Can't use back button in IE?

Discussion in 'Site and Forum Feedback' started by fhall1, Aug 27, 2009.

  1. fhall1 macrumors 68040

    fhall1

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2007
    Location:
    (Central) NY State of mind
    #1
    This just started this morning....two different PCs....go into a forum to see threads....read posts in a thread....hit the back button to go back to the thread list and get "IE cannot open <URL of previous screen>. Operation aborted" If I hit refresh, IE acts like it's trying to open the URL, but it never does. Also happens if I'm in one forum thread list, then hit back to get back to the main forums list. I have to close the tab and reopen MR then go to a forum and thread...then do the whole process over again to get to a new thread...a real PITA.

    Like I said...2 different computers...same symptom....both worked fine yesterday.

    Anyone else seeing this?
     
  2. niuniu macrumors 68020

    niuniu

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2009
    Location:
    A man of the people. The right sort of people.
    #2
    Only button that needs to work with IE is the Close button. :D
     
  3. chad2323 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2009
  4. -aggie- macrumors P6

    -aggie-

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2009
    Location:
    Where bunnies are welcome.
    #4
    Glad someone else is seeing this. This started last night actually. I thought it was something wrong with my computer.
     
  5. fireshot91 macrumors 601

    fireshot91

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2008
    Location:
    Northern VA
    #5
    Maybe they're at work, and aren't allowed to install any other browser?


    Did you try stopping the page from loading and then refreshing?
     
  6. -aggie- macrumors P6

    -aggie-

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2009
    Location:
    Where bunnies are welcome.
    #6
    Yeah, I've done all those things, including deleting temp files and the history. I'm not sure if it's due to a windows update, since we had one yesterday or the day before, I believe. I was thinking of going to a system restore from a few days back to see if the problems goes away.
     
  7. fhall1 thread starter macrumors 68040

    fhall1

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2007
    Location:
    (Central) NY State of mind
    #7
    Error appears so quick there's no way to stop it that fast.

    Other poster is correct - work dictates IE....although I did try a machine with Firefox and it doesn't have the error. In Googling the error seems like MR might have introduced some code changes yesterday? Only the mods can tell us for sure.
     
  8. -aggie- macrumors P6

    -aggie-

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2009
    Location:
    Where bunnies are welcome.
    #8
    I'm also getting scripting errors on the Forum Spy. It says a script is causing IE to run slowly, do you want to abort the script. I had never got those until today (for MR).
     
  9. fhall1 thread starter macrumors 68040

    fhall1

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2007
    Location:
    (Central) NY State of mind
    #9
    workaround I've found is to navigate the site using the tab bar and the forum hierarchy links at the top of the page....but sometimes the old "back button" habit hits before I realize it.

    I did get the "script causing IE to run slowly" dialog yesterday once....but I get that on Lifehacker and Gizmodo once in a while and didn't think too much of it at the time.
     
  10. dmmcintyre3 macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2007
    #10
    I also get HTML in my posts in internet exploder.
    Wonder why
    I was going to post a screenshot but the attachmets option is gone[​IMG] Smilies don't work too. I just had to paste the image url into a img html tag
     
  11. TB07-NJ macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2008
    Location:
    US of A
    #11
    I get this popup about every 20 seconds while browsing macrumors forums. It just pops up while reading posts amd IE shuts down the browser. It's driving me nuts. Started today and don't have the problem anywhere else:

    [​IMG]
     
  12. justaregularjoe macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2008
    #12
    *HIGH FIVE*
    ...dont forget the "DOWNLOAD" button on the firefox page.

    Any possibility that you can't go back because of a a bug? OH WAIT. :D
     
  13. Cask Guest

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2008
    #13
    Getting that error too, in both Win 7 and XP
     
  14. dmmcintyre3 macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2007
  15. Resist macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2008
  16. MTI macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2009
    Location:
    Scottsdale, AZ
    #16
    The issue seems to be unique to this forum and Internet Explorer.
     
  17. -aggie- macrumors P6

    -aggie-

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2009
    Location:
    Where bunnies are welcome.
    #17
    I get the same issue on Vista on one computer and on XP on another. It's only this site. It would be nice if a mod would respond here to say something, since it's still an issue today.

    In the meantime, I've been using Firefox.
     
  18. localoid macrumors 68020

    localoid

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2007
    Location:
    America's Third World
    #18
    I just tried this in Windows using IE8 and I get the same error.

    It appears to be a javascript related issue, as if I disable javascript the problem goes away, i.e. (Tools > Internet Options > Security > Custom Level > Set Active Scripting = disable)
     
  19. -aggie- macrumors P6

    -aggie-

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2009
    Location:
    Where bunnies are welcome.
    #19
    Do you remember if we got a java update in the past few days?
     
  20. GeneralP macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2009
    #20
    Basically what is happening is we are being ignored. The people who run Macrumors are sitting high on their ivory towers watching anyone who has to use a browser other than Safari have issues and are laughing at us. This is just another example of the Mac/ Apple elitism that people talk about. This forum has become a joke and so little useful information is on here anymore. Mostly people just posting bunnies and making fun of people who ask legitimate questions.
     
  21. yg17 macrumors G5

    yg17

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2004
    Location:
    St. Louis, MO
    #21
    I'm having the same problem as well...Win XP, IE7.


    BTW, this is my work computer and I can't install Firefox. I'd never use IE outside of this place ;)
     
  22. Darth.Titan macrumors 68030

    Darth.Titan

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2007
    Location:
    Austin, TX
    #22
    Calm down. I'm sure the mods will look into this as soon as it is feasible. Remember that this site is run mostly by volunteers.

    If you have such a low opinion of these forums, why are you even here?
     
  23. -aggie- macrumors P6

    -aggie-

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2009
    Location:
    Where bunnies are welcome.
    #23
    You should be able to install Firefox even at your work. At my work we have no admin rights, but I was able to download it and install.
     
  24. yg17 macrumors G5

    yg17

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2004
    Location:
    St. Louis, MO
    #24
    No, it's nothing to do with admin rights, we're not allowed to install "non-approved" software and Firefox isn't approved. While technically I could install it, I don't want to get in trouble.
     
  25. arn macrumors god

    arn

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2001
    #25

Share This Page