Did OWC did a price drop on their ram?

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by kitki83, Apr 13, 2007.

  1. kitki83 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2004
    Location:
    Los Angeles
    #1
    I was reviewing the site at work and now looking at it again way late in the day saw the 1 gigx2 set for 300 now its 229. Maybe i was not paying attention but can someone confirm for me if this really dropped?

    Thank you
    RM
     
  2. macenforcer macrumors 65816

    macenforcer

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2004
    Location:
    Colorado
    #2
    I confirm your findings. I was looking at the 4gb 2 x 2gb sticks and it was $549 or something. Now $479. Going down fast.
     
  3. gr8tfly macrumors 603

    gr8tfly

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2006
    Location:
    ~119W 34N
    #3
    2GB SODIMM was $229 yesterday - now $219. I bought one two weeks ago when it hit $234 - but, I've enjoyed 3GB RAM for two whole weeks more... :rolleyes: At least, the trade-in for the 1GB module is still $50 (the check's in the mail - hopefully)
     
  4. nater. macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2006
    #4
    Yeah, I have noticed this too. Been waiting to pick up some more ram for my Mac Pro but the price has been so high...

    I always check this site like everyday and the prices just keep falling but I would trust OWC over most of these other dealers.

    http://dealnews.com/memory/

    Anyone ever use DMS or 18004MEMORY.com?
     
  5. mward333 macrumors 6502a

    mward333

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2004
    #5
    Ramjet dramatic price drop... wow!

    I prefer Ramjet RAM, and I almost fell off my seat yesterday.

    Yesterday morning (Thursday, Apr 12), the price of 16 GB (4 sticks of 4 GB each) was $4699, but the price dropped remarkably in the afternoon: The current price is $3995. Wow.... a decrease of $700 in one day. Amazing. At this price, I am going to jump on it.

    (I trust Ramjet. Many years ago, I had a piece of Ramjet RAM that didn't work after an Apple firmware upgrade. Although I had owned the RAM stick for over a year, they replaced it immediately, free express shipping, no questions asked. I recall that they are just a small, affordable company in Illinois... very easy to work with.)

    Just my two cents.......
     
  6. OldSkoolNJ macrumors 6502

    OldSkoolNJ

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2006
    #6
    Been happening in retail stores also. I saw PNY 1gb $75 instantly last week in a store.

    Kevin :apple:
     
  7. macenforcer macrumors 65816

    macenforcer

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2004
    Location:
    Colorado
    #7
    Are you completely nuts? OWC has 16gb for $1899.
     
  8. mward333 macrumors 6502a

    mward333

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2004
    #8
    Of course you can buy 16 GB of RAM using 8 sticks (2 GB per stick) for a less-expensive price.... you are absolutely right. If you only wanted 16 GB of RAM--using all 8 slots in your Mac Pro--then your method is perfect.

    So the OWC price you are quoting is for 2 GB sticks of RAM.

    I'm talking in my post about 4 GB sticks of RAM, so you can fit 16 GB into just 4 slots of your Mac Pro (which leaves the other 4 slots empty). In fact, you could buy 8 sticks of 4 GB RAM, for a total of 32 GB of RAM.

    I hope you see the difference here: I'm talking about the price of 4 GB sticks of RAM, which is obviously a more-expensive BUT more-compact way of instaling 16 GB of RAM. My method leaves 4 available slots and allows you to install 32 GB of RAM.

    (I don't think I'm crazy..... I hope that makes sense.)
     
  9. GAS macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2006
    #9
    but the mac pro can only take 16gb at the max, so why are you leaving the other 4 slots empty?
     
  10. Lone Deranger macrumors 65816

    Lone Deranger

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2006
    Location:
    London
    #10
    It's weird... on the ramjet website they claim the Mac Pro's maximum Ram allocation is 32GB. Yet all of Apple's own specs mention just 16GB. Has anyone managed to test 32GB inside a Mac Pro to see if it truly works??
     
  11. eMagine macrumors regular

    eMagine

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2006
    Location:
    Los Angeles, CA
    #11

    the mac pro will not take more than 16gb of memory. but i cannot confirm whether if it will take 4gb memory modules or not.
     
  12. mward333 macrumors 6502a

    mward333

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2004
    #12
    Actually, Apple always states their "Tech Specs" according to the maximum RAM configuration that they sell (in this case, 16 GB)...... HOWEVER, We have reasons to believe that 32 GB should actually be possible, and that's why I plan to buy 8 sticks of 4 GB each. I do NOT intend to leave any slots empty.

    I am still waiting for confirmation from a colleague on the Apple campus to confirm that 32 GB can be addressed and used from a Mac Pro. I do NOT have a confirmation yet, but we have reasons to believe it should work. For instance, 32 GB can be used and addressed by the Xserve.
     
  13. mward333 macrumors 6502a

    mward333

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2004
    #13
    I'm waiting for a colleague on the Apple campus to perform this very test for me. I do not have a confirmation from him yet, but I'm waiting to hear.
     
  14. Cromulent macrumors 603

    Cromulent

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2006
    Location:
    The Land of Hope and Glory
    #14
    As far as I am aware there is nothing stopping you from using more than 16GBs of RAM in the Mac Pro. The only reason that it is not in the tech specs is because at the time of the machines release they were not available (or at least not available in sufficient quantities to make it worth while listing).
     
  15. excalibur313 macrumors 6502a

    excalibur313

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2003
    Location:
    Cambridge, MA
    #15
    If it didn't work it certainly wouldn't be due to the operating system. I was reading ths other day that os x can theoretically address over 100 gigs of ram. Do you think it might be a motherboard thing?
     
  16. Lone Deranger macrumors 65816

    Lone Deranger

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2006
    Location:
    London
    #16
    Okay... wanting to know whether or not the Mac Pro's could support more than 16GB of Ram, I decided to e-mail Ramjet.com. This is their reply:

    "Lone Deranger,
    The memory controller is the Mac Pro is actually able to address far more than 32GB, but the limitation is the size of the FB-DIMMs that are able to be made. The 4Gig FB-DIMM is a brand new product, and it the kit works perfectly in all models of the Mac Pro, including that new 8-core model that we just received last Friday. Here is a screenshot showing the full 32Gigs running"


    WOW... how cool is that! :eek:
     

    Attached Files:

    • 32GB.jpg
      32GB.jpg
      File size:
      153.7 KB
      Views:
      99
  17. mward333 macrumors 6502a

    mward333

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2004
    #17
    That's how my new Mac Pro is going to look! It will also have 32 GB of RAM! Man, I'm excited!!
     

Share This Page