Contemplating jumping ship from OSX.. Help?

Discussion in 'Community Discussion' started by mixel, Feb 10, 2016.

?

Should I just switch to my beefier PC and sell my iMac?

1. Yes! If it works better for you, duh!

31.3%
  2. No! PCs suck! You'll regret it!

31.3%
  3. Maybe? Why are you even asking?

37.5%
  4. Do it and get a cheap/2nd hand mini to tinker with.

0 vote(s)
    0.0%
  1. mixel macrumors 65816

mixel

hi folks..

Sorry, I know occasionally you get posts like this from trolls.. But I've been using my macs for so many years now, and I've been occasionally active here and like the community, sort of hoping for Devils advocates, reassurance or something?

Context: My first Mac was a G4 powermac, then I went to G5, then a MacBook Pro, then a couple of iMacs. I'm currently on a 2012 model. I'm contemplating throwing in the towel on OSX though as I've had to maintain a PC throughout as well (largely for gaming), and it's got to a point where it's so much more powerful in raw terms, and I feel a bit abandoned by Apple, in regards to upgrade paths. (First world problems!)

This is my 2nd iMac, the first aged well apart from screen shadowing. Apple replaced the screen on my current one in 2014 because of shadowing, but it's beginning to come back already. If it gets really bad they'll replace it again for free if it happens within the next year or two (which is pretty funny as it's a £260 part, to avoid a short but terrifying job cleaning inside the LCD panel!) This experience has somewhat soured my feeling for all-in-ones. :/ There isn't a middle area for me to upgrade to - mini is too puny, pro is too insanely expensive once specced up high enough, and I don't really trust iMacs anymore. Blarrgg.