Become a MacRumors Supporter for $25/year with no ads, private forums, and more!

chiarecciu

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Jan 13, 2021
8
0
Hi everyone.
I have a MacBookPro.
I work from home by connecting to my company computer through the Microsoft Remote Desktop app.
My operating system is Big Sur.
Since yesterday every time I try to connect with the Microsoft Remote Desktop app, I can't do it and I get this message

We couldn't connect to the remote PC. Make sure the PC is turned on and connected to the network, and that remote access is enabled.

Error code: 0x204


it seems like there is an interference problem with Big Sur, I have been working in remote since March 2020 and I never had any problems, I installed Big Sur just before Christmas, and until yesterday everything was working perfectly.

My IT helpdesk colleagues have no idea how to fix this.

Has it happened to anyone?
How did you solve?

Thanks a lot to those who will answer
 

FNH15

macrumors 6502a
Apr 19, 2011
646
655
Hi everyone.
I have a MacBookPro.
I work from home by connecting to my company computer through the Microsoft Remote Desktop app.
My operating system is Big Sur.
Since yesterday every time I try to connect with the Microsoft Remote Desktop app, I can't do it and I get this message

We couldn't connect to the remote PC. Make sure the PC is turned on and connected to the network, and that remote access is enabled.

Error code: 0x204


it seems like there is an interference problem with Big Sur, I have been working in remote since March 2020 and I never had any problems, I installed Big Sur just before Christmas, and until yesterday everything was working perfectly.

My IT helpdesk colleagues have no idea how to fix this.

Has it happened to anyone?
How did you solve?

Thanks a lot to those who will answer

Did this happen immediately after the upgrade to Big Sur, or sometime thereafter?
In other words, did RDP ever work on Big Sur?
Are you running any anti virus software or firewall software?

What version of RDP is installed?
 

chrfr

macrumors G4
Jul 11, 2009
11,537
5,097
Hi everyone.
I have a MacBookPro.
I work from home by connecting to my company computer through the Microsoft Remote Desktop app.
My operating system is Big Sur.
Since yesterday every time I try to connect with the Microsoft Remote Desktop app, I can't do it and I get this message

We couldn't connect to the remote PC. Make sure the PC is turned on and connected to the network, and that remote access is enabled.

Error code: 0x204


it seems like there is an interference problem with Big Sur, I have been working in remote since March 2020 and I never had any problems, I installed Big Sur just before Christmas, and until yesterday everything was working perfectly.

My IT helpdesk colleagues have no idea how to fix this.

Has it happened to anyone?
How did you solve?

Thanks a lot to those who will answer
I'm using Microsoft Remote Desktop in Big Sur without any problems at all, connecting to a bunch of different computers. Are you sure the PC you're trying to connect to is actually on and connected to the network? The error you're getting is what you'd see if the PC isn't available, not indicative of there being a problem with Big Sur.
 

chiarecciu

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Jan 13, 2021
8
0
Did this happen immediately after the upgrade to Big Sur, or sometime thereafter?
In other words, did RDP ever work on Big Sur?
Are you running any anti virus software or firewall software?

What version of RDP is installed?
Hi,
This happens after one month from the upgrade.
the RDP worked whit Big Sur.
I don’t know What happens.
I’ m writing fron Italy, tomorrow morming I’ll check the firewall, but i never installed antivirus.

I have set up automatic updates on the pc. Could some auto-installed updates cause a conflict?

I have the 10.5 version of Microsoft Remote Desktop.
 

chiarecciu

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Jan 13, 2021
8
0
I'm using Microsoft Remote Desktop in Big Sur without any problems at all, connecting to a bunch of different computers. Are you sure the PC you're trying to connect to is actually on and connected to the network? The error you're getting is what you'd see if the PC isn't available, not indicative of there being a problem with Big Sur.
Yes, I’m sure the PC is connect.
an IT expert tried to connect to the network of my company from my personal PC, and the connection works perfectly. it is the Microsoft Remote Desktop client that is blocked.
 

colocolo

macrumors 6502
Jan 17, 2002
459
36
Santiago, Chile
I do not think Big Sur is the culprit here. It's more likely there is either a problem with the PC you are connecting to (what you mentioned about an IT guy connecting to the local network doesn't necessarily mean the PC you are connecting to is online), or something went wrong with the app itself, or you have some port blocked because something got installed on your computer.
Maybe you can check this article https://pupuweb.com/solved-fix-remote-desktop-connection-rdp-error-0x204/

Solution 6, removing the folder, is a quick an easy try, and might fix your problem. Worth a try IMO (as are all proposed solutions there)
 

CheesePuff

macrumors 65816
Sep 3, 2008
1,370
1,205
Southwest Florida, USA
The issue is unrelated to running Big Sur, your machine cannot connect establish a connection to the remote machine. Are you connecting to a terminal server, or RDPing to a work desktop?
 

