Beta 5- Bugs & Issues

Discussion in 'iOS 8' started by ZAPELECTRIFIED, Aug 4, 2014.

  1. ZAPELECTRIFIED macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2014
    Location:
    CA, USA
    #1
    It seems as though when you remove an app running in the background in Multitasking and go back to the home screen the Cellular Network Name, Time, and Battery percentage seem to take a few seconds to show up. I know it did't do that before.
     
  2. eastamherstbias macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2012
    #2
    What type of phone do you have? I just tried to recreate it and it is fine on a iphone 5s.
     
  3. ZAPELECTRIFIED thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2014
    Location:
    CA, USA
    #3
    iPhone 5S.
    Try canceling all applications running and then return to the homescreen and let me know what happens.
     
  4. Sweeperdk macrumors regular

    Sweeperdk

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2009
    Location:
    Århus, Denmark
    #4
    Not an issue here... Everything appears instantly as I expected it would.

    Also iPhone 5S here.
     
  5. ZAPELECTRIFIED thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2014
    Location:
    CA, USA
    #5
    Hmmm... Could just be the iPhone 5. I've heard others are siting this too.
     
  6. Stuke00 macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2011
    Location:
    Collinsville,IL
    #7
    I did this and I do not experience what you are seeing. The status bar appears almost instantly for me.

    I also set up my phone as new, however.
     
  7. jonblatho macrumors 6502

    jonblatho

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2014
    Location:
    Oklahoma/Missouri
    #8
    WhatsApp will more than likely crash until it's updated for iOS 8. That will not happen until iOS 8 GM is released. This is presumably because of the changes to iCloud.

    This question comes up with every beta, and the answer is always the same.
     
  8. DoctorKrabs macrumors 6502a

    DoctorKrabs

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2013
    #9
    This bug exists, probably on all devices.
    I know it's small, but it's the little things that have polish that set iOS apart, so little bugs are annoying.
     
  9. doublex14 macrumors regular

    doublex14

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2014
    Location:
    PA
    #10
    How are everyone's battery life? When on beta 4 I would go down 2-3% every 2 minutes I am hesitant to download B5 because it's a huge pain in the ass to downgrade to 7.1.2
     
  10. aPple nErd macrumors 68030

    aPple nErd

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2012
    Location:
    Jailbreaks/IOS Hacks
    #11
    beta 4 was amazing. better than 7.1.2 for me, beta 5 seems pretty decent for me, although beta 4 was a little better.
     
  11. Yun0 macrumors 65816

    Yun0

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2013
    Location:
    Winnipeg, Canada
    #12
    1. backup ios 7.1.2 on itunes/icloud
    2. install ios 8 beta
    3. test it, with your battery problem it wont take long to test at all
    4. force restore to ios 7.1.2 on itunes if your issue with battery remains
    5. restore from your 1 hour old backup you recently made

    no its not a pain at all..
     
  12. ZAPELECTRIFIED thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2014
    Location:
    CA, USA
    #13

    This is DoctorKrabs post in the iOS 8 Beta 5 Fixes/Changes Forum, He is experiencing the same issue on his iPhone 5S.
     

    Attached Files:

  13. Stuke00 macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2011
    Location:
    Collinsville,IL
    #14
    It is no harder than installing the beta. Put phone into DFU mode. Hit restore in iTunes. Wow.... so hard.
     
  14. doublex14 macrumors regular

    doublex14

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2014
    Location:
    PA
    #15
    The battery life "bug" stayed with the phone when I downgraded, it only when to normal when I had to set up my phone as a new iPhone and manually add everything back.

    Do you think I should get B5?

    ----------

    Should I get B5?
     
  15. Yun0 macrumors 65816

    Yun0

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2013
    Location:
    Winnipeg, Canada
    #16
    its something you havent tried yet so yes you should
     
  16. DoctorKrabs macrumors 6502a

    DoctorKrabs

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2013
    #17
    You have to go from an app into multitasking directly, not going to the home screen in between.
     
  17. doublex14 macrumors regular

    doublex14

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2014
    Location:
    PA
    #18
    Alright Here goes nothing. Hopefully the battery life thing is fixed; I'll report back with what happened
     
  18. ZAPELECTRIFIED thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2014
    Location:
    CA, USA
    #19
    You're right. I gave the wrong instructions.
    Thanks Doc
     
  19. GreyOS macrumors 68030

    GreyOS

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2012
    #20
    Is this a bug?

    In settings, privacy, location, the reminders app doesn't have an Always settings. This makes the location reminders useless. I don't often use then so don't know if this was an issue in earlier betas. Apologies if this is in the notes, I'm unable to check at the moment.

    In fact there only seems to ever be two options: Never and either Always or While Using. I thought at least some stock apps (ie built with latest SDK) had all three options.
     
  20. DoctorKrabs, Aug 4, 2014
    Last edited: Aug 4, 2014

    DoctorKrabs macrumors 6502a

    DoctorKrabs

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2013
    #21
  21. Stuke00 macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2011
    Location:
    Collinsville,IL
    #22
    It is not a bug, your device may not be accurately showing your battery %. Do a full charge cycle and it should correct itself.
     
  22. doublex14 macrumors regular

    doublex14

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2014
    Location:
    PA
    #23

    As in let it die then charge it 100%? I'm currently at 66%
     
  23. Stuke00 macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2011
    Location:
    Collinsville,IL
    #24
    Yep. Use it until its dead, as in shuts off. Then charge it to 100% without unplugging it.
     
  24. doublex14 macrumors regular

    doublex14

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2014
    Location:
    PA
    #25
    I updated to B5 and it keeps saying "Updating iCloud settings" and has been for over 2 minutes. Am I over-reacting or should I wait until it's done? I cannot use the phone
     

Share This Page