Become a MacRumors Supporter for $25/year with no ads, private forums, and more!

big sur microsoft remote desktop

chiarecciu

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Jan 13, 2021
8
0
Hi everyone.
I have a MacBookPro.
I work from home by connecting to my company computer through the Microsoft Remote Desktop app.
My operating system is Big Sur.
Since yesterday every time I try to connect with the Microsoft Remote Desktop app, I can't do it and I get this message

We couldn't connect to the remote PC. Make sure the PC is turned on and connected to the network, and that remote access is enabled.

Error code: 0x204


it seems like there is an interference problem with Big Sur, I have been working in remote since March 2020 and I never had any problems, I installed Big Sur just before Christmas, and until yesterday everything was working perfectly.

My IT helpdesk colleagues have no idea how to fix this.

Has it happened to anyone?
How did you solve?

Thanks a lot to those who will answer
 

FNH15

macrumors 6502
Apr 19, 2011
400
332
Hi everyone.
I have a MacBookPro.
I work from home by connecting to my company computer through the Microsoft Remote Desktop app.
My operating system is Big Sur.
Since yesterday every time I try to connect with the Microsoft Remote Desktop app, I can't do it and I get this message

We couldn't connect to the remote PC. Make sure the PC is turned on and connected to the network, and that remote access is enabled.

Error code: 0x204


it seems like there is an interference problem with Big Sur, I have been working in remote since March 2020 and I never had any problems, I installed Big Sur just before Christmas, and until yesterday everything was working perfectly.

My IT helpdesk colleagues have no idea how to fix this.

Has it happened to anyone?
How did you solve?

Thanks a lot to those who will answer

Did this happen immediately after the upgrade to Big Sur, or sometime thereafter?
In other words, did RDP ever work on Big Sur?
Are you running any anti virus software or firewall software?

What version of RDP is installed?
 
Comment

chrfr

macrumors G4
Jul 11, 2009
10,434
4,078
Hi everyone.
I have a MacBookPro.
I work from home by connecting to my company computer through the Microsoft Remote Desktop app.
My operating system is Big Sur.
Since yesterday every time I try to connect with the Microsoft Remote Desktop app, I can't do it and I get this message

We couldn't connect to the remote PC. Make sure the PC is turned on and connected to the network, and that remote access is enabled.

Error code: 0x204


it seems like there is an interference problem with Big Sur, I have been working in remote since March 2020 and I never had any problems, I installed Big Sur just before Christmas, and until yesterday everything was working perfectly.

My IT helpdesk colleagues have no idea how to fix this.

Has it happened to anyone?
How did you solve?

Thanks a lot to those who will answer
I'm using Microsoft Remote Desktop in Big Sur without any problems at all, connecting to a bunch of different computers. Are you sure the PC you're trying to connect to is actually on and connected to the network? The error you're getting is what you'd see if the PC isn't available, not indicative of there being a problem with Big Sur.
 
Comment

chiarecciu

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Jan 13, 2021
8
0
Did this happen immediately after the upgrade to Big Sur, or sometime thereafter?
In other words, did RDP ever work on Big Sur?
Are you running any anti virus software or firewall software?

What version of RDP is installed?
Hi,
This happens after one month from the upgrade.
the RDP worked whit Big Sur.
I don’t know What happens.
I’ m writing fron Italy, tomorrow morming I’ll check the firewall, but i never installed antivirus.

I have set up automatic updates on the pc. Could some auto-installed updates cause a conflict?

I have the 10.5 version of Microsoft Remote Desktop.
 
Comment

chiarecciu

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Jan 13, 2021
8
0
I'm using Microsoft Remote Desktop in Big Sur without any problems at all, connecting to a bunch of different computers. Are you sure the PC you're trying to connect to is actually on and connected to the network? The error you're getting is what you'd see if the PC isn't available, not indicative of there being a problem with Big Sur.
Yes, I’m sure the PC is connect.
an IT expert tried to connect to the network of my company from my personal PC, and the connection works perfectly. it is the Microsoft Remote Desktop client that is blocked.
 
