Boosting 2009 2.93 8-Core Mac Pro

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by vogelhausdesign, Nov 18, 2009.

1. vogelhausdesign macrumors regular

vogelhausdesign

Hey everyone, been a while since I've posted. I am in need of some serious advice from Mac Pro users and professionals alike! I would like to gather information about boosting performance of my Mac Pro 2.93 Octo, I've scoured the net and found nothing much to go on. So I'll give you my specs, what I do with it, and what I'd like to get out of my machine. Thanks so much! PS. if it helps, I'm a graphic designer and 3D production artist, and I am willing to try anything to squeeze out as much power as I can!

HARDWARE:
    //(early) 2009 Mac Pro 2.93 8-Core
    -16GB Ram (2g x8)
    -5.5TB HDD + 256gig FW 800 External
    -ATI Radeon HD 4870 512 vram
    -30" Apple Cinema Display HD
    -OS X Snow Leopard 10.6.2

SOFTWARE
    -Adobe CS4 Master Suite: Emphasis on After Effects, Photoshop, Illustrator.
    -Autodesk Sketch Book Pro 2
    -Autodesk MUD 3D
    -ZBrush 3 ( character modeling)
    -Cinema 4D R11.5 ( Animation, High Res 3D Stills)
    -Tech Tool 5.x (SL edition) eDrive support
    -Call of Duty 4: Multiplayer

And finally, here is what I need advice/help with:
    - Can the 2.93 Octo-Core be overclocked?

- Would I benefit from the nVidea Quadro FX 4800 for both 3D AND Gaming? Is there another card out there that can be flashed/purchased for mac, that I should consider?

-Would my workflow benefit from a RAID card, even though I use an external backup and use 7200rpm Drives with 32mb cache?

-Is there anything I'm completely unaware of that could boost my performance? such as software/hardware not mentioned, maintenance, upcoming product?

You guys are the best, with your help lets compile as much data as we can and when I try everything, I'll give you a video update to this post and we'll make a great thread and blog post about it.
    :apple::apple::apple::apple:

2. Dr.Pants macrumors 65816

Dr.Pants