Battlefield 4 on iMac 27"

Toarulle

macrumors newbie
Original poster
May 27, 2013
2
0
Habo, Sweden
Hey guys! I just wanna ask, if I would be able to play bf4 on pretty high settings with these specs:

iMac 27" Late 2012
3.4GHz Quad-core Intel Core i7, Turbo Boost up to 3.9GHz
8Gb RAM
1TB Serial ATA Drive @ 7200 rpm
NVIDIA GeForce GTX 680MX 2GB GDDR5
(And how would I do with GeForce GTX 675MX 1GB?)

Thanks in advance!

//Toarulle
 

apedance

macrumors member
Sep 1, 2012
86
0
Vienna
Hey guys! I just wanna ask, if I would be able to play bf4 on pretty high settings with these specs:

iMac 27" Late 2012
3.4GHz Quad-core Intel Core i7, Turbo Boost up to 3.9GHz
8Gb RAM
1TB Serial ATA Drive @ 7200 rpm
NVIDIA GeForce GTX 680MX 2GB GDDR5
(And how would I do with GeForce GTX 675MX 1GB?)

Thanks in advance!

//Toarulle
First of all the game is still in development.
No hardware recommendation has been released so far.

You listed my iMac specs up there. ;) (Fusion drive instead of HDD)

My guess is as long as you don't want to play in the iMacs native resolution (2560 x 1440) both cards are pretty potent and will deliver a good FPS rate.

Consider upgrading to a Fusion Drive and the GTX680MX 2GB.
2GB of Video RAM is always a good choice for gamers.
 

Toarulle

macrumors newbie
Original poster
May 27, 2013
2
0
Habo, Sweden
First of all the game is still in development.
No hardware recommendation has been released so far.

You listed my iMac specs up there. ;) (Fusion drive instead of HDD)

My guess is as long as you don't want to play in the iMacs native resolution (2560 x 1440) both cards are pretty potent and will deliver a good FPS rate.

Consider upgrading to a Fusion Drive and the GTX680MX 2GB.
2GB of Video RAM is always a good choice for gamers.

Isn't these the recommendations? http://bf4central.com/battlefield-4-system-requirements/

And yeaa, I have thought 'bout the Fusion Drive, but they are so freakin expensive XD I may be able to buy one but not sure :)
Anyway, thanks for the help ;)

//Toarulle
 

Mac32

Suspended
Nov 20, 2010
1,263
440
NB: Playing in anything below native resolution looks pretty crappy. But you can create a custom resolution in Windows, say 1220p, and use no scaling - but you'll get a smaller screen area that way.
 

Serban

Suspended
Jan 8, 2013
5,159
920
Battlefield 4 will require not too much from BF3 so the 680MX will be perfect for BF4 on native resolution high settings with AF Off
 

StefanG

macrumors member
Sep 26, 2013
30
0
Hi there, I installed BF4 on my iMac and did some multiplayer gaming. Fraps was used to record the frames (limited to 5min of recording, multiple recoding within the same map, results viewed via Fraps Benvch Viewer)

iMac:
  • i7
  • GTX780M (+200MHz Core, +300MHz Memory using MSI Afterburner)
  • 32GB
  • 1TB SSD
  • Windows 8.1
  • Nvidia 331.58

Battlefield 4 settings:
  • 1920x1080
  • Ambient Occlusion: SSAO
  • AA: 2 x MSAA
  • AA Post: High
  • Rest: Ultra

BF4 Maps / fps:
  • Paracel Storm (64/64 player on the map): Average fps per recording: 72, 70, 71, 67
  • Zavod 311 (64/64 player on the map): Average fps per recording: 59, 60, 62
  • Golmud Railway (32/32 player on the map): Average fps per recording: 69, 66

