MP 7,1 CPU upgrade in 2019 Mac Pro

Rehtori

macrumors newbie
Jan 9, 2020
12
9
These are really good news for buyers of the base model with intention to potentially upgrade CPU in future (like me). It's a confirmation that Apple security/T2 doesn't block CPU upgrade, at least for not for today's BTO options.
Interesting to know would be if this is valid for the W-3265/75 non-M version as well, which may be good enough for many of us.
I can report that 3265 non M works perfectly fine here.
 
  • Like
Reactions: rxs0 and sirio76

Snow Tiger

macrumors 6502a
Dec 18, 2019
611
403
Has this scam impacted current generation Xeons?
This is why synthetic benchmarks are so valuable .

If the results are anomalous , then there has got to be a good reason ( OS version , other hardware installed , etc . ) or something's fishy . Maybe damaged or maybe someone pulled a switch-a-roo .

I also check for the presence of ES and QS chips .
 

Softco

macrumors newbie
Jan 12, 2020
18
8
I will examine it further in a Windows environment in order to run the latest version of CPU-Z , which should verify if it is really a production , ES or QS chip .
OK, I’m horrible for saying it, but for purely selfish reasons I’d love to learn that it was a rebadged ES or QS. Those chips are all over Ebay for sub $1K and if they post, pass and perform, I’d install one in a heartbeat and try to live with the shame.
 

bsbeamer

macrumors 68040
Sep 19, 2012
3,497
1,808
I have not seen a CPU that would be considered an "upgrade" over the base model for under $1K, regardless of QS designation or not. It is still considered illegal to sell ES chips and they are property of Intel. Would not want a production ready machine messing with that in any capacity.
 

Softco

macrumors newbie
Jan 12, 2020
18
8
I have not seen a CPU that would be considered an "upgrade" over the base model for under $1K, regardless of QS designation or not. It is still considered illegal to sell ES chips and they are property of Intel. Would not want a production ready machine messing with that in any capacity.
So this is a stolen chip?
 
Last edited:

bsbeamer

macrumors 68040
Sep 19, 2012
3,497
1,808
So this is a stolen chip?
IF the title of the listing is accurate, most likely stolen in some fashion. Some sellers say they are unaware and get away with it. Others knowingly and willingly resell. Either way, ES chips are property of Intel.

No photos of the actual product is another red flag. Personally would not trust overly fuzzy photos of report screens either. If it’s too good to be true, it probably is.
 
  • Like
Reactions: OkiRun

BlueQube

macrumors newbie
Oct 19, 2013
8
5
UK
I hope this is the right thread to jump on please forgive me if so
My first post...

"So, I think the SMC still thinks the old chips are in and not letting the new chips run at that hotter temp so the fans kick in sooner, even though the chip temps are well within range."

I Have Taken an early 2009 mac pro 4,1 tower with 2 x cpu 2.4gh intel and (flashed) to 5,1

Then added 2 x 3.4gh westmeare intel xeons de lidded new paste and not overtightened.
(www.mac-factory.de)
Then added 48G ram – all good and recognised not mixed run in triple.
1 x 500G nvme m2 to x16 pci slot – boots great
1 x brand new Radeon rx580 Sapphire pulse 8g DDRR5 – no boot screen as expected, some little dips of the screen to black but all acceptable – recognised and working.
Fresh install of High sierra 10.3.6 then firmware update to 140.0.0.0 via Mojave installer
Then Mojave – all fine and working great.

Reset SMC
Reset the PRam

Issues: the machine boots and runs fine for most things photoshop – DTP – web all good.
AE Pr anything that draws a bit of load and the fans creep up

When I put the computer under a load, say rendering with all the cores or benchmarking the fans kick in and get pretty loud, on the motherboard a small red LED flickers (see IMGs attached) in unison with the render then stays solid until the render is done, then goes out when the load is over, the fans still blowhard when the temps of both CPUs are in the acceptable 40c the fans eventually go back to normal quite. (thermal throttling????)

update:(ok looks like C4d R17 is not compatible with Mojave/high sierra on this build)

Thing is it works fine on my other mac pro and laptop on high sierra –
However, the smc and boot rom are now on Mojave ones so that would seem to be the incompatibility to me.

Stopped testing with C4D and used AE and Pr – fans still creep up sooner than they should

Blinking red led not happening unless under very heavy load, but fans still creeping up and getting loud.

The solution so far: MACs fan control, you can turn the fans down and deal with the noise but it’s the red light that needs to be resolved rather than just the fans.

