Can't change wall paper in 4.0 on 3G

Discussion in 'iPhone' started by eezing, Apr 8, 2010.

  1. eezing macrumors 6502

    eezing

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2008
    #1
    I have 4.0 up and running on my 3G, but can't seem to figure out how to change the wall paper as shown in the keynote. Anyone else experiencing this?
     
  2. eezing thread starter macrumors 6502

    eezing

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2008
    #3
    bummer
     
  3. acfusion29 macrumors 68040

    acfusion29

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2007
    Location:
    Toronto
  4. TuffLuffJimmy macrumors G3

    TuffLuffJimmy

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2007
    Location:
    Portland, OR
    #5
    Apparently the hardware doesn't support it. :rolleyes: Thanks, Apple.
     
  5. eezing thread starter macrumors 6502

    eezing

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2008
    #6
    Hahaha, doesn't support a different background image? Wow, that's a bit of a reach, don't ya think Apple?
     
  6. TuffLuffJimmy macrumors G3

    TuffLuffJimmy

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2007
    Location:
    Portland, OR
    #7
    What do you expect? They told everyone that the first generation iPhone's radios don't support MMS.
     
  7. vizkiz macrumors 6502a

    vizkiz

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2008
    Location:
    Long Island, NY
    #8
    From what I understand, you can't do it from the photos app, you have to go into wallpaper in the settings.
     
  8. Vandam500 macrumors 68000

    Vandam500

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2008
    #9
    If it can't do it on the 3G that would truly suck. I mean come on, its a picture...
     
  9. Branskins macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2008
    #10
    I bet iAd will work perfectly on the 3G...

    I hope they seriously don't not hold out on us 3G users with wallpapers...
     
  10. rossihvac macrumors regular

    rossihvac

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2009
    #11
    i had to set the pic a few times to make it work
     
  11. eezing thread starter macrumors 6502

    eezing

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2008
    #12
    Are you saying you got custom wallpaper to work on the 3G?
     
  12. Jay Marcase macrumors member

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2010
    #13
    This seriously made me laugh out loud because it's so true.
     
  13. WeegieMac Guest

    WeegieMac

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2008
    Location:
    Glasgow, UK
    #14
    Hopefully it's a glitch/bug as I was told in another thread.

    It seems some 3G owners have changes their homescreen backgrounds with no problems.
     
  14. AppleHack23 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2010
    Location:
    New Jersey
    #15
    It's not available on the 3G because they think it will slow down the device too much.
     
  15. ct2k7 macrumors 603

    ct2k7

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2008
    Location:
    London or Florida
    #16
    In a way, that is so true, but it's not true.
     
  16. iphonegeek786 macrumors 6502

    iphonegeek786

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2009
    #17
    Are you serious!!!! Thats kind of stretching it. Has anyone got the background wallpaper to work. Maybe you can e-mail Apple about it.
     
  17. TuffLuffJimmy macrumors G3

    TuffLuffJimmy

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2007
    Location:
    Portland, OR
    #18
    How much does adding a wallpaper slow down your computer? Oh right, it doesn't.
     
  18. outphase macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2009
    Location:
    Parts Unknown
    #19
    I couldn't change my 3GS's wallpaper in Photos, so I had to go to Settings to do it. Maybe that may help?
     
  19. WeegieMac Guest

    WeegieMac

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2008
    Location:
    Glasgow, UK
    #20
    Hopefully someone who has got wallpapers applied on the 3G via settings will post to let us know.

    Some are saying it's a bug, so fingers crossed.
     
  20. wingnut8 macrumors 65816

    wingnut8

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2007
    #21
    Yup. Same here.
     
  21. michaelfields macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2010
    #22
    do you think if I restore 4.0 again it might work?
     
  22. JJGatti02 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2010
    #23
    you can change your wallpaper just not from the photo app currently. you have to go to settings > photos and do it in there
     
  23. WeegieMac Guest

    WeegieMac

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2008
    Location:
    Glasgow, UK
    #24
    So basically people are trying to change the wallpaper on 3G, but doing it from the wrong area of the phone, which is why it's not working?

    If you go to Settings and change it from there, it works?

    Hopefully someone posts screens of their 3G with a custom homescreen background on 4.0.
     
  24. michaelfields macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2010
    #25
    I'm going to settings then wallpaper but it only changes the lockscreen background.... is there another place?
     

Share This Page