Carrier specific software for ipsw?

Discussion in 'iPhone' started by patent10021, Feb 1, 2014.

  1. patent10021 macrumors 68020

    patent10021

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2004
    #1
    In Japan we can't turn the camera shutter off because the carriers like SoftBank have special settings / file that is downloaded from Apple Japan maybe? Ipsw determined by IP address?

    Anyway I cancelled my contract because I'm in North America for a while. My iPhone is now just an iPod.

    Since I can still update, restore and everything like a normal iPhone and iPod what would happen if I restore from an American or Canadian iTunes account while I'm in North America?

    The non-mutable camera shutter is obviously software controlled since it's just a system sound that can be jailbroken/edited so I'm thinking a restore from within North America at a North American iTunes account should do the trick no?

    Or would iTunes see the IMEI number and direct to Japanese iTunes Store?

    If I did pull this off then updated apps from the Japanese store would it "brick" the mutable camera shutter making it non-mutable again?
     
  2. dictoresno macrumors 601

    dictoresno

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2012
    Location:
    NJ
    #2
    IPSW's i think are device specific, not carrier. however, when you activate a phone and it connects to that specific cellular network, it downloads the carrier data relating to that network.
     
  3. patent10021 thread starter macrumors 68020

    patent10021

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2004
    #3
    so you're saying my idea will work? Restore is Same as activate? What if I have no SIM and I'm using a non Japanese iTunes Store?
     
  4. dictoresno macrumors 601

    dictoresno

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2012
    Location:
    NJ
    #4
    i think you will need a sim in the slot in order for it to activate. so the whole idea here is to get the photo noise to silence?
     
  5. patent10021 thread starter macrumors 68020

    patent10021

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2004
    #5
    yes but without JBing or editing file system.

    So if it is via activation what area is it accessing to change the default camera behavior? It's merely a system file so what if I wipe the phone (completely zero it out) then restore via iTunes USA/Canada?

    What if I open it up and disconnect the SIM connector? Thing is even with the Japanese iPods I don't think you can turn the shutter off.
     
  6. dictoresno macrumors 601

    dictoresno

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2012
    Location:
    NJ
    #6
    you can activate with any valid sim card in the tray if the phone is unlocked. you can silence the camera shutter through a JB app i think.
     
  7. patent10021 thread starter macrumors 68020

    patent10021

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2004
    #7
    Ah, yeah I mentioned above that I do not want to JB.

    I created this thread to find out how to do it factory.

    Thanks
     
  8. I7guy macrumors G5

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2013
    Location:
    What Exit?/Saguaro Country
    #8
    If you mute the phone the camera shutter sound does not quiet?
     
  9. Bacong macrumors 68000

    Bacong

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2009
    Location:
    Westland, Michigan
    #9
    yeah, the above comment is correct. Just hit the mute switch. I mean, it's a bit annoying, but it's a workaround nonetheless.
     
  10. patent10021 thread starter macrumors 68020

    patent10021

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2004
    #10
    lol omg, do you think if it were that easy I'd be posting this thread?

    Please read previous posts. The Japanese carriers disable the muting of the camera shutter.
     
  11. I7guy macrumors G5

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2013
    Location:
    What Exit?/Saguaro Country
    #11
    Your post was unclear; hence the response.

    Another option, get a mophie case. The mophie redirects the sound and you can put your finger over the speaker opening on the mophie, effectively disabling the sound from coming through the opening.
     
  12. MattMJB0188 macrumors 68000

    MattMJB0188

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    #12
    Some countries prohibit the silencing of the shutter. I'm betting Japan is one of them. Why do you need it off anyway? They obviously don't want you taking pictures of people without them knowing.
     
  13. I7guy macrumors G5

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2013
    Location:
    What Exit?/Saguaro Country
    #13
    If you are in a quiet environment it is disturbing. Not every photo you take us a violation of someone's personal rights. Also tough not to photograph people at a major tourist attraction, but that's another story.

    Or use a real camera.
     
  14. C DM macrumors Westmere

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2011
    #14
    Well it sounds like this would be to use the phone in a country where that is allowed, so a fairly natural question is to see if that might get disabled somehow when used on a carrier that isn't in a country where it's prohibited.

