changing RAM on the new Mac Mini: have you done it ?

Discussion in 'Mac mini' started by macaron95, Nov 21, 2018.

  1. macaron95 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    May 5, 2014
    #1
    Hi

    I watched the video from ifixit and felt i could damage the mac mini if i do it myself

    just wondering, for those who just got their new Mac Mini: have you changed the RAM yourself ?

    thanks
     
  2. archer75 macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2005
    Location:
    Oregon
    #2
    Yes, it's very easy. About 10 minutes start to finish.
     
  3. stillcrazyman macrumors 68020

    stillcrazyman

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2014
    Location:
    In Exile
    #3
    Yep. Watch the videos. I have tools. Took me 15 minutes or so.
    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]
     
  4. n1kDon macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2018
    #4
    I did it, it is easy. Used the Crucial Ballistix Sport DDR4-2666 but they are only running on 2400. So I ordered now the ones from the crucial website that are recommend.
     
  5. F-Train macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2015
    Location:
    NYC & Newfoundland
    #5
  6. Dr. Stealth macrumors 6502a

    Dr. Stealth

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2004
    Location:
    SoCal-Surf City USA
    #6
    I did.

    Upgraded from 8GB to 32GB before I hit the power button for the first time... To fake out the T2 Chip... :D
     
  7. MacWorld78 macrumors 6502

    MacWorld78

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2012
    #7
    I haven't update yet but I'm waiting for the next software/firmware update especially if the T2 chipset will block out any 3rd party hardware if were found?
     
  8. kamuix macrumors regular

    kamuix

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2011
    Location:
    california
    #8
    I watched a couple of videos first and then went at it. Took me about 20 minutes or so, but I just went from 8 gig to a single 16 gig slot. It just took me a while longer cause I was just looking at the innards for a while. The best thing to remember is to use the right tools. I've already destroyed plenty of other stuff using the wrong stuff :D
     
  9. macaron95 thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    May 5, 2014
    #9
    Thanks a lot for your reassuring responses, I will proceed to my purchase then :)

    thanks
     
  10. Jorbanead macrumors regular

    Jorbanead

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2018
    #10
    I would imagine the machine has already been turned on before at the factory. Though I could definitely be wrong!
     
  11. padams35 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2016
    #11
    Are you ready for the not-so-reassuring response?

    I just upgraded my ram and clumsily managed to damage my mini. I had troubled disconnecting the power cable and thought I'd slide the logic board out a quarter inch for more room. BIG MISTAKE!

    It took a fair amount of force to pop out the logic board and when the logic board suddenly shifted the half connected power cable pulled free, broke the bracket, and bent four pins.

    BentPins.jpg

    Fortunately for me I was able to bend the pins back into position for reassembly and everything still works, but lesson learned: fully disconnect all cables before attempting to move the logic board.
     
  12. jxfo macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2018
    Location:
    Sweden
    #12
    Just did it successfully. Have to be careful though, it's not impossible to damage stuff. Years ago when I upgraded a 2011 mini I accidentally damaged the fan connector and the fan was stuck at 100% speed after that. Sounded like a jet engine. Was supposed to be my media centre. Yeah, not great.

    This time was a breeze though, took 15 mins. I'd advice not doing what 9to5 did to the led connector in case you watch that video as well (pulling the wires out), it should pop out straight up fairly easily.
     
  13. fandsw macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2007
    Location:
    Helena, AL
    #13
    Upgraded mine to 32GB after I booted the MM once to verify that it was alive and well. Took about 15 minutes, taking your time doing it and following along the ifixit guide as I was going along. I also had watched every youtube video out there on it as well. The only tricky/fiddly part was reattaching the wifi antenna plug, it did not want to pop back into place at first.
     
  14. F-Train, Nov 22, 2018
    Last edited: Nov 22, 2018

    F-Train macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2015
    Location:
    NYC & Newfoundland
    #14
    This afternoon, I ordered 32GB of RAM from Crucial/Micron. If I just wanted 16GB, I'd just pay Apple. I don't think that the saving, which is US$30 to $40, is worth the trouble and risk of doing it oneself. Having decided that I need 32GB, saving $300 is more than I can ignore, and I have the right tools and some experience with detail work.

    As @padams35's post underscores, patience is essential, and even then something can go wrong. I couldn't care less whether it takes me 15 minutes or an hour. It isn't a race, and if I wasn't convinced that I need 32GB, I wouldn't do it in the first place.
     
  15. pollaxe macrumors 6502

    pollaxe

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2010
    Location:
    West of England
    #15
    I've got a day off work so I've just upgraded my Mac mini to 32GB (using a Crucial CT2K16G4SFD8266 kit) and it was pretty straightforward. I too used the OWC video that F-Train linked above and I also had the iFixit guide ready on my nearby MacBook just in case!

