Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

TomXerx

macrumors newbie
Mar 14, 2020
1
0
I have the same problem here :mad::

iMac 5k, late 2015, MacOS 10.15.3

panic(cpu 1 caller 0xffffff7f83684ad5): userspace watchdog timeout: no successful checkins from com.apple.WindowServer in 120 seconds

It always happen when doing a ZOOM, SKYPE or TEAMS session and sharing my screen with or without video.

First the app/video freezes but the audio is working for about a minute or two (to say goodbye :p to the participants) and then the shutdown / restart happens.

Then I got the message attached.
 

Attachments

  • IMG_9249.jpeg
    IMG_9249.jpeg
    322.5 KB · Views: 1,209

star-affinity

macrumors 68000
Nov 14, 2007
1,892
1,188
I have the same problem here :mad::

iMac 5k, late 2015, MacOS 10.15.3

panic(cpu 1 caller 0xffffff7f83684ad5): userspace watchdog timeout: no successful checkins from com.apple.WindowServer in 120 seconds

It always happen when doing a ZOOM, SKYPE or TEAMS session and sharing my screen with or without video.

First the app/video freezes but the audio is working for about a minute or two (to say goodbye :p to the participants) and then the shutdown / restart happens.

Then I got the message attached.

10.15.4 released next week hopefully. Let's hope for that. If not another week of beta testing happens…

Edit:
Seems next week – 10.15.4 beta 6 of was just released.
 
Last edited:

Eduardo Bocorny Salgado

macrumors newbie
Mar 16, 2020
1
0
Florianopolis - Brazil
Running a clean install - from an earlier problem with my 2019 16" MBP - and am still getting the KP's.


I did the same on my 2020 16" (March 2020) MBP. Fresh install and the problem persist.

Here's what it report

panic(cpu 2 caller 0xffffff800f2288b7): "IOSCSIPeripheralDeviceType00::setPowerState(0xffffff80509eb060 : 0xffffff7f8fabc18a, 0 -> 4) timed out after 101867 ms"@/BuildRoot/Library/Caches/com.apple.xbs/Sources/xnu/xnu-6153.81.5/iokit/Kernel/IOServicePM.cpp:5302


Backtrace (CPU 2), Frame : Return Address


0xffffff923420bb40 : 0xffffff800eb3bb2b


0xffffff923420bb90 : 0xffffff800ec734d5


0xffffff923420bbd0 : 0xffffff800ec64f4e


0xffffff923420bc20 : 0xffffff800eae2a40


0xffffff923420bc40 : 0xffffff800eb3b217


0xffffff923420bd40 : 0xffffff800eb3b5fb


0xffffff923420bd90 : 0xffffff800f2d2aa9


0xffffff923420be00 : 0xffffff800f2288b7


0xffffff923420be50 : 0xffffff800f228479


0xffffff923420be60 : 0xffffff800f23f82e


0xffffff923420bea0 : 0xffffff800f227228


0xffffff923420bec0 : 0xffffff800eb7d7e5


0xffffff923420bf40 : 0xffffff800eb7d311


0xffffff923420bfa0 : 0xffffff800eae213e





BSD process name corresponding to current thread: kernel_task


Boot args: chunklist-security-epoch=0 -chunklist-no-rev2-dev





Mac OS version:


19D76
 

star-affinity

macrumors 68000
Nov 14, 2007
1,892
1,188
I did the same on my 2020 16" (March 2020) MBP. Fresh install and the problem persist.

Here's what it report

panic(cpu 2 caller 0xffffff800f2288b7): "IOSCSIPeripheralDeviceType00::setPowerState(0xffffff80509eb060 : 0xffffff7f8fabc18a, 0 -> 4) timed out after 101867 ms"@/BuildRoot/Library/Caches/com.apple.xbs/Sources/xnu/xnu-6153.81.5/iokit/Kernel/IOServicePM.cpp:5302


