Connecting two 2560x1440 (non apple) displays to rMBP 15"

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by CNX Grinder, Mar 9, 2016.

  1. CNX Grinder macrumors newbie

    CNX Grinder

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2016
    #1
    Hey all,

    As per the title of the post, Im looking to connect two 2560x1440 none apple displays on my rMBP. Is this possible?

    If so how do I go about doing it? I currently have a Dell 24" P2416D connected via Thunderbolt 2. Im using a display port to HDMI cable. Could I just connect another one of those with the other Thunderbolt display on my laptop?

    I dont mind getting an apple display if I have to, although they are pretty ugly(if its the ones with a thick casing on the back), but another Dell model thats the same would look better imo. Anyway if anyone can help out. I tried googling this but the thing is I need very high res displays.

    Thanks.
     
  2. keviig macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2012
    #2
    Thunderbolt (DP) or HDMI should work just fine! The rMBP should be able to run its native display + 2 more external ones at the same time.
     
  3. CNX Grinder thread starter macrumors newbie

    CNX Grinder

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2016
    #3
    Awesome. Just tried connecting to the same monitor with HDMI and resolution was able to reach max. Thanks for the reply!
     
  4. keviig macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2012
    #4
    Glad you got it working! If you wan't to connect a 3rd external display you will have to run the rMBP in clamshell mode (closed) as the Intel chip only supports 3 displays. Other than that, enjoy your extra screen estate!
     
  5. CNX Grinder thread starter macrumors newbie

    CNX Grinder

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2016
    #5
    Hi there,

    I have another question. Would I be able to connect one 2560x1440 monitor and one 4k 3840x2160 to my rMBP 15"?

    Thanks
     
  6. CNX Grinder thread starter macrumors newbie

    CNX Grinder

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2016
  7. Freyqq macrumors 68040

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2004
    #7
    WIth the dGPU model at least, it works fine. Might have to do one on HDMI and one on displayport.
     
  8. keviig macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2012
    #8
    Sorry, I've been away the past couple of days!
    You should be able to do that, yes. As long as the 4k display is via DP 1.2.
     
  9. CNX Grinder thread starter macrumors newbie

    CNX Grinder

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2016
    #9
    Thanks for getting back to me about this.
     

Share This Page