    I got pretty used to opening up the Mac mini 2012 (I didn't buy the 2014 model) and I found the 2018 a bit less fiddly, overall. Weirdly, the worst bit for me was one of the simplest steps; popping the Airport antenna back onto the connector. It should be straightforward enough but my Gollum-like hands seemed to struggle. (Edit: I've just seen fandsw's post so I'm not alone!) :D

    As the other wiser-heads have said, take your time, be careful and be methodical (I keep the various screws in small dishes and in order) and it's really not too bad.
     
  16. Jorbanead macrumors regular

    Jorbanead

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2018
    #16
    Just got my mini today! I upgraded to 32gb using crucial 2x16 ram and system is reporting: 32 GB 2667 MHz DDR4.

    As others have said, the process is fairly straightforward. It took longer to migrate my apps over from my MBP than to switch the ram. For the record, I did setup my Mac first before swapping the ram out. Just wanted to double check it worked before I messed with it.

    Two things to note about my experience: The two T10 screws that hold the motherboard down were extremely tight. I thought I was going to break it. I also had a really tough time getting the motherboard out after everything was unscrewed. I actually cut my finger a tiny bit! However, everything worked out and other than those two things, it was pretty easy and quick!

    Edit: Man this thing is beautiful! First space grey Apple product.
     
  17. F-Train macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2015
    Location:
    NYC & Newfoundland
    #17
    I have a whole collection of paragraphs like this that I've pasted into a Pages document; just a little last minute reading before I perform RAM surgery myself next week :)
     
  18. smbu2000 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2014
    #18
    My BTO mini finally arrived and after unboxing it I went right in and took it apart to install the Corsair Vengeance 32GB kit (16GB x 2) that I bought for the mini.

    Taking it apart wasn't too difficult. The part that took me the longest was putting those rubber covers back on the memory clips, heh. Pretty simple to do after watching a sample video on how to go about it.

    Not sure why my pics didn't come out that great, maybe because of my ROG mousepad/mat?

    All spread out (case/bottom plate was off to the side):
    [​IMG]
    Up close with the new RAM installed:
    [​IMG]

    After I booted up and went into macOS, the 32GB was properly showing at 2667Mhz. No problems so far. I went for the i7/8GB/512GB/10 gigabit ethernet mini (now at 32GB).
     
  19. Originalbitman macrumors member

    Originalbitman

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2012
    #19
    You can spread the clips to remove the memory without removing the rubber covers.
     
  20. Jorbanead macrumors regular

    Jorbanead

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2018
    #20
    Not really. The covers are there to protect the clips and they actually slide into the clips in a very specific way. Even though they are a little fiddle to take off the whole process still only takes about 10-15mins
     
  21. fandsw macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2007
    Location:
    Helena, AL
    #21
    Agreed, the rubber covers are also spacers for the little Farraday cage that sits over the memory. The rubber covers slide on and off very easily, as long as you pull them off/on in the angled direction of the installed memory boards. If you try to pull them off/put them on sideways or straight up, that is when you have issues with them.
     
  22. Originalbitman macrumors member

    Originalbitman

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2012
    #22
    My upgrade went more easily than I imagined. That is until the very end of reassembly when I stripped the head of one of the fan Torx T6 screws. I didn’t think I was tightening it that much. Fragile little buggers. Oh well, it’s tight and everything else went fine. Booted up and both 16GB Modules showed up. Now to find a replacement screw just to tidy things up. Anyone have an idea we’re I might get one?

    Oh, and yes those rubber boots come off okay. Putting them back on is a little fiddly when lining them up onto to cage.

    And one last thing... be patient with the connector to the motherboard. It’s snug and just needs a little patience and some wiggling to get it undone.
     
  23. LeeW macrumors 6502a

    LeeW

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2017
    Location:
    Glasgow, Scotland
    #23
    Thankfully I was fine with 16GB, the cost getting it with that was not worth upgrading myself, to be fair I really don't want the hassle of stripping it down. Maybe in the future when if 16GB is no longer enough.
     
  24. jrholt, Dec 2, 2018
    Last edited: Dec 2, 2018

    jrholt macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 25, 2008
    #24
    Just upgraded from 8GB to 32GB. Process went smoothly, just following the iFixit Guide and a YouTube teardown video.

    Edit to add video and photos:

    Video I used:

    Photos from my install:

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]
     
  25. pinkoos macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    May 15, 2005
    Location:
    Texas
    #25
    Can you provide the link to which video you used, thank you
     

Share This Page

43 November 21, 2018