This forum post tell the same story I’m having but not resolved.
https://forums.macrumors.com/threads/red-light-showing-from-processor-memory-board.1718643/

this forum takes of the same chip upgrade but different fan issues.
https://forums.macrumors.com/threads/mp-5-1-upgraded-to-pair-x5690-fans-running-high.2006884/page-2?post=23821823#post-23821823

then this also touches on it but more to do with macfan as solution https://forums.macrumors.com/threads/fan-speed-after-cpu-upgrade.2189784/?post=27539854#post-27539854

Now luckily, I have another mac pro5, 1 not flashed; A 2010 3.4ghz 12core duel cpu – ie I am building the new one to be pretty much the same as this current one.

The difference being I run a macvids flashed card nvidia gtx 980 4g with boot screen (even though the efi spasms out on boot screen she still works a treat.

Now the led flash I get on the flashed 1,4 2009, happens on the 5,1 2010, however it just flashes once or twice and then the fans pick up just a little (hardly any noise and the light goes out- its only very brief.

So thermals right???

Temps at idle: both machines are pretty much the same including fan noise. I’ve looked at the temp’s under load on both machines as comparison: AE – with openGL being used on the card and effects to push the cpu’s – temps run a little hotter on the new de-lidded cpu’s but I think they can run hotter up to 125 c

The PCI fan on the flashed mac runs 100RPM faster but to be expected with the RX 580 and the Nvme on the pci.

So, I think the SMC still thinks the old chips are in and not letting the new chips run at that hotter temp so the fans kick in sooner, even though the chip temps are well within range.

So, if the SMC governs the fans on the mac can we fix that?

Firmware Restoration CD (Intel-based Macs)
https://support.apple.com/en-us/HT201692
But this would be no help as apple won’t let you dump the smc. once that particular smc is on your board it isn’t coming off. (!@£$%^&^%$£@) This is only if your firmware install didn’t work.

Now if it’s all down to the SMC I’m stuck it would seem to having noisy fans.

I’m sure I saw a post saying that if you swap out cpu’s you need to run ASD afterwards
To do a thermal reconfiguration test. Now I’m getting excited again can I fix this?????

I have downloaded ASD file from https://www.loremipsum.info/ia-tools-blog/

for the 2009 (3S132) EFI -OS made the bootable drive as described in the instructions.
Tried to run them but they froze (on the nvme drive & a normal bay spinner hd with fresh os instal)

I’m downloading another ASD file 2.5.8 that you burn onto cd so I’ll see if that works?

Well, I can’t get the ASD to load just freeze on the efi and I only get the apple logo on the ASD os no bar just sits there, doing nothing…….

I’m also going to try AHT but can’t get the usb to Boot

Well, I’m getting to the end of my investigative powers so I thought I’d share the experience and hope it helps someone else out, oh and maybe just maybe someone out there can help me.
 

Attachments

Softco

macrumors newbie
Jan 12, 2020
18
8
No photos of the actual product is another red flag. Personally would not trust overly fuzzy photos of report screens either. If it’s too good to be true, it probably is.
The red flag for me is that the CPU info screen, and the title for that matter, say that this is a 26 core chip. No where else have I seen a W3175X as having anything other than 28 cores.

Otherwise, a nice thing about Ebay and PayPal is that you can try too good to be true deals and not worry about losing your cash.
 
  • Like
Reactions: fuchsdh and OkiRun

Snow Tiger

macrumors 6502a
Dec 18, 2019
611
403
z
IF the title of the listing is accurate, most likely stolen in some fashion. Some sellers say they are unaware and get away with it. Others knowingly and willingly resell. Either way, ES chips are property of Intel.

No photos of the actual product is another red flag. Personally would not trust overly fuzzy photos of report screens either. If it’s too good to be true, it probably is.
Try to obtain actual pictures of the chip you are buying , in order to read its unique information .

How to identify the markings of an Intel LGA 3647 processor :

lga3647.png


Screen Shot 2020-01-26 at 6.45.41 AM.png


The serial number of a processor is typically a combination of the finished process order (FPO) number and the assembly test process order (ATPO) number.

The above might not work for identifying a xeon that has had its heat spreader replaced fraudulently .

2D Matrix is sometimes called a Datamatrix code .

There is an iOS app called Barcode Scanners 4.4.5 by the Cognex Corporation for iPhones that can scan Datamatrix codes .
 
Last edited:
  • Like
Reactions: OkiRun

edgerider

macrumors regular
Apr 30, 2018
229
117
my 2 cent is that the pcie swich need to see available lane to initialize the pcie routing of the lanes and it might be possible that they are assigned from 1 to 64 depending on what slot is populated.... if you have the basic io board on the top slot (with special additional gpio routing and such) it might totally be possible that it is on lane 60 to 64.... until you do an pcie ennumeration, and if nothing is pluged, it just got ignored, but with nvram reset it got for some reason detecteted but couldn’t see the card on pcie map.

I am waiting for my 7.1 rack, as soon as i got it i will try to find a non M 24 core and test it . but so far i could’nt find anywhere to buy the cpu that isn’t ES or looks shady.

