Can't get three tracks to import into iTunes. all others imported fine.

Discussion in 'Apple Music, Apple Pay, iCloud, Apple Services' started by PinkyMacGodess, Jan 12, 2016.

  1. PinkyMacGodess macrumors 68040

    PinkyMacGodess

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2007
    Location:
    Midwest America.
    #1
    I swear iTunes hates me... :rolleyes:

    I have two CD's that were ripped on my old Windows notebook, and I thought I'd just import them onto my MacPro. Put them on a flash drive, check. Ejected flash drive, check. Insert the flash drive... etc...

    File, Add to library, select folder, Open...

    Three tracks won't import. No errors. Odd... Select each one singularly, and import. One does import that way. Odd... Two still won't import. I even opened Console, and there are no, zero, nada, messages from iTunes.

    I searched and they are not there misfiled or something.

    Damned odd, and I'd re-rip the discs but they are in 'storage', and it would take a few days of digging to find the right CD set...

    Shouldn't there be some message if there were an error? I thought maybe they were old enough to be DRM'ed, but the other tracks all, so far, play fine... One thing is I haven't tried playing them on the Windows notebook, but it's going through the convulsions of a Windows 10 upgrade.o_O (It had Windows 8 on it. YECH!)
     
  2. westrock2000 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2013
    #2
    What format are they in? CD Audio and MP3 do not support DRM. AAC will though.

    If you put them in the "Automatically Add to ITunes" folder does it place them in a "Not Added" sub folder? Use a copy of the audio file though just incase something happens and it ends up in the netherworld.

    Did you check the "Recently Added" smart playlist just to make sure they absolutely did not get added? Sometimes due to improper tagging they can end up in god knows where (looking at you "Compilations" and "Home Videos" folders).
     
  3. PinkyMacGodess thread starter macrumors 68040

    PinkyMacGodess

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2007
    Location:
    Midwest America.
    #3
    Thanks for your reply!

    Moved to that folder. Didn't know it existed actually. Recently added shows a message about 'no items currently matching the smart playlist rules'.

    They still don't show up in the song list. They do show up in a folder with the date, and what looks like a code inside the folder 'Not Added'. ('2016-01-14 xx.xx.xx')

    So this is 'terminal' then? Odd that there are no error messages.
     
  4. Rigby macrumors 601

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2008
    Location:
    San Jose, CA
    #4
    What format are your files? If it's MP3 or AAC, this can be caused by malformed tags. You could try stripping all metadata (if the import then works you can re-tag them in iTunes). Many tagging tools can do that, and there is even a dedicated "tag stripper" app in the Mac app store (haven't tried that one though).
     
  5. PinkyMacGodess thread starter macrumors 68040

    PinkyMacGodess

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2007
    Location:
    Midwest America.
    #5
    wma. My old notebook finally finished updating for Windows 10 so I will try to re-import them into iTunes.
     
  6. Rigby macrumors 601

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2008
    Location:
    San Jose, CA
    #6
    You mean Windows Media Audio? That will need to be converted, either during import (on the Windows version of iTunes only) or separately. If you still have the CD, I'd recommend to re-rip it, since otherwise the audio quality will be degraded.
     
  7. PinkyMacGodess thread starter macrumors 68040

    PinkyMacGodess

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2007
    Location:
    Midwest America.
    #7
    Yeah, I've come to believe that's the better option, after all this 'mess'...

    Trouble is the physical CD's are in several locations in my basement, and it'll probably take days to find them. *sigh*

    I thought it might be easier to buy the CD's from the iTunes store, but at $27.99, I'll get out the shovel.
     
  8. PinkyMacGodess, Jan 15, 2016
    Last edited: Jan 15, 2016

    PinkyMacGodess thread starter macrumors 68040

    PinkyMacGodess

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2007
    Location:
    Midwest America.
    #8
    Well, this will freak some out I think.

    I imported the files into the Windows version of iTunes. Those two files I can't get into iTunes on my Mac? They imported fine. And they play too.

    So I copied those 'new' files to a flash drive, and they imported into the Mac iTunes fine, except...

    I can't get them to show in the artist list with the other tracks. I've edited all of the 'metadata' that I can find, and have compared them to the existing files, and there is no difference, except that the 'new' files were 'touched' by iTunes 12.x, and the other files were 'touched' by iTunes 11.x.

    Why should that matter?

    The real kicker? The files are in the right directory, but will not show up in the artist CD track list. How's that for cRaZy...o_O:eek::confused:
    --- Post Merged, Jan 15, 2016 ---
    So I edited the files, in iTunes, on the Windows machine, and got them all massaged correctly, and copied the files to flash, and deleted the files off the Mac, and imported the new Windows files, and everything imported fine, except I had two files that were duplicated. The two files that wouldn't import in the first place. One was a stand alone and wouldn't go with the rest of the files so I deleted it, and the second was in with the rest of the files, bit had the ' 1' in the file name. I deleted that one too.

    Farking ODDER than heck...

    Now I have the 'new' album in the Mac iTunes, and it stands alone from the existing albums that I'd guess were ripped by a different version of iTunes. Why iTunes cares that much what version ripped the files is really rather strange. Why Does It Matter?

    iTunes is a FARKING MESS!!!

    EDIT: Some of the other tracks were ripped with 'LAME', and then other various and sundry versions of iTunes. Some as old as 8.1.1. Still, why the fark would iTunes care what version ripped it, and then separate the files into a separate line item in the Artists list in My Music?

    There has to be more to this issue that I'm not seeing...
     
  9. Rigby macrumors 601

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2008
    Location:
    San Jose, CA
    #9
    That's expected. Mac OS doesn't have a codec for WMA (which is a proprietary Microsoft codec), so iTunes can't decode the files to convert them to AAC.
    That's often caused by a discrepancy in the metadata that might not be obvious. When this happens to me usually the "album artist" field is the culprit. Also see:

    https://support.apple.com/en-us/HT204538
     
  10. PinkyMacGodess thread starter macrumors 68040

    PinkyMacGodess

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2007
    Location:
    Midwest America.
    #10
    That article had some good ideas, but it did not fix the issue, surprisingly.

    I've run into most of those issues before. Odd spaces, and once drove myself nuts until I realize that the name of one album contained a zero. I swear the CDDB people do that on purpose.

    I'll just have to live with it. I've got a ton of Jimmy Buffett and some of those albums are in a separate group as well. I gave up on those too.o_O
     

Share This Page