Comment

colocolo

Contributor
Jan 17, 2002
453
21
Santiago, Chile
I do not think Big Sur is the culprit here. It's more likely there is either a problem with the PC you are connecting to (what you mentioned about an IT guy connecting to the local network doesn't necessarily mean the PC you are connecting to is online), or something went wrong with the app itself, or you have some port blocked because something got installed on your computer.
Maybe you can check this article https://pupuweb.com/solved-fix-remote-desktop-connection-rdp-error-0x204/

Solution 6, removing the folder, is a quick an easy try, and might fix your problem. Worth a try IMO (as are all proposed solutions there)
 
Comment

CheesePuff

macrumors 65816
Sep 3, 2008
1,159
887
Southwest Florida, USA
The issue is unrelated to running Big Sur, your machine cannot connect establish a connection to the remote machine. Are you connecting to a terminal server, or RDPing to a work desktop?
 
Comment

chiarecciu

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Jan 13, 2021
8
0
Hi,
I'm sorry but I'm not an expert.
I can say that I connect to the network of my company with a VPN connection and then, to connect to my company pc desktop, I use the app Microsoft Remote Desktop
 
Comment

chiarecciu

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Jan 13, 2021
8
0
I do not think Big Sur is the culprit here. It's more likely there is either a problem with the PC you are connecting to (what you mentioned about an IT guy connecting to the local network doesn't necessarily mean the PC you are connecting to is online), or something went wrong with the app itself, or you have some port blocked because something got installed on your computer.
Maybe you can check this article https://pupuweb.com/solved-fix-remote-desktop-connection-rdp-error-0x204/

Solution 6, removing the folder, is a quick an easy try, and might fix your problem. Worth a try IMO (as are all proposed solutions there)

I don't have file named "group containers" on my Mac.
I'll try the other solutions.
Thank you
 
Comment

chrfr

macrumors G4
Jul 11, 2009
10,434
4,078
I don't have file named "group containers" on my Mac.
I'll try the other solutions.
Thank you
You definitely do have the Group Container folder, but your Library may be hidden– it's hidden by default on Macs. The easiest way is to go to Finder, hold down the option key, and look for Library under the "Go" menu.
 
Comment

svenmany

macrumors demi-god
Jun 19, 2011
166
78
I use version 10.5 of Microsoft Remote Desktop from Big Sur with no problems at all.

Could it be that your company pushed out an update to the VPN software or its configuration? It could be there has been some change in it that is preventing access to the Windows machine you're trying to reach.

Have you tried to ping the server that you're having problems with?
 
Comment

chiarecciu

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Jan 13, 2021
8
0
You definitely do have the Group Container folder, but your Library may be hidden– it's hidden by default on Macs. The easiest way is to go to Finder, hold down the option key, and look for Library under the "Go" menu.
i did,
But it didn’t work :(
 
Comment

chiarecciu

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Jan 13, 2021
8
0
I use version 10.5 of Microsoft Remote Desktop from Big Sur with no problems at all.

Could it be that your company pushed out an update to the VPN software or its configuration? It could be there has been some change in it that is preventing access to the Windows machine you're trying to reach.

Have you tried to ping the server that you're having problems with?
My company said they haven’t changed anything in the machine i’m trying to reach.
yes, we Tried to Ping the server. It works.
 
Comment

svenmany

macrumors demi-god
Jun 19, 2011
166
78
You mentioned that you have auto-update set up on the Windows machine. I know that one of my Windows machines prompted me to apply an update yesterday as I was shutting it down. Maybe you or someone else is going to have to look closely at the Windows machine to figure this out.
 
Comment

chiarecciu

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Jan 13, 2021
8
0
You mentioned that you have auto-update set up on the Windows machine. I know that one of my Windows machines prompted me to apply an update yesterday as I was shutting it down. Maybe you or someone else is going to have to look closely at the Windows machine to figure this out.
I said that about my Mac
 
Comment

satcomer

macrumors 604
Feb 19, 2008
7,206
1,229
The Finger Lakes Region
Yes, I’m sure the PC is connect.
an IT expert tried to connect to the network of my company from my personal PC, and the connection works perfectly. it is the Microsoft Remote Desktop client that is blocked.

your net a real network tech, your Mircrisoft tech only! When you get Cisco, other router training (Network+ and Security Plus) your NOT a Network tech!
 
Comment

Super T

macrumors newbie
Oct 12, 2016
24
2
Aurora, IL
I've fixed this a couple times by restarting, the most recent time i had to uninstall the Remote Desktop app from my mac and then reinstall it. Worked fine then and since (about 3 weeks).
 
Comment
Register on MacRumors! This sidebar will go away, and you'll see fewer ads.