Core 2/i5/i7 EXTREME CPU tweaks!!!

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by nnoob, Aug 1, 2011.

  1. nnoob, Aug 1, 2011
    Last edited: Aug 9, 2011

    nnoob macrumors member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2006
    #1
    Doing graphical intensive task will throttle the CPU because of Apple approach of balancing the GPU and CPU load efficiency. You can block the efficiency by downloading a program called throttlestop. It is only for Boot Camp users.
    An interesting read from the author of Throttlestop: http://forums.macrumors.com/showpost.php?p=13124402&postcount=36

    For HD 6750m users:
    May drain battery power on A/C because the power adapter cannot supply more than 85 watt. You will be maxing it out if you are using the internal LCD. It is recommended to use external monitor (and disabling internal LCD). Undervolting the GPU is recommended, here an excellent guide: http://forums.macrumors.com/showthread.php?t=1142028

    download: http://www.techinferno.com/downloads/?did=1

    FAQ:
    IS IT OVERCLOCKING?
    No, If you are concerned of overheating or burning out with turbo multiplier / throttlestop, please read these 2 posting, http://forums.macrumors.com/showpost.php?p=13134899&postcount=35 and http://forums.macrumors.com/showpost.php?p=13123152&postcount=27 and http://forums.macrumors.com/showpost.php?p=13148725&postcount=43

    Can I use it in Mac OS X?
    No.

    Is it safe?
    Running at Intel designed clock speed is safe. See this also http://forums.macrumors.com/showpost.php?p=13148725&postcount=43

    My thermal sensor said my CPU core is at 100C or DTS reading is 0, should I be scared/panicing/worried?
    NO because these temperature are not accurate ( source: intel and throttlestop guide). See this also http://forums.macrumors.com/showpost.php?p=13148725&postcount=43

    ****Use at your own risk***

    1. Extract and Run Throttlestop

    2. Check Set multipliers to turbo.

    3. uncheck C1E

    4. then click Save and Turn on

    5. SSD and HDD speed gain (optional), See quoted info from unclewebb (author of throttlestop)

    before
    http://imageshack.us/photo/my-images/191/throttlestopj.png/
    after
    http://imageshack.us/photo/my-images/841/throttlestop2.png/
     
  2. ahdickter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2011
    Location:
    Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
    #2
    It depends on the CPU. If you're running a 2011 MBP then its not needed since Sandy Bridge is so powerful.
     
  3. nnoob thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2006
    #3
    It so powerful it even dip to 20 FPS /sarcasm
    I want the full horsepower of my Macbook Pro, not dipping FPS every big fight.
     
  4. ahdickter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2011
    Location:
    Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
  5. nnoob thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2006
    #5
    I am running 2011 macbook pro 15 inch 2.2 ghz, 6750m
     
  6. Chiuy macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    May 24, 2011
    Location:
    NorCal, Bay Area
    #6
    You really need a boost for your MBP?
    I'm running MBP 13" 2011 i5 and I can run Team Fortress 2 on high setting and I'm getting around 45FPS average
     
  7. 2hvy4grvty macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2011
    #7
    I think a better analogy would be the exact opposite. You're instilling a barrier; you're preventing Intel/Apple logic from doing its thing.
     
  8. nnoob, Aug 2, 2011
    Last edited: Aug 2, 2011

    nnoob thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2006
    #8
    Worded it better

    Added some info

    May drain battery power on A/C because the power adapter cannot supply more than 85 watt. You will be maxing it out if the you using the internal LCD. It is recommended to use external monitor (and disabling internal lcd).

    Undervolting the GPU is recommended, here an excellent guide: http://forums.macrumors.com/showthread.php?t=1142028
     
  9. nnoob thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2006
    #9
    For example, in a poorly optimized map on tf2, I had 30 to 70 FPS but with throttlestop consent 70 fps
     
  10. wikus macrumors 68000

    wikus

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2011
    Location:
    Planet earth.
    #10
    Would this work for a mid 2010 Macbook Pro with a Geforce 330M using the laptops screen?
     
  11. nnoob thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2006
    #11
    Yes it will work, but it may drain battery on A/C and also post result please.
     
  12. wikus macrumors 68000

    wikus

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2011
    Location:
    Planet earth.
    #12
    I only play games at home connected with the battery adapter, I dont think it will have much of an effect. I'll post results when I can, I'm currently trying to resolve an issue I'm having with my mini display port: http://forums.macrumors.com/showthread.php?t=1203042
     
  13. nnoob thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2006
  14. PurrBall macrumors 6502a

    PurrBall

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2007
    Location:
    Indianapolis
    #14
    With my GPU undervolted, I don't see the CPU clock decrease while playing BFBC2 with throttlestop deactivated.
     
  15. nnoob thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2006
    #15
    Did you activated throttlestop before deactivating then the CPU clock speed will stay like that
    If then restart your macbook pro (it a bug)
     
  16. NZed macrumors 65816

    NZed

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2011
    Location:
    Canada, Eh?
    #16
    hey thanks a lot for this

    I also overclocked my GPU too!
    http://forums.macrumors.com/showthread.php?t=904300

    Do you think but using this tweak and overclock my GPU would do any damage?

    My fans are usually always at 6000rpm on windows controlled by LubbosFanControl so i think heat may not be a problem.
     
  17. nnoob thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2006
    #17
    I use it on my undervolted and overclocked radeon hd 6750m @ 800 mhz / 1000 mhz
     
  18. PurrBall macrumors 6502a

    PurrBall

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2007
    Location:
    Indianapolis
    #18
    This is after a complete power off and restart. Still running at 2195 MHz after quite a few minutes of gameplay.
     
  19. nnoob, Aug 4, 2011
    Last edited: Aug 4, 2011

    nnoob thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2006
    #19
    Setting will persist from the last save and i think in your case when you ran it, throttlestop became activated

    Did you select deactivate, save, and then restart?

    a side note:
    What is your boot rom version?
    What is your smc rom version?
     
  20. Rotsu macrumors member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2008
    #20
    This doesn't seem to be working. I'm testing it with the built-in benchmark tool. And i'm getting the same results with and without TS turned on. I followed the instructions from the main post.
     
  21. nnoob thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2006
    #21
    Doing graphical intensive task will throttle the CPU because of Apple approach of balancing the GPU and CPU load efficiency. You can block the efficiency by downloading a program called throttlestop. It is only for Boot Camp users.

    Let me rephrase that....

    If your GPU load is high then the CPU will throttle to ~800 mhz.
     
  22. Necriss macrumors member

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2011
    #22
    I don't have a problem with the CPU underclocking during games. Tried throttlestop and it made no difference. I think you may have an incorrect power profile under windows. If this fixed performance issues for you by all means continue using it.
     
  23. PurrBall macrumors 6502a

    PurrBall

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2007
    Location:
    Indianapolis
    #23
    Yup, I restored the default settings, saved, restarted.
    Boot ROM is MBP81.0047.B0E
    SMC is 1.69f1
     
  24. w00t951 macrumors 68000

    w00t951

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2009
    Location:
    Pittsburgh, PA
    #24
    Leave your multiplier at 22X (for 2.2GHz) or 23X (for 2.3GHz). Don't use Turbo. There is a very good chance that you will burn out your CPU if you keep running with Turbo multipliers.
     
  25. ahdickter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2011
    Location:
    Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
    #25
    You see, I thought that too (playing BC2) but then I realized that it only goes down to 800mhz when I minimize the game to check out CPU-Z. If you run a benchmarking tool that records and runs in the background, you'll see it maxes nearly as far as it can go.

    Of course, maybe your fans don't cool yours well enough....
     

Share This Page