can you please tell me when you start your mac the ammount of disk writting?

Discussion in 'macOS' started by supergaia, May 29, 2019.

Tags:
  1. supergaia macrumors member

    supergaia

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2017
    Location:
    italy
    #1
    hi

    maight you please tell me when you start to imac ,macbook and you leave idle for 10 or 15 minutes the ammount of MB or GB via activity monitor please?

    thanks
     
  2. stiligFox macrumors 65816

    stiligFox

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2009
    Location:
    10.0.1.3
    #2
    I started up my Hackintosh, which is built pretty much exactly like a 2014 iMac, and let it idle for 15 minutes. I don't have much installed, nothing that does any major disk reading. Upon boot, it immediately says that 1.66GB has been read, so by the end there hasn't been much read or written beyond that initial boot up.

    Screen Shot 2019-06-02 at 8.15.45 PM.jpeg
     
  3. supergaia thread starter macrumors member

    supergaia

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2017
    Location:
    italy
    #3
    hi
    thanks i own an imac and well it write a lot of more about 350mb
    if i import audio files or read ntfs volume it starts to write a lot
    thanks , appreciate it
     
  4. stiligFox macrumors 65816

    stiligFox

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2009
    Location:
    10.0.1.3
    #4
    You’re welcome!

    I don’t think 350MB is anything to worry about, it’s going to depend on what applications you have, how much iCloud data you’re syncing (like if you get a lot of messages, emails, if you have iCloud photos enabled) so that seems pretty reasonable to me.
     
  5. supergaia thread starter macrumors member

    supergaia

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2017
    Location:
    italy
    #5
    hi
    may I know which os do you run?
    sierra or high sierra ?
    thanks
     
  6. stiligFox macrumors 65816

    stiligFox

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2009
    Location:
    10.0.1.3
    #6
    This was tested in Mojave 10.14.4 :)
     
  7. supergaia, Jun 5, 2019
    Last edited: Jun 5, 2019

    supergaia thread starter macrumors member

    supergaia

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2017
    Location:
    italy
    #7
    hi
    don't you think that installing macos on a different hardware
    could damage it?
    thanks
     
  8. stiligFox macrumors 65816

    stiligFox

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2009
    Location:
    10.0.1.3
    #8
    Could running macOS on a non-Mac hardware damage the hardware? No - not really; I’ve been running mine for over 3 years now with little issue.

    It is against Apple’s Terms of Service, so it’s not strictly proper or legal, but then Apple hasn’t never gone after anyone for using a Hackintosh.

    It’s definitely not for the feint of heart - it’s a good bit of work setting one up and there’s always the risk that something may not work as expected that could result in a buggy system or worse, data loss.
     
  9. supergaia thread starter macrumors member

    supergaia

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2017
    Location:
    italy
    #9
    hi
    i'm using an imac ,and i'm thinking to buy a macbook pro (just i'm waitining because it's no cheap :( )
    may i know which are you issue?
    thanks
     
  10. stiligFox macrumors 65816

    stiligFox

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2009
    Location:
    10.0.1.3
    #10
    Issues in my hackintosh? Mostly things like sleeping, power management, nitty gritty stuff that could be fixed but requires sitting down and creating special configuration files to fix.

    I do also have a 2013 MacBook Air that I use often for lightweight usage like creating documents and browsing :)
     

Share This Page

9 May 29, 2019