Do you use SSD's now or plan to buy?

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by VirtualRain, Aug 25, 2010.

?

Do you use SSD's now or plan to buy?

  1. I currently have multiple SSD's

    21 vote(s)
    21.0%
  2. I have one SSD and will likely buy more in the future

    21 vote(s)
    21.0%
  3. I have one SSD and that's enough

    8 vote(s)
    8.0%
  4. I don't own any SSD but plan to buy one soon

    20 vote(s)
    20.0%
  5. I don't own any but may buy one in the next 6-12 months

    24 vote(s)
    24.0%
  6. I don't foresee purchasing an SSD at this point

    6 vote(s)
    6.0%
  1. VirtualRain macrumors 603

    VirtualRain

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2008
    Location:
    Vancouver, BC
    #1
    Where are you at? (BTW, If you are planning to put one or more SSD's in your new 2010 MP as soon as it arrives, answer as currently have multiple or I have one)

    Incidentally, here's the results from the same poll last year...

    http://forums.macrumors.com/showthread.php?t=751354
     
  2. Ozric macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2004
    Location:
    NJ
    #2
    Just installed an OWC 240GB as startup on a Mac Pro 2 X 3.0 Ghz Dual Core this morning. My first SSD and I'm blown away. May rethink new Mac Pro to less cores or processor speed.
     
  3. Cynicalone macrumors 68040

    Cynicalone

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2008
    Location:
    Okie land
    #3
    I have one in my 09 Mac Pro now (Intel 160GB G2).

    if Intel releases the G3's in the next few months I would consider an upgrade to the 300 or 600GB model.
     
  4. philipma1957 macrumors 603

    philipma1957

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2010
    Location:
    Howell, New Jersey
    #4
    I have a pair of 200gb patriot inferno ssds. going to put them in my first mac pro. Going to buy a 2010 base model.
     
  5. Honumaui macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2008
    #6
    mac 3,1
    both SSSd are OWC 100 gig RE models

    one is for boot one is for LR cache

    going to buy 3 of the 40 gig OWC also and move one of the 100 gig to the wifes machine she will get one 40 for cache I will use two 40s in raid 0 for cache
     
  6. Spanky Deluxe macrumors 601

    Spanky Deluxe

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2005
    Location:
    London, UK
    #7
    I currently have one SSD (256GB M225 Crucial). If the prices drop with Intel's G3 release then I may consider buying another of a similar size to either replace this one or go into my MacBook Pro.
     
  7. alphaod macrumors Core

    alphaod

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2008
    Location:
    NYC
    #8
    I have one on each of my my laptops and when prices come down a bit more I will buy a few for my desktop.
     
  8. Icaras macrumors 603

    Icaras

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2008
    Location:
    California, United States
    #9
    Whenever Intel G3 hits, I'll be buying 3, while keeping a WD caviar black mechanical.
     
  9. strausd macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2008
    Location:
    Texas
    #10
    OWC SSD in empty optical bay as boot drive and I'm lovin it!
     
  10. alphaod macrumors Core

    alphaod

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2008
    Location:
    NYC
    #11
    It seems like everyone has one of these. Makes me want to get one to taste the fun.
     
  11. lordonuthin macrumors 6502

    lordonuthin

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2007
    Location:
    Iowa
    #12
    I have 3 cheap 40 gig ssd's HANGING :p from the connectors in my 2009 MP running in software raid 0 and they are quite fast.
     
  12. reel2reel macrumors 6502a

    reel2reel

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2009
    #13
    Exactly my plan. I've got a 120GB OWC coming in the mail. It's going in the lower optical bay. And I plan on lovin' it!
     
  13. dockingbay94 macrumors regular

    dockingbay94

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2010
    #14
    Same. Mac Pro starts up in 15 seconds flat from the chime. Unreal.
     
  14. reel2reel macrumors 6502a

    reel2reel

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2009
    #15
    Did you move your Home folder off the SSD?
     
  15. now i see it macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2002
    #16
    For anyone who has doubts about an SSD, Don't. Using an SSD as your boot and App drive is a fundamental change in the way your computer will work for you. If you have never experienced one before, it will blow you away. After using one for 10 minutes, I knew I would NEVER go back to a mechanical HD ever again for my boot drive. They really are that great (I'm using an OWC 100GB) Everything just SNAPs open, and the computer is freaky fun to use.
     
  16. johnnymg macrumors 65816

    johnnymg

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2008
    #17
    I wouldn't own a computer without at least one SSD in it. See sig ~~~~~~ :p
     
  17. Ryan P macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2010
    #18
    Have OWC 120GB in Optical in MBP. Thinking of getting 2 for my Mac Pro 1 for OSX, 1 for Windows 7.....but I change my plans on a daily basis
     
  18. StofUnited macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2010
    #19
    3 Questions . . .

    Lord' - how do you have this setup? Are you taking up 3 of the 4 HDD Sleds for your SSDs?

    Does anyone know if there is a way to put 2 SSDs in one of the 4 HDD sleds and still be able to use the other 3 for HDDs? (while also using the extra optical bay for a boot SSD)?

    Also - is it possible to use the SSDs as a scratch disc for FCP?
    *** Just saw a nanofrog post that goes into detail on this so no need to respond to this one if you agree with his stuff ***
     
  19. MFDoom macrumors member

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2009
    #20
    What is a good sized SSD boot drive? Assuming your data lives on another hard drive?
     
  20. alphaod macrumors Core

    alphaod

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2008
    Location:
    NYC
    #21
    120GB should be sufficient.
     
  21. lordonuthin macrumors 6502

    lordonuthin

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2007
    Location:
    Iowa
    #22
    Yes and they are just hanging, the sleds don't do any good :eek: I suppose I could use some tape or zip ties to hold em.

    Not that I know of.
     
  22. Spanky Deluxe macrumors 601

    Spanky Deluxe

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2005
    Location:
    London, UK
    #23
    Yes, you can - just not in a 2009 or newer Mac Pro: http://www.transintl.com/store/category.cfm?Category=2746&RequestTimeOut=500

    That is dangerous. The connectors alone are not designed for that kind of mechanical stress. If you've spent a fortune on a Mac Pro and SSD drives, then surely you can spend a few bucks on a few drive size adapters?!!

    http://www.transintl.com/store/category.cfm?category=2787
     
  23. Eidorian macrumors Penryn

    Eidorian

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Location:
    Indianapolis
    #24
    I'm interested in Intel's coming next generation of drives.
     
  24. Cocoia macrumors member

    Cocoia

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2010
    #25
    I got an OCZ Vertex II 120GB in drive bay two and also, yes, loving it.
     

Share This Page