Disk Almost Full Error

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by steviebuzz, Dec 24, 2016.

  1. steviebuzz macrumors member

    Joined:
    May 22, 2010
    Location:
    Glasgow
    #1
    I have a brand new MacBook Pro with Mac OS 10.12.2. Every so often I get a "Disk almost full" error,. When I check I still have almost 400GB out of 500GB available. Anyone else having a similar problem?

    Stevie
     
  2. Weaselboy Moderator

    Weaselboy

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2005
    Location:
    California
    #2
    Run the command below in Terminal then post the results. This will show us all the base folders and their size in GB, including system and hidden folders.

    Code:
    sudo du -d 1 -x -c -g /
    Give it a minute or so to complete.
     
  3. happyslayer macrumors 6502a

    happyslayer

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2008
    Location:
    Glendale, AZ
    #3
    Just checking, but is it at all possible you have and external USB drive plugged in or (if it is 2015 or older) an SD card plugged in? Could they be full? Otherwise, kind of strange.

    On a side note, thanks, Wesselboy for that terminal command. A useful tool to have for the future.
     
  4. steviebuzz thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    May 22, 2010
    Location:
    Glasgow
    #4
    Thanks for the replies.

    I've run the command, Weaselboy, and the results are:

    119 /

    119 total

    I didn't have any external USB devices plugged in each time the message appeared, happyslayer. The machine is a 2016 model.

    Cheers

    Stevie
     
  5. DeltaMac macrumors G3

    DeltaMac

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2003
    Location:
    Delaware
    #5
    I think Weaselboy would want you to post the complete list of the results from that command, not just the last two lines.
    What else was in the results list? It should show every folder's total size, including hidden folders.
     
  6. steviebuzz thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    May 22, 2010
    Location:
    Glasgow
    #6
    Hi DeltaMac,

    That was the total output from the command.

    Cheers

    Stevie
     
  7. DeltaMac macrumors G3

    DeltaMac

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2003
    Location:
    Delaware
    #7
    Ah, OK.
    It's easy to mis-type those terminal commands :D
    There is a number 1 in the middle of that command. If you type the letter l (el) instead, you get the result that you saw, and not the correct multiple folder result.
    Try a copy-n-paste of that command.
     
  8. Weaselboy Moderator

    Weaselboy

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2005
    Location:
    California
    #8
    It should look something like this. I think maybe the entire results scrolled by and you missed it with your copy/paste.

    Edit: Ninja'd... I think DM hit on the issue. :)

    Code:
    1    /.DocumentRevisions-V100
    1    /.fseventsd
    0    /.PKInstallSandboxManager
    0    /.PKInstallSandboxManager-SystemSoftware
    1    /.Spotlight-V100
    0    /.vol
    7    /Applications
    1    /bin
    0    /cores
    1    /dev
    1    /home
    8    /Library
    1    /net
    0    /Network
    4    /private
    1    /sbin
    9    /System
    33    /Users
    1    /usr
    1    /Volumes
    59    /
    59    total
     
  9. steviebuzz thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    May 22, 2010
    Location:
    Glasgow
    #9
    Ah, thanks, DeltaMac, that's exactly what happened. I've run the command (properly this time) and the results are:

    Code:
    1    /.DocumentRevisions-V100
    
    1    /.fseventsd
    
    3    /.MobileBackups
    
    0    /.PKInstallSandboxManager
    
    0    /.PKInstallSandboxManager-SystemSoftware
    
    1    /.Spotlight-V100
    
    0    /.vol
    
    25    /Applications
    
    1    /bin
    
    0    /cores
    
    1    /dev
    
    1    /home
    
    29    /Library
    
    1    /net
    
    0    /Network
    
    1    /opt
    
    6    /private
    
    1    /sbin
    
    6    /System
    
    80    /Users
    
    2    /usr
    
    1    /Volumes
    
    149    /
    
    149    total
    
     
  10. maflynn Moderator

    maflynn

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2009
    Location:
    Boston
    #10
    So the listing backs up your original post, you're not really consuming that much space. Odd that you're getting this error.

    Do you have any other drives attached to your computer? Does this occur with a specific app?
     
  11. Weaselboy Moderator

    Weaselboy

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2005
    Location:
    California
    #11
    Yep... nothing wrong there.

    OP> Do you think maybe this is a web popup you are getting disguised to look like a real message? Can you grab a screenshot of it (shift-command-4) next time it happens and post it here.
     
  12. maflynn Moderator

    maflynn

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2009
    Location:
    Boston
    #12
    Yeah something like this could be occurring.
    Capto_Capture 2016-12-27_08-33-46_AM.png
     
  13. ivanwi11iams Contributor

    ivanwi11iams

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2014
    Location:
    Kennesaw, GA
    #13
    I'm curious to know what is causing this, too...
     
  14. steviebuzz thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    May 22, 2010
    Location:
    Glasgow
    #14
    Thanks very much all. I haven't seen the error in the past couple of days (but admittedly I haven't had much time on my Mac); I'll grab a screenshot if/when it happens again. It did look like a genuine Mac OS message and not like a web popup.

    Cheers

    Stevie
     
  15. BaggieBoy macrumors 6502

    BaggieBoy

    Joined:
    May 29, 2012
    Location:
    UK
    #15
    I've seen it too intermittently, hadn't seen it for several weeks but it popped up again a few days ago. I have around 740GB free (out of 960GB).
     
  16. MarkBearSF macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2011
    #16
    Same here. Here's my output from the command (DIsk has 633.77 GB free of 999.33 GB - No other attached drives)

    1 /(null)

    1 /.DocumentRevisions-V100

    1 /.fseventsd

    5 /.MobileBackups

    0 /.PKInstallSandboxManager

    0 /.PKInstallSandboxManager-SystemSoftware

    2 /.Spotlight-V100

    0 /.Trashes

    0 /.vol

    16 /Applications

    1 /bin

    0 /cores

    1 /dev

    1 /home

    1 /IDriveLocal

    6 /Library

    1 /net

    0 /Network

    6 /private

    1 /sbin

    9 /System

    321 /Users

    1 /usr

    1 /Volumes

    363 /

    363 total
     
  17. DeltaMac macrumors G3

    DeltaMac

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2003
    Location:
    Delaware
    #17

    Have you tried a disk first aid repair in your Disk Utility?
    Boot to your recovery system (Restart, holding Command-R. Run Disk Utility from the menu. Choose the drive, then run First Aid)
    If that does not pass the first time, run it again.
    If there are no errors, and the test reports no problems, restart to your normal system.
     

Share This Page