dGPU do activate with Adobe Lightroom, so if Lightroom can't activate the dGPU what can???

I've read that the auto-switching isn't new problems, and if you turn the auto-switching off in Energy Saving Mode you force the MacBook to use the dGPU all the time, but can it really be true??

Reactions: Vasiliy Kudryashov

Z28McCrory

macrumors regular
Jan 20, 2014
Indiana