Cheers,
Stefan
 
Last edited:

silvetti

macrumors 6502a
Nov 24, 2011
863
284
Poland
Hi there, I installed BF4 on my iMac and did some multiplayer gaming. Fraps was user to record the frames (limited to 5min of recording, multiple recoding within the same map, results viewed via Fraps Benvch Viewer)

iMac:
  • i7
  • GTX780M (+200MHz Core, +300MHz Memory using MSI Afterburner)
  • 32GB
  • 1TB SSD
  • Windows 8.1
  • Nvidia 331.58

Battlefield 4 settings:
  • 1920x1080
  • Ambient Occlusion: SSAO
  • AA: 2 x MSAA
  • AA Post: High
  • Rest: Ultra

BF4 Maps / fps:
  • Paracel Storm (64/64 player on the map): Average fps per recording: 72, 70, 71, 67
  • Zavod 311 (64/64 player on the map): Average fps per recording: 59, 60, 62
  • Golmud Railway (32/32 player on the map): Average fps per recording: 69, 66

Cheers,
Stefan
Thank you so much for your contribution!!

One request, can you try BF4 with iMac's native resolution and settings default to High ?

Thanks :)
 

yabot

macrumors regular
Jun 26, 2013
175
1
I'd be curious what the minimum fps were...
well if its an average then if your suggesting the minimum fps was significantly lower then you can expect the average to take a big hit aswell, which it hasnt.
 

WilliamG

macrumors G3
Mar 29, 2008
9,015
2,419
Seattle
well if its an average then if your suggesting the minimum fps was significantly lower then you can expect the average to take a big hit aswell, which it hasnt.
Not true. If in open areas the frame rate is high, - over 100fps potentially, it can really skew the results. It's quite possible for the lowest frames per second to be in the 30s and 40s.

I'm just saying this doesn't tell the whole story.
 

StefanG

macrumors member
Sep 26, 2013
30
0
Mac:
- i7
- GTX780M (+200MHz Core, +300MHz Memory using MSI Afterburner)
- 32GB
- 1TB SSD
- Windows 8.1
- Nvidia 331.58

Battlefield 4 settings:
- 1920x1080
- Ambient Occlusion: SSAO
- AA: 2 x MSAA
- AA Post: High
- Rest: Ultra

Some more details regarding the fps thanks to FRAPS Bench Viewer.

BF4 Maps / fps:
Parcel Storm (64/64 player):
Avg: 70fps
1%: 50fps
0.1%: 41fps

Zavod 311 (64/64 player):
Avg: 60fps
1%: 31fps
0.1%: 26fps

Golmud Railway (32/32 player):
Avg: 69fps
1%: 30fps
0.1%: 27fps
 
Last edited:

StefanG

macrumors member
Sep 26, 2013
30
0
As requested the same test running 2560x1440 with High quality settings.

Mac:
- i7
- GTX780M (+200MHz Core, +300MHz Memory using MSI Afterburner)
- 32GB
- 1TB SSD
- Windows 8.1
- Nvidia 331.58

Battlefield 4 settings:
- 2560x1440
- Ambient Occlusion: SSAO
- AA: 2 x MSAA
- AA Post: High
- Rest: High

BF4 Maps / fps:
Parcel Storm (64/64 player):
Avg: 41fps, 44fps
1%: 32fps, 31fps
0.1%: 28fps, 25fps
 

Serban

Suspended
Jan 8, 2013
5,159
920
Is this single player or multi player? I'm a little disappointed, but to expect to seriously game on an iMac is kind of absurd.
64/64 players that seem multiplayer and not single ..so its ok

so you can play 1440p on high AA OFF no problem..you must see the game to see how nice it is
 

alksion

macrumors 68000
Sep 10, 2010
1,703
102
Orange County CA
Well my lad, you still can seriously game in Boot Camp :)
That's true to a certain extent. What I mean is the excitement over the rapid growth of mobile cards that has allowed us to play games decently on a Mac, whether that be through boot camp or not, has in some ways, been deceptive. Simply put, while the 780m is an awesome card, it's not an exception for a good SLI/Crossfire desktop setup.