chiarecciu

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Jan 13, 2021
8
0
Hi,
I'm sorry but I'm not an expert.
I can say that I connect to the network of my company with a VPN connection and then, to connect to my company pc desktop, I use the app Microsoft Remote Desktop
 

chiarecciu

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Jan 13, 2021
8
0
I do not think Big Sur is the culprit here. It's more likely there is either a problem with the PC you are connecting to (what you mentioned about an IT guy connecting to the local network doesn't necessarily mean the PC you are connecting to is online), or something went wrong with the app itself, or you have some port blocked because something got installed on your computer.
Maybe you can check this article https://pupuweb.com/solved-fix-remote-desktop-connection-rdp-error-0x204/

Solution 6, removing the folder, is a quick an easy try, and might fix your problem. Worth a try IMO (as are all proposed solutions there)

I don't have file named "group containers" on my Mac.
I'll try the other solutions.
Thank you
 

chrfr

macrumors G4
Jul 11, 2009
11,537
5,097
I don't have file named "group containers" on my Mac.
I'll try the other solutions.
Thank you
You definitely do have the Group Container folder, but your Library may be hidden– it's hidden by default on Macs. The easiest way is to go to Finder, hold down the option key, and look for Library under the "Go" menu.
 

svenmany

macrumors demi-god
Jun 19, 2011
721
355
I use version 10.5 of Microsoft Remote Desktop from Big Sur with no problems at all.

Could it be that your company pushed out an update to the VPN software or its configuration? It could be there has been some change in it that is preventing access to the Windows machine you're trying to reach.

Have you tried to ping the server that you're having problems with?
 

chiarecciu

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Jan 13, 2021
8
0
You definitely do have the Group Container folder, but your Library may be hidden– it's hidden by default on Macs. The easiest way is to go to Finder, hold down the option key, and look for Library under the "Go" menu.
i did,
But it didn’t work :(
 

chiarecciu

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Jan 13, 2021
8
0
I use version 10.5 of Microsoft Remote Desktop from Big Sur with no problems at all.

Could it be that your company pushed out an update to the VPN software or its configuration? It could be there has been some change in it that is preventing access to the Windows machine you're trying to reach.

Have you tried to ping the server that you're having problems with?
My company said they haven’t changed anything in the machine i’m trying to reach.
yes, we Tried to Ping the server. It works.
 

svenmany

macrumors demi-god
Jun 19, 2011
721
355
You mentioned that you have auto-update set up on the Windows machine. I know that one of my Windows machines prompted me to apply an update yesterday as I was shutting it down. Maybe you or someone else is going to have to look closely at the Windows machine to figure this out.
 

chiarecciu

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Jan 13, 2021
8
0
You mentioned that you have auto-update set up on the Windows machine. I know that one of my Windows machines prompted me to apply an update yesterday as I was shutting it down. Maybe you or someone else is going to have to look closely at the Windows machine to figure this out.
I said that about my Mac
 

satcomer

macrumors G3
Feb 19, 2008
8,379
1,701
The Finger Lakes Region
Yes, I’m sure the PC is connect.
an IT expert tried to connect to the network of my company from my personal PC, and the connection works perfectly. it is the Microsoft Remote Desktop client that is blocked.

your net a real network tech, your Mircrisoft tech only! When you get Cisco, other router training (Network+ and Security Plus) your NOT a Network tech!
 

Super T

macrumors member
Oct 12, 2016
41
5
Aurora, IL
I've fixed this a couple times by restarting, the most recent time i had to uninstall the Remote Desktop app from my mac and then reinstall it. Worked fine then and since (about 3 weeks).
 

maxphotos1

macrumors newbie
May 10, 2020
9
0
Italy
Hi everyone.
I have a MacBookPro.
I work from home by connecting to my company computer through the Microsoft Remote Desktop app.
My operating system is Big Sur.
Since yesterday every time I try to connect with the Microsoft Remote Desktop app, I can't do it and I get this message

We couldn't connect to the remote PC. Make sure the PC is turned on and connected to the network, and that remote access is enabled.

Error code: 0x204


it seems like there is an interference problem with Big Sur, I have been working in remote since March 2020 and I never had any problems, I installed Big Sur just before Christmas, and until yesterday everything was working perfectly.

My IT helpdesk colleagues have no idea how to fix this.

Has it happened to anyone?
How did you solve?

Thanks a lot to those who will answer
Hi,
I'm using a similar setup but RD is working fine (connect to Windows 10).
After the last security update (I think it is 11.1) I haven't been able to login to any Windows server 2008 inside my network.
I can ping, and I can reach the server from my Mac. I cannot log in because it says that user ID or password is wrong (this is not true). Not only that, but I tried to change folder, change password but nothing.
It seems the two systems don't talk the same language anymore in terms of password security (??).

I have 2 Mac's:

Imac with Catalina.
MBP 16 with Big Sure.
Both machines have the same issue then is not a Big Sure issue only.
Perhaps some security incompatibility on either Mac or Windows server ?

Which Windows version do you have on your RDP machine ?
 
Register on MacRumors! This sidebar will go away, and you'll see fewer ads.