Battery data (cycles, health, etc.) gone in iOS 10.

Discussion in 'iOS 10' started by echo1877, Jun 15, 2016.

  1. echo1877 macrumors member

    echo1877

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2015
    #1
    Until now there was no public API for developers to retrieve battery data such as cycles, battery health, or charger information such as actual charging current and whether or not the device is actually charging. The data was actually available, but was not officially made available by Apple.

    Many apps (including my own Battery Health which was removed from the App Store by Apple a while ago) took advantage of this information. There are still several apps on the App Store that utilize it.

    Unfortunately, with iOS 10 Apple has decided to completely hide this information from the end-users (even though this info has been available on iOS devices since pretty much day 1) and with iOS 10 it is no longer available to anyone. :(

    Just an FYI.

    Note: I have not tested this with iBackupBot and similar tethered solutions that require a PC/Mac.
     
  2. M5RahuL macrumors 68020

    M5RahuL

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2009
    Location:
    Colorado
    #2
    Haven't checked yet with Coconut Battery 2..but will do so later tonight and post back.
     
  3. RadioGaGa1984 Suspended

    RadioGaGa1984

    Joined:
    May 23, 2015
  4. Shirasaki, Jun 15, 2016
    Last edited: Jun 15, 2016

    Shirasaki macrumors 603

    Shirasaki

    Joined:
    May 16, 2015
    #4
    Then that's no wonder why I cannot see battery information on AIDA64 for iOS anymore.

    One less reason to upgrade to iOS 10.

    Time to purchase those super expensive equipment to evaluate battery recharge rate or something since apple can never hide such information from specialized equipment anyway.
     
  5. kerrikins macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2012
    #5
    It's the first version of the beta... Maybe way for the final release or at least later versions of the beta before worrying about it. It could just be that Apple has to tweak something.
     
  6. echo1877 thread starter macrumors member

    echo1877

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2015
    #6
    That's good news. Obviously you're referring to the macOS version, not the iOS version of coconut, correct?
    --- Post Merged, Jun 15, 2016 ---
    Unlikely. This is not a bug, this looks like an intentional removal of certain details from that API -- other information about battery and charger are still there.
     
  7. RadioGaGa1984 Suspended

    RadioGaGa1984

    Joined:
    May 23, 2015
    #7
    Yes its reading the iOS device info though. I don't think there is a coconut battery iOS app.
     
  8. echo1877 thread starter macrumors member

    echo1877

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2015
    #8
    There used to be one, until Apple removed it. image.png
     
  9. BasicGreatGuy Contributor

    BasicGreatGuy

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2012
    Location:
    In the middle of several books.
    #9
    Why not use Coconut Battery app? Can see battery status and still use IOS 10. No need to buy expensive equipment just to read battery status.
     
  10. RadioGaGa1984 Suspended

    RadioGaGa1984

    Joined:
    May 23, 2015
    #10
    Oh I had not seen that one before. It still shows up in App Store search "coconutBattery Mobile"

    And by the way I was using your app until iOS 10
     
  11. Mlrollin91 macrumors G4

    Mlrollin91

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2008
    Location:
    Ventura County
    #11
    So has anyone tried the coconut battery iOS app on iOS 10? so OP: even updating the apps will not display this information anymore? If so this is completely bull. Apple's 'charging' system is so inaccurate. Once it hits 100% according to the meter, the battery is truly only at 95% and it requires another 40 minutes of charging to hit true 100%.
    --- Post Merged, Jun 15, 2016 ---
    Looks like it was added back to the app store this past week. Been gone since September, shortly after I got it.
     
  12. RadioGaGa1984 Suspended

    RadioGaGa1984

    Joined:
    May 23, 2015
    #12
    Yes after @echo1877 posted about it I searched and bought thing and it just crashes when launched.
     
  13. Mlrollin91 macrumors G4

    Mlrollin91

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2008
    Location:
    Ventura County
    #13
    Darn, very upsetting. I rely on these apps to make sure my devices truly receive a full charge. But as long as the macOS app works, then its better than nothing.

