Do you use a virus protection program?

Discussion in 'Buying Tips and Advice' started by swmr, Feb 8, 2008.

?

Do you use a virus protection program?

  1. No, I never have.

    156 vote(s)
    69.0%
  2. Yes, because it was free. (College given software goes here)

    11 vote(s)
    4.9%
  3. Yes, I always have just in case.

    13 vote(s)
    5.8%
  4. Yes, I do now but I did not used to.

    2 vote(s)
    0.9%
  5. No, I used to but I do not anymore

    40 vote(s)
    17.7%
  6. Other (please go into detail if this is the case)

    4 vote(s)
    1.8%
  1. swmr macrumors regular

    swmr

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2008
    Location:
    Penn State
    #1
    Just a quick question with a poll if I can set it up.

    Do you use a virus protection program? I have heard that it is a waste of money, I have heard that it cannot hurt to have it, and I have heard that people use it simply because it was given to them for free.

    Please vote and include a detailed reason if you wish. I want to know if I should include the price of this software into my budget. (It will most likely be Norton since that is what I have always used on my PC's, with no viruses to security risks to date.)
     
  2. killmoms macrumors 68040

    killmoms

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2003
    Location:
    Washington, DC
    #2
    Nope. I've owned Macs as my primary systems for 4 and a half years, and have never once owned a virus scanner.
     
  3. rdowns macrumors Penryn

    rdowns

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2003
    #3
    Nothing to worry about on Macs with viruses. Don't bother with one.
     
  4. Fuzzy14 macrumors 65816

    Fuzzy14

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2006
    Location:
    Renfrew, Scotland
    #4
    You should use one on your Dell Dimension.
    You don't need one for your iPod.
     
  5. marykay9507 macrumors 6502a

    marykay9507

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2008
    #5
    when i had a pc i used one...but since i have had macs, i never have-- no need to
     
  6. swmr thread starter macrumors regular

    swmr

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2008
    Location:
    Penn State
    #6
    Haha I do use Norton on my Dell (though I never had a problem) but not on my iPod. I guess I forgot to include that I am talking about a MBP that I will be buying after the update.
     
  7. risc macrumors 68030

    risc

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2004
    Location:
    Melbourne, Australia
    #7
    On my Vista Media Center box (NOD32) and my 2 Vista notebooks (Kaspersky) I do. On the 2 Macs here I don't.
     
  8. elmo151 Guest

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2007
    Location:
    NYC
  9. rjflyn macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2007
    #9
    On my macs pretty much nothing, on my PC's any thing but Norton or McAfee they have turned into viruses them selves- make the machines runs so slow.

    rj
     
  10. bericd macrumors member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2005
    Location:
    Bay Area, California
    #10
    Not to ask a stupid question....

    ... but what do mac virus scanners look for?

    If there are no known viruses for the mac, then what fingerprints do the scanners look for?

    I know there are trojans out there - is this what they are after?
     
  11. mojopixel macrumors 6502

    mojopixel

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2007
    Location:
    Somewhere in Time
  12. Hankster macrumors 68020

    Hankster

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2008
    Location:
    Washington DC
    #12
    Macs don't need virus protection! That's why they're Macs!
     
  13. zirkle2007 macrumors 6502

    zirkle2007

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2007
    Location:
    Indiana, USA
    #13
    From what I understand, there are viruses and such, at least it is possible to create them, unlike some will say. Its just that due to the small market share Apple currently has with its OS, most people who make viruses don't find it worth the time.
     
  14. skunk macrumors G4

    skunk

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2002
    Location:
    Republic of Ukistan
  15. CalBoy macrumors 604

    CalBoy

    Joined:
    May 21, 2007
    #15
    The problem with this o/c is that there has not been a successful virus on OS X in the "wild" (by which I mean not for the sake of security testing or experimentation). What exactly would a virus scanner look for on OS X?

    And it's been proven many times that the market share myth isn't true (the two OSs are fundamentally different). Market share might be a contributing factor, but it is not the only factor.
     
  16. Osarkon macrumors 68020

    Osarkon

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2006
    Location:
    Wales
    #16
    Don't they look for Windows viruses? I'm sure that was the case.

    To the OP, Norton for OS X is reputed to cause all sorts of odd little quirks and problems. I've never used a virus scanner on my mac; every Windows machine in the house is now running Avast! as AVG just doesn't cut it anymore.
     
  17. iDAG macrumors 65816

    iDAG

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2007
    Location:
    Athens, Ohio
    #17
    I remember when I used a PC for the first time in seventh grade I asked that question :) because I used Macs my whole life. With a Mac there is no need for protection. :cool:
     
  18. MacAficionado macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2002
    Location:
    An awesome place
    #18
    I must say

    I have never used Anti Virus in my Mac aside from trying some free AV software that I can't remember the name of(Sophos I think), but, If there was something available free that was as good and unobtrusive as AVG Antivirus for Mac, I would definitely install it. Just to be safe and to make sure I don't send something to the people that still have Windows machines, including my daughters Windows gaming box.
     
  19. kabunaru Guest

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2008
    #19
    No, I haven't and I don't plan to unless it's absolutely necessary.
     
  20. miniConvert macrumors 68040

    miniConvert

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2006
    Location:
    Kent, UK - the 'Garden of England'.
    #20
    No.

    I probably should for Office files, but everything leaving the company is PDF anyway.

    I hope it's always this way. All AV scanners do is line the pockets of incompetent vendors like McAFee and Symantec while bringing systems to a crawl. Talk about bloatware.

    I <3 :apple:

    I'm a bit drunk.
     
  21. dukeblue91 macrumors 65816

    dukeblue91

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2004
    Location:
    Raleigh, NC
    #21
    Nope no virus scanner on my Mac's it's just not needed at this point.
     
  22. swmr thread starter macrumors regular

    swmr

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2008
    Location:
    Penn State
    #22
    That is very true. My dad buys the software though. His dell came with Norton AV four years ago, and he has always bought the renewal for 2-3 PCs to cover the house. The first version I ever used was nice, but when I upgraded two years ago, it did slow down significantly on the first day after installation. The problem is that is that I don't have the money to buy my own software, and Norton has indeed kept me virus free.
     
  23. eXan macrumors 601

    eXan

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2005
    Location:
    Russia
    #23
    We had Virex installed on our family eMac back when .Mac was relatively new, but after a while it dissappeared (I dont really remember who/what removed it). Never since I had AV on a Mac.

    Why pay for AV that even slows down your computer when there are no viruses? :confused:
     
  24. cohibadad macrumors 6502a

    cohibadad

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2007
    #24
    Virus protection on a mac is a complete waste of time IMO.
     
  25. gnasher729 macrumors P6

    gnasher729

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2005
    #25
    I would never, ever use a virus protection program. If there were viruses on the Macintosh, I might use a program that removes viruses. But virus protection? Who would want to protect the nasty buggers :eek: ?
     

Share This Page