    That said, it's likely some low level firmware thing on those phones, so it's not likely it can be changed aside from actually getting a different model phone.
     
  15. 869639 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2014
    Location:
    Earth
    #15
    Before you ask any/all questions...is your iPhone unlocked? because if its not, what good is it going through all this hassle if its still going to remain an iPod?

    Only definite answer is:
    - IF your iPhone is unlocked, simply restore it and start it up with a North American SIM in the iPhone. Don't sign in with your Japanese iTunes/iCloud account and see if it makes a difference.

    I think the settings would be linked somehow to the carrier profile and not the iTunes/iCloud account it self.
     
  16. Applejuiced macrumors Westmere

    Applejuiced

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2008
    Location:
    At the iPhone hacks section.
    #16
    If your iPhone is locked to that Japanese carrier you will not be able to activate it or get into the homescreen without a sim from that carrier.
    It will not activate with any other sim unless the phone is carrier unlocked.
     
  17. patent10021 thread starter macrumors 68020

    patent10021

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2004
    #17
    ok that's fine because I don't need to activate it. Just trying to figure out what process in the chain is disabling the muting of the camera shutter that way I might be able to restore using a different Apple store.
     
  18. Intell macrumors P6

    Intell

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2010
    Location:
    Inside
    #18
    Region specific restrictions like that are usually tied to the device's country code. Look at the model number, for example the iPhone 4S has a model number of MD270. The same model 4S is sold worldwide. The country code is the last two letters of the model. In the US the country code is LL. So a US 4S would read MD270LL. iOS checks that country code and sets the appropriate restrictions. It is not possible to change the country code, as it is burned into the device's logicboard.
     
  19. Applejuiced macrumors Westmere

    Applejuiced

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2008
    Location:
    At the iPhone hacks section.
    #19
    If you don't or can't activate it you will NOT be able to use the phone at all. Not even as an iPod touch.
    It will just be stuck at the activation screen.
    Just letting you know. Apple store won't be able to do nothing about it either if it's a carrier specific locked iPhone.
     
  20. patent10021, Feb 3, 2014
    Last edited: Feb 3, 2014

    patent10021 thread starter macrumors 68020

    patent10021

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2004
    #20
    what do you mean? I've been using my phone as an iPod only for 6 months. Originally activated in 2010 on SoftBank, I cancelled my contract and kept it as an iPod. I restored to factory settings using iTunes in Japan but I am thinking if I restore using iTunes Canada or USA maybe the camera shutter will be able to be muted?

    What is making the iPhone use Japanese settings? The iPhone IMEI? Serial number? By using iTunes Japan to restore/update?

    ----------

    Says MC605J/A. But this code us surely not hardware since as you said is read by iOS. Could I edit that code somewhere permanently by using an iOS file utility?

    EDIT: ahh you said logic board.
     
  21. Intell macrumors P6

    Intell

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2010
    Location:
    Inside
    #21
    That is the model number, not the country code.
     
  22. wordoflife macrumors 604

    wordoflife

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2009
    #22
    Look at point 18.
     
  23. patent10021 thread starter macrumors 68020

    patent10021

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2004
    #23
    you posted before I edited :)

    MC605J/A

    I see it's the logic board. Sheit.
     
  24. Applejuiced macrumors Westmere

    Applejuiced

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2008
    Location:
    At the iPhone hacks section.
    #24


    What I mean is that I hope you have a Softbank Japan sim with you so you can activate it.
    Cause it will not activate and let you past the activation screen if you ever restore it or update its firmware.
    If you cant activate it then you will not be able to use it as an ipod touch or as anything.
     
  25. braddick macrumors 68040

    braddick

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2009
    Location:
    Encinitas, CA
    #25
    Damn near impossible to unlock Softbank! The only outside chance you have is if your iPhone is 8GB. The 16's and 32's are completely shut out.

    Even then, it is expensive and takes two weeks, minimum.
    I know... I picked up a fairly cheap iPhone right here on MacRumors that was Softbank locked and went all around looking for a breakthrough.

    I did order a Softbank SIM off of eBay so I could at least use it as an iPod. I did so until I finally was able to sell it during the Christmas 30% bonus promotion GameStop was running a few weeks back.

    I don't miss that iPhone nor the experience!
     

Share This Page