    The developer of Coconut changed the name, so you have to repurchase it if you already owned the old one. But it appears its exactly the same without an update, and still no iPad support. Luckily if you already purchased the old one, you can always redownload it from purchases. But..kind of moot if it doesn't work with iOS 10 and if updates don't fix it.
     
  14. Shirasaki macrumors 603

    Shirasaki

    Joined:
    May 16, 2015
    #14
    Rushed and bought it but it immediately crashed when start in iOS 10.
     
  15. Mlrollin91 macrumors G4

    Mlrollin91

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2008
    Location:
    Ventura County
    #15
    I'm hopeful that it will be updated and Apple doesn't catch it. It clearly sneaked in again. But my hope is based on the idea there will still be away to get the information from the device.
     
  16. Shirasaki macrumors 603

    Shirasaki

    Joined:
    May 16, 2015
    #16
    Jailbreak?
     
  17. kerrikins macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2012
    #17
    Hmm, the Coconut Battery app for Mac still seems to pull the info, when I plug it in. I'm not sure what the difference is in how on-device apps function in comparison to computer ones, though.
     
  18. Mlrollin91 macrumors G4

    Mlrollin91

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2008
    Location:
    Ventura County
    #18
    Assuming a jailbreak will ever be available for iOS 10. And based on the lacking jailbreaks for iOS 9, I wouldn't hold my breath.
    --- Post Merged, Jun 15, 2016 ---
    As long as this is working I will be okay. More of an extra step, but better than no data at all. This is what I had to do before the app showed up on iOS.
     
  19. echo1877 thread starter macrumors member

    echo1877

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2015
    #19
    Well it's likely that once jailbroken the data would be available to apps, but as you say, who knows if a jailbreak would ever happen for iOS 10...
     
  20. Mlrollin91 macrumors G4

    Mlrollin91

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2008
    Location:
    Ventura County
    #20
    I wish your app was still in the App Store! I want the universal app. Coconut battery on my Air 2 is ugly and sucks!
     
  21. echo1877 thread starter macrumors member

    echo1877

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2015
    #21
    Like I said, I'm fairly certain that NO app is going to be able to get any of that data on iOS 10. The source of the information in past versions was a framework called IOKit. And while IOKit still technically exists in iOS 10, the vast majority of the diagnostics data it contains has disappeared.

    Having looked at IOKit on pretty much all versions of iOS to date, I can tell you that these changes in iOS 10 represent some major effort by Apple to eliminate all of this data without breaking system services, built-in apps, etc. It cannot be a bug or some temporary beta issue.
     
  22. Mlrollin91 macrumors G4

    Mlrollin91

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2008
    Location:
    Ventura County
    #22
    :( Sometimes I really hate Apple. Going out of their way to break this. Normally I would say it's because they plan to give us this information, but this case I highly doubt it. You can hardly get capacity info out of Tier 2 support. They just say good or bad. So annoying.
     
  23. echo1877 thread starter macrumors member

    echo1877

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2015
    #23
    I get about a dozen emails a day asking about it, it really sucks. If you have a developer account and know how to use Xcode I'm happy to put the source code on GitHub for you and others to be able to use it (at least on iOS 9...)
     
  24. Mlrollin91 macrumors G4

    Mlrollin91

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2008
    Location:
    Ventura County
    #24
    I can build a computer from a box of scraps but when it comes to coding I'm an idiot. I'm assuming your talking about doing the side-loading thing that F.lux did. But as you mentioned, once I install iOS 10 the point is moot. I definitely appreciate the offer though!
     
  25. Shirasaki macrumors 603

    Shirasaki

    Joined:
    May 16, 2015
    #25
    New Updates: User may no longer be able to check how long their battery use in one charge as "Usage" and "Standby" in Battery menu goes permanent "--" rather than actual time.

    This happens after I reset settings in iOS 10.

    Don't know if this is a bug. But if it is NOT, then we will have no idea how long our battery goes unless using experience and estimation.
     

Share This Page