Battlefield 4 on iMac 27"

Discussion in 'iMac' started by Toarulle, May 27, 2013.

  1. Toarulle macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 27, 2013
    Location:
    Habo, Sweden
    #1
    Hey guys! I just wanna ask, if I would be able to play bf4 on pretty high settings with these specs:

    iMac 27" Late 2012
    3.4GHz Quad-core Intel Core i7, Turbo Boost up to 3.9GHz
    8Gb RAM
    1TB Serial ATA Drive @ 7200 rpm
    NVIDIA GeForce GTX 680MX 2GB GDDR5
    (And how would I do with GeForce GTX 675MX 1GB?)

    Thanks in advance!

    //Toarulle
     
  2. apedance macrumors member

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2012
    Location:
    Vienna
    #2
    First of all the game is still in development.
    No hardware recommendation has been released so far.

    You listed my iMac specs up there. ;) (Fusion drive instead of HDD)

    My guess is as long as you don't want to play in the iMacs native resolution (2560 x 1440) both cards are pretty potent and will deliver a good FPS rate.

    Consider upgrading to a Fusion Drive and the GTX680MX 2GB.
    2GB of Video RAM is always a good choice for gamers.
     
  3. Toarulle thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 27, 2013
    Location:
    Habo, Sweden
    #3

    Isn't these the recommendations? http://bf4central.com/battlefield-4-system-requirements/

    And yeaa, I have thought 'bout the Fusion Drive, but they are so freakin expensive XD I may be able to buy one but not sure :)
    Anyway, thanks for the help ;)

    //Toarulle
     
  4. Mac32 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2010
    #4
    NB: Playing in anything below native resolution looks pretty crappy. But you can create a custom resolution in Windows, say 1220p, and use no scaling - but you'll get a smaller screen area that way.
     
  5. Serban Suspended

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2013
    #5
    Battlefield 4 will require not too much from BF3 so the 680MX will be perfect for BF4 on native resolution high settings with AF Off
     
  6. uptownnyc macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2011
    #6
    BF3 works fine in Bootcamp, so I suspect BF4 will work as well.
     
  7. StefanG, Nov 4, 2013
    Last edited: Nov 5, 2013

    StefanG macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2013
    #7
    Hi there, I installed BF4 on my iMac and did some multiplayer gaming. Fraps was used to record the frames (limited to 5min of recording, multiple recoding within the same map, results viewed via Fraps Benvch Viewer)

    iMac:
    • i7
    • GTX780M (+200MHz Core, +300MHz Memory using MSI Afterburner)
    • 32GB
    • 1TB SSD
    • Windows 8.1
    • Nvidia 331.58

    Battlefield 4 settings:
    • 1920x1080
    • Ambient Occlusion: SSAO
    • AA: 2 x MSAA
    • AA Post: High
    • Rest: Ultra

    BF4 Maps / fps:
    • Paracel Storm (64/64 player on the map): Average fps per recording: 72, 70, 71, 67
    • Zavod 311 (64/64 player on the map): Average fps per recording: 59, 60, 62
    • Golmud Railway (32/32 player on the map): Average fps per recording: 69, 66

    Cheers,
    Stefan
     
  8. silvetti macrumors 6502a

    silvetti

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2011
    Location:
    Poland
    #8
    Thank you so much for your contribution!!

    One request, can you try BF4 with iMac's native resolution and settings default to High ?

    Thanks :)
     
  9. yabot macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2013
    #9
    Not bad for a Mac is it Windows Pc Chumps eh?
     
  10. WilliamG macrumors 604

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2008
    Location:
    Seattle
    #10
    I'd be curious what the minimum fps were...
     
  11. yabot macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2013
    #11
    well if its an average then if your suggesting the minimum fps was significantly lower then you can expect the average to take a big hit aswell, which it hasnt.
     
  12. WilliamG macrumors 604

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2008
    Location:
    Seattle
    #12
    Not true. If in open areas the frame rate is high, - over 100fps potentially, it can really skew the results. It's quite possible for the lowest frames per second to be in the 30s and 40s.

    I'm just saying this doesn't tell the whole story.
     
  13. StefanG, Nov 4, 2013
    Last edited: Nov 4, 2013

    StefanG macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2013
    #13
    Mac:
    - i7
    - GTX780M (+200MHz Core, +300MHz Memory using MSI Afterburner)
    - 32GB
    - 1TB SSD
    - Windows 8.1
    - Nvidia 331.58

    Battlefield 4 settings:
    - 1920x1080
    - Ambient Occlusion: SSAO
    - AA: 2 x MSAA
    - AA Post: High
    - Rest: Ultra

    Some more details regarding the fps thanks to FRAPS Bench Viewer.

