Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

jafico1

macrumors member
Original poster
Jul 7, 2018
Maine
Hi all,

Essentially, I am looking for a MacBook to replace my Dell Precision 5520 (the business version of the XPS 15), as it has been a poor ownership experience all around, and I'm attracted to Apple because of their customer support and perhaps macOS as well. This will be the first Mac I'll own personally but we have plenty of Macs at college so I'm pretty used to them. I'm currently studying Computer Science at University so I'd probably get away with most of the Apple lineup (although would the 12" MB be a little slow?) The 15" MacBook Pro would be the "drop-in" replacement as the specs are really similar to my current machine (Core i7 quad-core, 16GB RAM, 512GB SSD), but it's a little pricey (I would still get it if it's worth it over the other models though). Right now, I'm entirely unsure what to get, although I'm leaning towards the 13" MacBook Pro with the touch bar (maybe with 16GB RAM upgrade, although that's expensive too).

Most of the applications I'll be using (mainly programming stuff coupled with some basic graphical editing) won't require too much processing power I believe, with perhaps the heaviest graphical program being SketchUp and a few older games (although I use my Nintendo Switch for that mostly now) . If I got a 13" with 8GB of RAM I'm not sure if I would use it all - when I use Windows on my laptop I usually go over 50% usage so maybe 8GB is not enough for me? I'm also probably going to use Boot Camp to run Windows so I'll probably need a large enough SSD for that.