Backtrace (CPU 2), Frame : Return Address


0xffffff923420bb40 : 0xffffff800eb3bb2b


0xffffff923420bb90 : 0xffffff800ec734d5


0xffffff923420bbd0 : 0xffffff800ec64f4e


0xffffff923420bc20 : 0xffffff800eae2a40


0xffffff923420bc40 : 0xffffff800eb3b217


0xffffff923420bd40 : 0xffffff800eb3b5fb


0xffffff923420bd90 : 0xffffff800f2d2aa9


0xffffff923420be00 : 0xffffff800f2288b7


0xffffff923420be50 : 0xffffff800f228479


0xffffff923420be60 : 0xffffff800f23f82e


0xffffff923420bea0 : 0xffffff800f227228


0xffffff923420bec0 : 0xffffff800eb7d7e5


0xffffff923420bf40 : 0xffffff800eb7d311


0xffffff923420bfa0 : 0xffffff800eae213e





BSD process name corresponding to current thread: kernel_task


Boot args: chunklist-security-epoch=0 -chunklist-no-rev2-dev





Mac OS version:


19D76
Not that it makes things better, but that looks like another kind of Kernel Panic than the one being talked about in this thread.
 

urbanmacUser

macrumors 6502
Sep 9, 2008
283
255
Seeing this on 16" and 13" MBP's.

We also run Symantec EndPoint and that was causing very High CPU load, removal or update to as yet unreleased version Symantec supplied seems to help.
 

kenny113

macrumors newbie
Jan 12, 2009
15
4
This has been happening to me upon shutdown/reboot since 10.15.1 if I have been using my iMac (Retina 5K, 27-inch, Late 2014) for longer than ~20 min. No 3rd party kernel extensions. At least it's not happening during use in my case.
 

nudgeee

macrumors newbie
Sep 25, 2009
9
2
I’m facing this issue too recently. I do CAD work under Parallels 15 (Windows 10), Macbook Pro 16", and my machine started locking up constantly in the past week. It seems to lock up while I am actively working and is very distracting. It happens with and without a dock (Caldigit TS3) connected, and I have no external monitors connected. I also upgraded to macOS 10.15.4 beta 6 but the problem still persists :(
 
Last edited:

monstermac77

macrumors regular
Original poster
Nov 21, 2007
177
41
I've been using the latest unreleased version for a couple of days now and I have to admit that it seems to be fixed. Yay!

Which version of the beta are you using? 10.15.4 beta 6 like the user below?

I’m facing this issue too recently. I do CAD work under Parallels 15 (Windows 10), Macbook Pro 16", and my machine started locking up constantly in the past week. It seems to lock up while I am actively working and is very distracting. It happens with and without a dock (Caldigit TS3) connected, and I have no external monitors connected. I also upgraded to macOS 10.15.4 beta 6 but the problem still persists :(
 

nudgeee

macrumors newbie
Sep 25, 2009
9
2
So a bit more testing, it happened a bunch more times using the following configurations:
- macOS 10.15.3, Parallels 15.1.3
- macOS 10.15.4 beta 6, Parallels 15.1.3
- macOS 10.15.4 beta 6, Parallels 15.1.2

However on macOS 10.15.4 beta 6, three times Parallels crashed to the desktop without the entire machine locking up. However the graphics of macOS went extremely glitchy (coloured patches all over screen, toolbar disappearing and reappearing, etc). I put this down due to being beta software. Once it got so severe i had to reboot using a long press of the power button. Another time, Parallels caught the crash and i filed a technical bug with them. Browsing through the logs it was definitely related to a GPU lockup. macOS then tries to reset the GPU in order for the watchdog to not kick in. Seems to work sometimes, but i can't help but feel its patching over the real problem and the underlying issue may still be there.
 

monstermac77

macrumors regular
Original poster
Nov 21, 2007
177
41
So a bit more testing, it happened a bunch more times using the following configurations:
- macOS 10.15.3, Parallels 15.1.3
- macOS 10.15.4 beta 6, Parallels 15.1.3
- macOS 10.15.4 beta 6, Parallels 15.1.2

However on macOS 10.15.4 beta 6, three times Parallels crashed to the desktop without the entire machine locking up. However the graphics of macOS went extremely glitchy (coloured patches all over screen, toolbar disappearing and reappearing, etc). I put this down due to being beta software. Once it got so severe i had to reboot using a long press of the power button. Another time, Parallels caught the crash and i filed a technical bug with them. Browsing through the logs it was definitely related to a GPU lockup. macOS then tries to reset the GPU in order for the watchdog to not kick in. Seems to work sometimes, but i can't help but feel its patching over the real problem and the underlying issue may still be there.