I know if I want the ultimate experience, then a custom built PC would be the way I go, but I've been over that for far too long.

----------

64/64 players that seem multiplayer and not single ..so its ok

so you can play 1440p on high AA OFF no problem..you must see the game to see how nice it is
So high settings, 1440p and maybe AAx2 would yield what kind of frame rates?
 

Serban

Suspended
Jan 8, 2013
5,159
920
trust me .. play 1440 high settings with AA of and the view distante 70
the game looks incredible and i get over 50 fps
 

yjchua95

macrumors 604
Apr 23, 2011
6,725
230
GVA, KUL, MEL (current), ZQN
That's true to a certain extent. What I mean is the excitement over the rapid growth of mobile cards that has allowed us to play games decently on a Mac, whether that be through boot camp or not, has in some ways, been deceptive. Simply put, while the 780m is an awesome card, it's not an exception for a good SLI/Crossfire desktop setup.

I know if I want the ultimate experience, then a custom built PC would be the way I go, but I've been over that for far too long.

----------



So high settings, 1440p and maybe AAx2 would yield what kind of frame rates?
Oh yes, you do have a perfectly good point there. But maybe if you put a Mac Pro with 12GB of dual AMD FirePro W9000/D700, then maybe that'd be something as close as one can get to an SLI.
 

Serban

Suspended
Jan 8, 2013
5,159
920
so fo G660 min fps in multiplayer is 18. So a 660TI will be probably 22fps.
But yet again, everything on maximum...i guess if you play 1440p+High settings no AA, with 780M and 4G vRAM you will get aroung a minimum of 40 fps
 

alksion

macrumors 68000
Sep 10, 2010
1,703
102
Orange County CA
Note that BF4 at 1440p stresses many cards: it's less to do with the 780M and more do with the fact that it's a next-gen game with high requirements.

Apple isn't being deceptive here.

http://www.tomshardware.com/reviews/battlefield-4-graphics-card-performance,3634-9.html
I don't mean Apple is being deceptive. What I mean is that 5 years ago, no one would have considered buying an iMac for semi-serious gaming. With the advancements of mobile cards, it has become a nice trade-off to have a beautiful machine like an iMac and still be able to game on it.

With that said, it is still no where close in comparison to a solid SLI/Crossfire setup on a custom built PC.

I have my new iMac coming in and am excited to play BF4. If I had tons of money to blow, I'd have a monster custom build as well.
 

Outrigger

macrumors 68000
Dec 22, 2008
1,759
92
Oh yes, you do have a perfectly good point there. But maybe if you put a Mac Pro with 12GB of dual AMD FirePro W9000/D700, then maybe that'd be something as close as one can get to an SLI.
But if history is any indication, work station cards are horrible for gaming regardless of how impressive they may sound in the RAM specs. They're built for a very specific purpose, and gaming is not one of them.
 

TheyCallMeBT

macrumors regular
Jan 9, 2013
115
14
Note that BF4 at 1440p stresses many cards: it's less to do with the 780M and more do with the fact that it's a next-gen game with high requirements.

Apple isn't being deceptive here.

http://www.tomshardware.com/reviews/battlefield-4-graphics-card-performance,3634-9.html
Continuously stressing the card with a game on really high settings is a concern of mine, too. Do you guys think that's an issue? How's the heat dissipation on the iMac? Obviously it's much quieter than a PC rig, so stressing + heat is where the actual concern is.

I've used my 2010 27" iMac as an input for my PC gaming rig for a while. But now that I'm upgrading, the new iMac should beat out my PC rig by a bit. And the new one won't accept the mini DP output from my PC's graphics card, from what I understand. It has to be Thunderbolt. They're physically the same port, but different specs. I don't know if they make (standard PCI-E) graphics cards with Thunderbolt output or not.

Now it was nice just to hit CMD + F2 to switch display modes. With the new one, obviously it'll require rebooting the machine twice. Which is a little less convenient.