"Classic Enviroment"

Discussion in 'macOS' started by greenday123, Aug 11, 2008.

  1. greenday123 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2005
    Location:
    NJ
    #1
    How do i install the classic enviroment, im running 10.5.2 i believe and i want to run some old OS 9 games, what do i have to install to be able to run those games?
     
  2. nomar383 macrumors 65816

    nomar383

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2008
    Location:
    Rexburg, ID
    #2
    You can't run classic on an intel machine and I don't even know if it exists since Leopard
     
  3. Killyp macrumors 68040

    Killyp

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2006
    #3
    Classic was dropped with 10.5. Not much you can do really, other than install Tiger on a PowerPC machine, there is no real way of running OS9 apps on an Intel Mac with Leopard.

    Just as well, nothing would move along otherwise. Sorry!
     
  4. greenday123 thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2005
    Location:
    NJ
    #4
    Well what about on my ibook g4? its also running 10.5.2.

    Well looks like im gonna install tiger on my ibook then haha i really wanna play these games, once i get tiger on what do i need to do from there?
     
  5. nomar383 macrumors 65816

    nomar383

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2008
    Location:
    Rexburg, ID
    #5
    If leopard supports it (still unsure on this one), you still need an original set of System 9 disks

    You want to play Bugdom, don't you? :p lol
     
  6. greenday123 thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2005
    Location:
    NJ
  7. sushi Moderator emeritus

    sushi

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2002
    Location:
    キャンプスワ&#
    #7
    Tiger and Leopard do not support Classic on Intel Macs.

    Some have been able to get Sheepshaver to run which allows classic app support.

    Classic works fine with Tiger running on PPC Macs.
     
  8. nomar383 macrumors 65816

    nomar383

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2008
    Location:
    Rexburg, ID
    #8
    Im pretty sure you must copy the "System" folder from your OS 9 disk to the root directory of your HD, then go to system preferences in Tiger and click "Classic". Then specify where the system folder for OS 9 is. If I remeber correctly :)

    EDIT: see here: http://www.apple.com/support/tiger/classic/
     
  9. gnasher729 macrumors P6

    gnasher729

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2005
    #9
    The cheapest and easiest way is probably to go to ebay and look for an old Macintosh. An original iMac (the fruity-coloured ones) should be available for a lot less than $100. Just make sure that it comes with MacOS 9.
     
  10. greenday123 thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2005
    Location:
    NJ
    #10
    Okay thanks! Tiger is installing on the ibook now, after thats done ill try that and hopefully it works :)
     
  11. revenuee macrumors 68020

    revenuee

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2003
    Location:
    A place where i am supreme emporer
    #11
    I can't play Dues Ex anymore be because I had to flash the Rom on my G4 when i installed a processor upgrade :(

    oh well ... one game --- even thought it was good
     
  12. greenday123 thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2005
    Location:
    NJ
    #12
    Alright well tiger is installed, i copied "System Folder" to the root of the HD went to system preferences, clicked classic, chose the classic folder. It tried starting up the classic enviroment, i get to the welcome to mac os screen, it gives me and error "The system softwate on the startup disk only functions on the original meida, not if copied to another drive" and it gives me an option to restart, if i do that it just gives me the same thing. What does that mean?
     
  13. nomar383 macrumors 65816

    nomar383

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2008
    Location:
    Rexburg, ID
    #13
    Did you follow the link to Apple's Classic support page? It may shed more light, but that error sounds familiar lol
     
  14. greenday123 thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2005
    Location:
    NJ
    #14
    I did look on that page, i did what it said to try if it wasnt working, no help, it was a Power Mac G4 install disc, i dont know if that makes much of a difference
     
  15. nomar383 macrumors 65816

    nomar383

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2008
    Location:
    Rexburg, ID
  16. Telp macrumors 68040

    Telp

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2007
    #16
    Holy wowness batman!! I REMEMBER BUGDOM! That. Was. Thebest. Game. EVER. :D:D
     
  17. nomar383 macrumors 65816

    nomar383

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2008
    Location:
    Rexburg, ID
    #17
    I remember playing it on OS 9 on iMacs in the 5th grade. Some students got selected to take the iMacs home for a few months at a time (low income) and I was always way jealous!
     
  18. Telp macrumors 68040

    Telp

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2007
    #18
    Oh man, those were trully the days.
     
  19. greenday123 thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2005
    Location:
    NJ
    #19
    I tried running it off the disk it gave me this "Classic cannot update files in "System Folder" on "Power Mac G4 Install" because the disk is read-only."
     
  20. nomar383 macrumors 65816

    nomar383

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2008
    Location:
    Rexburg, ID
    #20
    Try creating a disk image, then "restoring" from the OS 9 disk to the disk image. You can do all this in disk utility
     
  21. TEG macrumors 604

    TEG

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2002
    Location:
    Langley, Washington
    #21
    1) You need to be install onto your hard drive not "Power Mac G4 Install" since that is a CD, and OSX needs to put certain files in the OS9 System Folder to allow the two systems to interoperate, and suppress the loading of the OS9 Finder.

    2) It will say you can't install because of OS X, then just tell it to do a clean install (not the one that wipes the HD, but the one that would make a "Former System Folder"). Doing this should allow both OSes to operate.

    TEG
     
  22. nomar383 macrumors 65816

    nomar383

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2008
    Location:
    Rexburg, ID
    #22
    Thats sounds more like it. Install a fresh OS 9 and then "archive and install" to OS X, makes sense
     
  23. greenday123 thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2005
    Location:
    NJ
    #23
    Alright, ill give that a shot.

    How do i boot from a cd? Haha i dont remember which key i have to hold down
     
  24. nomar383 macrumors 65816

    nomar383

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2008
    Location:
    Rexburg, ID
    #24
    C
     
  25. danny_w macrumors 601

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2005
    Location:
    Austin, TX
    #25
    With Panther and Tiger you DO NOT need an OS 9 disk, unless the computer is old enough that it can boot into OS 9; all that you need is on the OS X disk. It has been a while since I installed it, but the instructions are probably on the disk somewhere, or on the Apple website. Be sure you are searching for Classic, not OS 9. Here is Apple's help link:

    http://docs.info.apple.com/article.html?path=Mac/10.4/en/mh763.html
     

Share This Page