    BF4 Maps / fps:
    Parcel Storm (64/64 player):
    Avg: 70fps
    1%: 50fps
    0.1%: 41fps

    Zavod 311 (64/64 player):
    Avg: 60fps
    1%: 31fps
    0.1%: 26fps

    Golmud Railway (32/32 player):
    Avg: 69fps
    1%: 30fps
    0.1%: 27fps
     
  14. StefanG macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2013
    #14
    As requested the same test running 2560x1440 with High quality settings.

    Mac:
    - i7
    - GTX780M (+200MHz Core, +300MHz Memory using MSI Afterburner)
    - 32GB
    - 1TB SSD
    - Windows 8.1
    - Nvidia 331.58

    Battlefield 4 settings:
    - 2560x1440
    - Ambient Occlusion: SSAO
    - AA: 2 x MSAA
    - AA Post: High
    - Rest: High

    BF4 Maps / fps:
    Parcel Storm (64/64 player):
    Avg: 41fps, 44fps
    1%: 32fps, 31fps
    0.1%: 28fps, 25fps
     
  15. alksion macrumors 68000

    alksion

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2010
    Location:
    Los Angeles County
    #15
    Is this single player or multi player? I'm a little disappointed, but to expect to seriously game on an iMac is kind of absurd.
     
  16. yjchua95 macrumors 604

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2011
    Location:
    GVA, KUL, MEL (current), ZQN
    #16
    Well my lad, you still can seriously game in Boot Camp :)
     
  17. Serban Suspended

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2013
    #17
    64/64 players that seem multiplayer and not single ..so its ok

    so you can play 1440p on high AA OFF no problem..you must see the game to see how nice it is
     
  18. alksion macrumors 68000

    alksion

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2010
    Location:
    Los Angeles County
    #18
    That's true to a certain extent. What I mean is the excitement over the rapid growth of mobile cards that has allowed us to play games decently on a Mac, whether that be through boot camp or not, has in some ways, been deceptive. Simply put, while the 780m is an awesome card, it's not an exception for a good SLI/Crossfire desktop setup.

    I know if I want the ultimate experience, then a custom built PC would be the way I go, but I've been over that for far too long.

    ----------

    So high settings, 1440p and maybe AAx2 would yield what kind of frame rates?
     
  19. Serban Suspended

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2013
    #19
    trust me .. play 1440 high settings with AA of and the view distante 70
    the game looks incredible and i get over 50 fps
     
  20. yjchua95 macrumors 604

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2011
    Location:
    GVA, KUL, MEL (current), ZQN
    #20
    Oh yes, you do have a perfectly good point there. But maybe if you put a Mac Pro with 12GB of dual AMD FirePro W9000/D700, then maybe that'd be something as close as one can get to an SLI.
     
  21. elithrar macrumors 6502

    elithrar

    Joined:
    May 31, 2007
    #21
  22. Serban Suspended

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2013
    #22
    so fo G660 min fps in multiplayer is 18. So a 660TI will be probably 22fps.
    But yet again, everything on maximum...i guess if you play 1440p+High settings no AA, with 780M and 4G vRAM you will get aroung a minimum of 40 fps
     
  23. alksion macrumors 68000

    alksion

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2010
    Location:
    Los Angeles County
    #23
    I don't mean Apple is being deceptive. What I mean is that 5 years ago, no one would have considered buying an iMac for semi-serious gaming. With the advancements of mobile cards, it has become a nice trade-off to have a beautiful machine like an iMac and still be able to game on it.

    With that said, it is still no where close in comparison to a solid SLI/Crossfire setup on a custom built PC.

    I have my new iMac coming in and am excited to play BF4. If I had tons of money to blow, I'd have a monster custom build as well.
     
  24. Outrigger macrumors 68000

    Outrigger

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2008
    #24
    But if history is any indication, work station cards are horrible for gaming regardless of how impressive they may sound in the RAM specs. They're built for a very specific purpose, and gaming is not one of them.
     
  25. TheyCallMeBT macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2013
    #25
    Continuously stressing the card with a game on really high settings is a concern of mine, too. Do you guys think that's an issue? How's the heat dissipation on the iMac? Obviously it's much quieter than a PC rig, so stressing + heat is where the actual concern is.

    I've used my 2010 27" iMac as an input for my PC gaming rig for a while. But now that I'm upgrading, the new iMac should beat out my PC rig by a bit. And the new one won't accept the mini DP output from my PC's graphics card, from what I understand. It has to be Thunderbolt. They're physically the same port, but different specs. I don't know if they make (standard PCI-E) graphics cards with Thunderbolt output or not.

    Now it was nice just to hit CMD + F2 to switch display modes. With the new one, obviously it'll require rebooting the machine twice. Which is a little less convenient.
     

Share This Page