Hm, I think this is overall good news? It means they may actually be trying to address the issue. I'd be especially curious if the issue is no longer occurring when waking the machine from sleep (for those who were having that issue). Have you tried to reproduce the issue using the 4k video I linked to in my original post?
 

nudgeee

macrumors newbie
Sep 25, 2009
9
2
So I think i've narrowed it down for my case anyway! I usually have my macOS Display Settings on Scaled -> More Space, but if i set it to Default and run Parallels, no crashes! Fingers crossed :)
 

monstermac77

macrumors regular
Original poster
Nov 21, 2007
177
41
So I think i've narrowed it down for my case anyway! I usually have my macOS Display Settings on Scaled -> More Space, but if i set it to Default and run Parallels, no crashes! Fingers crossed :)

Oh wow, that's interesting. I always run in Default (used to do More Space but Default is good enough for me on the 16 inch) so I guess that only applies to your use case. Glad you figured it out!
 

a84c72

macrumors member
Aug 13, 2018
35
3
I had this issue....in a different way, though, than most. I only experienced it when I tried to shutdown. The shutdown would take FOREVER only to suddenly reboot to a white screen telling me there was an issue and it restarted. I tried to get support from Apple with this and the last thing we tried was a SMC reset. It seemed to work.....for a little while. Then I read it was a bug in the OS and that it appears the update coming out at some point would fix it. THEN, I discovered a problem with my fonts. They were not showing in apps nor on the website wordmark.it. Opening FontBook to try and fix it proved to be useless as the program would freeze. For whatever it is worth, I was experiencing beachballs like crazy randomly. Then, I read to delete com.apple.systemuiserver.plist. And VOILA! Fonts work again. AND.....I haven't had a shutdown/restart issue since. ANDDDD.....very little beachballs spinning! I have NO idea what this plist does, but it fixed more than one of my ailments. Granted, it was a fix since last night so who knows how long it will last, but so far, so good!!
 

nudgeee

macrumors newbie
Sep 25, 2009
9
2
Oh wow, that's interesting. I always run in Default (used to do More Space but Default is good enough for me on the 16 inch) so I guess that only applies to your use case. Glad you figured it out!

I spoke too soon, didn't seem to do the trick. I'm going to keep trying different options to see if i narrow it down. In the meantime i filed a bug report with Apple.
 
Last edited:

monstermac77

macrumors regular
Original poster
Nov 21, 2007
177
41
I spoke too soon, didn't seem to do the trick. I'm going to keep trying different options to see if i narrow it down. In the meantime i filed a bug report with Apple.

Darn, sorry to hear that. Let us know if you find anything else out to reduce the panics.
 

star-affinity

macrumors 68000
Nov 14, 2007
1,892
1,188
My guess is 10.15.4 will be released tomorrow alongside other Apple OS updates. Fingers crossed the problem i gone after that. ?
 

bogdanw

macrumors 601
Mar 10, 2009
4,890
2,267

makdeniss

macrumors regular
Apr 26, 2011
135
27
European Union
small update for me. I was on beta 5 when I said all was aok for me finally. Now I updated to beta 6 and I get other panics... LOL Apple you need to get your stuff together.
 

thekev

macrumors 604
Aug 5, 2010
7,005
3,343
If you guys are going to start doing things like clean installations, you might want to back up any system logs first. They often tell you more about what caused the panic.
 

Maxtoid

macrumors member
Jun 11, 2011
61
8
Chattanooga, TN
I opened a case with Apple since it did it two days in a row on my 2019 Mac Pro 7,1 - It's slightly more concerning for me since I haven't seen anyone else share the same behavior that mine is having where the machine just hard-crashes and won't respond to power or anything and requires a full SMC reset (unplugging power cable for more than 5 seconds) to bring it back on... so I figured an Apple case wouldn't hurt.

Naturally they escalated it pretty quickly given the severity of requiring an SMC reset to bring their brand new mac pro back to life and I just got confirmation this morning from the lead engineer on the case that the MacOS and Mac Pro engineering team are aware of this issue and that it IS a software issue with 10.15.3. They also confirmed that 10.15.4 will resolve the issue. Now to wait patiently for the release...
 
  • Like
Reactions: star-affinity
Register on MacRumors! This sidebar will go away, and you'll see fewer ads.