Changing service strength 'dots' to a number

Discussion in 'iOS 7' started by bushman4, Nov 6, 2013.

  1. bushman4 macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2011
    #1
    Any Way of changing service strength 'dots' to a number
    I remember this was doable in IOS 6
     
  2. j4zb4 macrumors 6502a

    j4zb4

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2011
    #2
    http://www.redmondpie.com/how-strong-is-your-iphone-signal-find-out-now-no-jailbreak-required/
     

    Attached Files:

  3. Lyons00 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2010
    Location:
    Bay Area, California
  4. crookadile macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2013
    Location:
    Rotherham South Yorkshire UK
    #4

    The screenshot shows iOS7 so I imagine it does work.
     
  5. abshole765 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2013
    #5
    Ive never been able to have it stay like that. Always reverts back to dots/bars.
     
  6. hafr macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2011
    #6
    Follow the instructions, but don't let go of the power button when you start pressing the home button. This will cause the phone to reboot and it stays that way.

    Just did it twice.
     
  7. Jesla macrumors 6502

    Jesla

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2013
    Location:
    Tennessee USA
  8. hakr100 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2011
    Location:
    East Coast
    #8
    Doesn't seem to "stick" on my 5S. I get it to change to a number, but when I exit out of Field Test, it reverts back to dots. Followed the directions for a "permanent change" to the letter. :confused:
     
  9. dmbrem99 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2008
    #9
    See two posts above. There is a slight alteration to the website instructions that 'hafr' pointed out.

    I didn't work for me right away until I rebooted my phone. I have a '5'.
     
  10. edhchoe macrumors 6502a

    edhchoe

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2011
    #10
    Number closer to zero indicates stronger signal it says. Does it mean -3 is stronger than -95? I have decent signal strength and it shows -95.
     
  11. balamw Moderator

    balamw

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2005
    Location:
    New England
    #11
    Yes.

    The unit of measure is dBm decibels referenced to 1 milliwatt.

    0 dBm is 1 mW
    -10 dBm is 0.1 mW
    -60 dBm is 1 nW (nanowatt)
    -90 dBm is 1 pW (picowatt).

    e.g. http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Orders_of_magnitude_(power)

    You should never see a number anywhere as large as -3 dBm!

    B
     
  12. j4zb4 macrumors 6502a

    j4zb4

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2011
    #12
    Unless you are sittin on the satellite itself... ##

    ----------

    You're welcome... :)
     
  13. Max(IT) Suspended

    Max(IT)

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2009
    Location:
    Italy
    #13
    Under very good network coverage you are going to read -60/-70 dBm or something like that
     
  14. willryan42 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2009
    #14
    Thanks. I was having a hard time figuring out how to equate this to how many bars I have. So if -60/-70 is good (say, 4 or 5 bars), what's bad (0-1 bars)?
     
  15. balamw Moderator

    balamw

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2005
    Location:
    New England
    #15
    Some discussion about this here:

    http://note19.com/2010/07/04/mapping-cellular-signal-strength-to-5-bars/

    The noise floor is at around -130 dBm so don't expect service with such a reading.

    B
     
  16. Max(IT) Suspended

    Max(IT)

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2009
    Location:
    Italy
    #16
    -120/-130 equals to 1 dot

    ----------

    With -130 dBm I can still make a call most of the time
     
  17. balamw Moderator

    balamw

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2005
    Location:
    New England
    #17
    I can sometimes make a call, but usually have vey limited data service at that point.

    The problem is somewhat complex. Just because you can hear the base station, doesn't always mean the base station can hear you.

    B
     
  18. JOSE891 macrumors 6502a

    JOSE891

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2012
    Location:
    Las Vegas
    #18
    Thank You! I hated those freaking dots.
     
  19. hafr macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2011
    #19
    It switches from two dots to one when it goes from -105 to -104. Don't think I've ever seen -130 during the years I've had the numbers telling me the signal strength... -117 is the absolute lowest I can remember having seen, that's what I get in the basement at work if I have connection at all...
     
  20. Max(IT) Suspended

    Max(IT)

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2009
    Location:
    Italy
    #20
    This morning at -125 dBm I received a text from my sister .... Where I work network coverage is very bad.
     
  21. Tander macrumors 6502a

    Tander

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2011
    Location:
    Johannesburg, South Africa
    #21
    See.. dots make it easier to just get the signal strength. Without worrying about the value it self. Easy representation. Why make things more difficult.."What does x.xdb mean again? is it good or bad??"

    Where the dots / bars show very clearly the quality of signal.
     
  22. hafr macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2011
    #22
    The dots hide information. Showing numbers is kind of like increasing the number of dots if you can read them.
     
  23. Tander macrumors 6502a

    Tander

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2011
    Location:
    Johannesburg, South Africa
    #23
    You're assuming everyone can read them. Dots help - because everyone knows the more dots coloured - the better. Easy to read. I wasn't denying that the number is not useful. Its far more useful than bars / dots - but not to average Joe who doesn't know what they mean.
     
  24. hafr macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2011
    #24
    Has anyone opposed dots as the default mode?
     
  25. Nevaborn macrumors 65816

    Nevaborn

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2013

Share This Page