Dell UP2715K - 5K Monitor

Discussion in 'Mac Accessories' started by k-hawinkler, Feb 11, 2015.

  1. k-hawinkler macrumors member

    k-hawinkler

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2011
  2. hfg macrumors 68040

    hfg

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2006
    Location:
    Cedar Rapids, IA. USA
    #2
    I am also interested in if a 2012 cMacPro with a Nvidia GTX 680 4GB card can drive it and at what frequency (60 hz)? DisplayPort 1.2?

    Thanks...
     
  3. larrysing1963, Feb 12, 2015
    Last edited: Feb 12, 2015

    larrysing1963 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2014
    #3
    Still looking, but signs for the older Pro don't look good:

    https://discussions.apple.com/thread/6741946

    Jan 2, 2015 5:23 AM
    Re: MacPro hexacoeur AMD firepro D500 with Dell up2715k compatibility? in response to Leoi777
    "Waiting for the Dell 5K monitor?
    We don’t know whether it will work with the current Mac Pro yet. Just like the theoretical Apple external 5K monitor, it will rely on tricks like MST to be treated as one big monitor, which may be unsupported or buggy on the Mac Pro.


    ----------

    From an Ama*on.com review:

    I'm starting to think NO is the correct answer right now. Only the 5K Retina iMac can run OSX at 5K right now (Feb 2015) it appears.

    ----------

    My best efforts indicate everyone reporting a fail.

    I think DP 1.3 in future Apple products is what will be needed for this monitor.

    You CAN however, run it at 4K. :D :apple:

    More: http://lcds.macrumors.com/

    "As a result, no current Mac, including the Mac Pro and Retina MacBook Pro models that do support 4K displays, can currently drive a 5K external display. Technically, Apple could allow another Mac to output video at a lower resolution and have the Retina iMac scale the content up to fit its display, but this would not be ideal and Apple has apparently elected not to support it as an option."
     
  4. AppleDroid macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2011
    Location:
    Illinois
    #4
    I would have to assume it's on Apple to make it work via drivers? If OS X isn't setup to send two mDP signals to a single display then you'll just get the max UHD resolution one mDP cable can provide.
     
  5. larrysing1963 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2014
    #5
    I think so. But they are worried, I think, about the performance @ 5K on existing hardware, and would probably prefer to wait until DP 1.3 is available on their devices, and maybe even TB 3.
     
  6. edanuff, Feb 12, 2015
    Last edited: Feb 12, 2015

    edanuff macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2008
    #6
    It's theoretically just a driver update but we can only guess as to if or when that would happen. Using two mDP cables to run one 5K MST monitor wouldn't strain the nMP at all, it's less bandwidth than running two 4K monitors which the nMP currently does with no problems. AMDs latest Windows drivers already have 5K MST support, but Apple hasn't incorporated it into OSX yet (nor do I think they've included the new AMD drivers in Bootcamp update yet).
     
  7. k-hawinkler thread starter macrumors member

    k-hawinkler

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2011
    #7
    Well, in that case the P2715Q seems to make more sense, no?
     
  8. larrysing1963 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2014
    #8
    Unless you are a very rich person running WINDOWS on your system, I would strongly advise against anyone buying the UP2715K for use on a mac.

    The P2715Q is about 1/3 the price and is completely compatible with the Mac operating systems.
     
  9. jenzjen, Feb 27, 2015
    Last edited: Mar 7, 2015

    jenzjen macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2010
    #9
    We have a few ... basically, only get this if you use Windows

    On OSX, it doesn't make sense yet since limited to 4k and no reason to buy a 5k display to get 4k. At 2560, 'retina' Dell is worse than a TBD. I have taken the glass off my TBD.

    Now, on Windows the display is super clear at 5k.

    First, DL the updated AMD boot camp driver - http://support.amd.com/en-us/download/desktop/bootcamp - I have 3 displays all working at 60hz in native resolutions - 2 UP2715K at 5k and 1 P2715Q at 4k in boot camp.

    Note, before I installed the new driver, I could only get 1 UP2715K to work and only in the bottom (horizontal) bus. If I connected more than 1, or used another TB bus, I was resolution limited or stuck with a non working display.
     
  10. barefeats macrumors 65816

    barefeats

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2000
    #10
    Dell 5K running at 5K on our 2010 Mac Pro

    Our 2010 Mac Pro tower is driving a Dell 5K display at 5120x2880 --- just like the iMac 5K. And when you set it to 2560x1440, it scales in 'retina' mode just like the iMac 5K.

    All you need is the latest NVIDIA web driver released today, some boot-args in nvram, and a GeForce GTX 980 connected to the Dell 5K display with the dual DisplayPort cables that come with the display. Oh yes, and you need at least one finger to power cycle the display. Read all about it:

    http://barefeats.com/mpt5k.html
     
  11. edanuff macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2008
    #11
    Just to clarify, this is an nMP and you're Bootcamped into Windows and you're driving 5K @ 60Hz by plugging both miniDp cables into the same TB bus (the bottom TB port pair)?
     
  12. jenzjen, Mar 1, 2015
    Last edited: Mar 7, 2015

    jenzjen macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2010
  13. edanuff macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2008
    #13
    That's very strange but potentially good news. It doesn't exactly conform to the generally assumed way nMP Thunderbolt busses work, so it opens the door to the idea that the nMP could drive multiple 5K displays at some point, assuming Apple ever releases a driver update to support the 5K MST these monitors use. For Windows, are you using the latest AMD Catalyst Omega drivers?
     
  14. jenzjen, Mar 2, 2015
    Last edited: Mar 7, 2015

    jenzjen macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2010
  15. edanuff macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2008
    #15
    I have no idea why only the bottom bus works, hence my comment that it doesn't conform to the way people think the bus works :)

    The Catalyst Omega drivers came out in December and they were supposed to introduce support for the new 5K MST monitors and my understanding is that they're not yet in Bootcamp, but I could be wrong about that.
     
  16. jenzjen, Mar 2, 2015
    Last edited: Mar 7, 2015

    jenzjen macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2010
  17. sirisy macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2015
    Location:
    Brazil
    #17
    anyone know if some 10.10.3 beta version added support for up2715k @ 5k 60hz ?
     
  18. MrJandali macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2013
    #18
    I´ve had the UP2715k perfectly working on 5k/60Hz in Bootcamp Windows with a second 1440p display on my nMP (2013) D700. But as soon as I plugged of the second display heavy graphical glitches appeared while moving windows - a driver issue. And yes, I am running the latest 14.12 Omega driver, which can be installed easily if you know how.

    Now it would be great to know if the 10.10.3 beta adds 5k support finally.... It´s time, really...
     
  19. GeJe macrumors newbie

    GeJe

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2006
    Location:
    Marseille, FRANCE
    #20
    Time has come, and yes, it works! :eek:
     
  20. sirisy macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2015
    Location:
    Brazil
    #21
  21. Dandu macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2009
    #22
    Can you post a screenshot ?
     
  22. GeJe macrumors newbie

    GeJe

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2006
    Location:
    Marseille, FRANCE
    #23
    Indeed. Just posted a reply there, thanks for reporting.

    ----------

    Feast your eyes.
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    (Of course I’m running in HiDPI, hence the reported selected resolution)
     
  23. Dandu macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2009
  24. jenzjen macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2010
    #25
    You don't have a P27 to test against, do you? Would it be possible for an OSX update to make the UP27 clearer in OSX?
     

Share This Page