I am a 100% sure that my customer wont see the difference between an original « apple M cpu » and a non M.
 
  • Like
Reactions: MacFlaX

genzai

macrumors newbie
Feb 17, 2011
22
76
FWIW I did a PRAM reset on my user upgraded 3265 (non-M) and there was no problem completing that process and booting right back into a working system. PRAM resets won't be an issue for people who do user upgrades to supported CPUs in the XEON-W 32XX series of processors. Unrelated, the machine has some serious issues with thunderbolt right now that i really hope can be resolved in software/firmware and isn't a hardware issue. ports on the apple card are very hit and miss for working at all and have had problems with the top front ports as well. only ports that seem solid are on the GPU.

g\
 
  • Like
Reactions: sirio76 and MacFlaX

edgerider

macrumors regular
Apr 30, 2018
229
117
FWIW I did a PRAM reset on my user upgraded 3265 (non-M) and there was no problem completing that process and booting right back into a working system. PRAM resets won't be an issue for people who do user upgrades to supported CPUs in the XEON-W 32XX series of processors. Unrelated, the machine has some serious issues with thunderbolt right now that i really hope can be resolved in software/firmware and isn't a hardware issue. ports on the apple card are very hit and miss for working at all and have had problems with the top front ports as well. only ports that seem solid are on the GPU.

g\
hi there !
can i ask were do you got your cpu? and at what cost? I dont want to pay for a shaddy ebay shop for this kind of amount!
 

Rehtori

macrumors newbie
Jan 9, 2020
12
9
hi there !
can i ask were do you got your cpu? and at what cost? I dont want to pay for a shaddy ebay shop for this kind of amount!
I got mine from pcking.de but atm they seem to not have any in stock. These are very hard to get cpus. Anyway, I have a spare Xeon 3245 lying around here after upgrading my Mac Pro's cpu...but it has "only" 16 cores xD
 
Last edited:

edgerider

macrumors regular
Apr 30, 2018
229
117
I got mine from pcking.de but atm they seem to not have any in stock. These are very hard to get cpus. Anyway, I have a spare Xeon 3245 lying around here after upgrading my Mac Pro's cpu...but it has "only" 16 cores xD
well, that is any way more than 8 , would you want to sale it to me? you can send me a PM like this we can discuss it?😉
 

genzai

macrumors newbie
Feb 17, 2011
22
76
hi there !
can i ask were do you got your cpu? and at what cost? I dont want to pay for a shaddy ebay shop for this kind of amount!
I bought it for $3200 at provantage which is a well established distributor. not shady at all and i have been buying components from them for many, many years. They used to have stock though i suspect there is a lead time now.

g\
 

Snow Tiger

macrumors 6502a
Dec 18, 2019
611
403
I bought it for $3200 at provantage which is a well established distributor. not shady at all and i have been buying components from them for many, many years. They used to have stock though i suspect there is a lead time now.

g\
You'll find most CL Xeon Ws have to be special ordered . Lead time is 3 weeks - one month to pull them in , if you are in the USA . There are no warranties on these chips from Intel .
 

Snow Tiger

macrumors 6502a
Dec 18, 2019
611
403
Well , my 2.5 GHz 28 Core W-3275M upgraded MP7,1 just passed a week long burn in .

The used Chinese silicon I paid $4500 for is the real deal , I'd say .

I had her running GIMPS prime number test - which placed all her threads and cores at continuous load - for 170 continuous hours .

She consumes 350 - 375W of juice at the wall .

All the system fans are running at a continuous 1000 RPM via MFC .

The machine is quiet at no more than 45 dB at 12 inches away . Apple did a great job with the cooling system , although factory SMC did not bring up the fans fast enough for my comfort . Factory SMC allowed the CPU to get too hot , so I was required to use the third party fan utility to keep it cool enough .

The processor's Tcase hovers between 60 and 72 degrees Celsius with MFC , which is below the max temp of 76 C Intel recommends .

With factory SMC she got around 85 - 90 C , which I think is dangerous and unacceptable . For those of you with factory 28 Cores , you might want to verify your Mac is cool under load with factory fan control .

The average processor frequency was 2.69 GHz for the last week . We're never going to get 4.4 GHz turbo continuously on all cores , of course .

7 day burn in cpu prime test 28 core.png
 
  • Like
Reactions: OkiRun

Softco

macrumors newbie
Jan 12, 2020
18
8
PRAM resets won't be an issue for people who do user upgrades to supported CPUs in the XEON-W 32XX series of processors.
g\
I haven't heard anyone in this forum mention the Xeon W-3175X as an option. Looking at the Intel website it looks like it's just a less-certified "desktop" version of the W-3275 "workstation" CPU).

Thoughts?

Here's Intel's side-by-side comparison: