Can't Access Target Disk mode after installing SSD (TiBook)

Discussion in 'PowerPC Macs' started by AL1630, Jun 7, 2018.

  1. AL1630 macrumors 6502

    AL1630

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2016
    Location:
    Idaho, USA
    #1
    I got myself an mSATA ssd and the Ableconn IDE adapter that people recommend, and I installed it in my TiBook. I made a disk image of the leopard install I had on the old HD, and I was planning to copy it over via target disk mode. The problem is, whenever I hold down 'T' the computer just shuts off. The SSD and adapter work, and I have Tiger installed from a CD. Does anybody know hot to get Target Disk working?
     
  2. MisterKeeks macrumors 68000

    MisterKeeks

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2012
    #2
    Try using startup disk in system preferences to reboot to TDM.
     
  3. AL1630 thread starter macrumors 6502

    AL1630

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2016
    Location:
    Idaho, USA
    #3
    I just tried using System Preferences, but it does the same thing where it just shuts off.
     
  4. AphoticD macrumors 68000

    AphoticD

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2017
    Location:
    Australia
  5. AL1630 thread starter macrumors 6502

    AL1630

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2016
    Location:
    Idaho, USA
    #5
    1GHz, DVI. Model Number A1025
     
  6. AphoticD macrumors 68000

    AphoticD

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2017
    Location:
    Australia
    #6
    There were no Firmware updates for the 1Ghz TiBook, so that rules that idea out. If you disconnect the SSD and just run TDM with a disc in the optical drive, does it still shut off? If so, it could be a PRAM/PMU issue; Try disconnecting the PRAM battery.

    I have the (same) red Lindy and Addonics mSATA adapters in my AlBooks. But I bought cheap $9 adapters (JM20330 chipset) for my TiBook 867, Pismo and two iBooks - no problems.
     
  7. AL1630 thread starter macrumors 6502

    AL1630

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2016
    Location:
    Idaho, USA
    #7
    Ok, I disconnected the SSD and tried to use TD with just a cd, but it just tried to boot the CD and came to the Flashing question/No OS screen. I zapped the PRAM and it still just shuts off.

    Then, I put the old spinning drive back in, and Target Disk works fine again.
     
  8. AphoticD macrumors 68000

    AphoticD

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2017
    Location:
    Australia
    #8
    Strange. The mSATA adapter must be conflicting with the Firewire TDM somehow. I can’t recall, but are there any jumper settings on the adapter that you can try? Maybe try setting Master instead of Cable Select if that is an option.

    I haven’t run the red adapter in my TiBook so I can’t confirm it to be an issue, but I know the cheap adapters work and can drop into TDM on the TiBook without any problems.

    Can anybody running a Lindy, Ableconn or Addonics mSATA adapter in a TiBook confirm TDM is working?
     
  9. AL1630 thread starter macrumors 6502

    AL1630

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2016
    Location:
    Idaho, USA
    #9
    I just tried all the jumper settings on the adapter, when holding down 'T' it just boots into the OS. The original drive doesn't have a jumper, but the adapter just booted into the OS without a jumper on it.
     
  10. AphoticD macrumors 68000

    AphoticD

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2017
    Location:
    Australia
    #10
    How about setting TDM in System preferences?
     
  11. AL1630 thread starter macrumors 6502

    AL1630

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2016
    Location:
    Idaho, USA
    #11
    That worked. Thanks for the help! Now to clone my previous install...
     
  12. G4fanboy, Jun 9, 2018
    Last edited: Jun 9, 2018

    G4fanboy macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2013
    Location:
    Andalucia Spain
    #12
    Last week I had the same trouble. The lindy adapter by default is on cable select. I put that jumper off to be on máster and TDM came back. On the first 17" PowerBook.
    TDM needs the drives how he likes it. I couldnt call target disk mode even from system preferences/boot disk
    --- Post Merged, Jun 9, 2018 ---
    I also have a PM G4 that cant be booted i. TDM. I guess the drives are in Máster/Slave instead of cable select or viceversa
     
  13. AL1630 thread starter macrumors 6502

    AL1630

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2016
    Location:
    Idaho, USA
    #13
    Yep, IDE is annoyingly picky sometimes.
     

Share This Page