Does the base Mac Mini i5 have the turbo boost feature?

Discussion in 'Mac mini' started by Dixi1801, Sep 29, 2012.

  1. Dixi1801 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2012
    Location:
    South Yorkshire, England.
    #1
    I'm reading on the apple website that Turbo Boost 2.0 can clock a processor "up to 3.4ghz" and I'm wondering whether the base mini can do this? Will be good to know as I get my Mac in around a month or so!

    Thanks in advanced!
     
  2. Mr. Retrofire macrumors 601

    Mr. Retrofire

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2010
    Location:
    www.emiliana.cl/en
    #2
  3. Dixi1801 thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2012
    Location:
    South Yorkshire, England.
    #3
  4. Ice Dragon macrumors 6502a

    Ice Dragon

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2009
    #4
    I thought the base 2011 mini had the 2410M which could handle 16 GB of RAM as opposed to the 2415M which says it can handle only 8 GB (probably a typo on Intel's site).
     
  5. Mr. Retrofire macrumors 601

    Mr. Retrofire

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2010
    Location:
    www.emiliana.cl/en
    #5
    Everymac says this Mac supports 16 GB RAM.
     
  6. philipma1957 macrumors 603

    philipma1957

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2010
    Location:
    Howell, New Jersey
    #6
    All sandy bridge minis (ie 2011 models) can do 16gb and with the correct ram they can do 1600 and 1866 speeds. Plenty of test results on this site .
     
  7. Dixi1801 thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2012
    Location:
    South Yorkshire, England.
    #7
    Thanks for that! I've been on crucial.com having a look and 16gb 1600 speed RAM for £50... pretty cheap!
     
  8. nevesis macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2007
    #8
    Just ordered this last week. Should be here tomorrow, can't wait to see how it performs in my 2.3ghz i5 mini!
     
  9. Dixi1801 thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2012
    Location:
    South Yorkshire, England.
    #9
    Deffo keep this thread posted man, i wanna know how it performs too :D

    Also, could i be a pain and ask you to fire up a game (if you have any) and see how that runs settings/fps wise?

    Thanks if so, and if not... Thanks anyway :)
     
  10. Zilkir macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2012
    #10
    Not sure if this helps, but I have a i5 2.5ghz with the dedicated graphics and 16g RAM. I can run WoW on Fair settings and get about 25-30fps in cities and the world at large. I haven't checked the fps in any instances yet, but didn't have any problems when I ran a few.
     
  11. nevesis macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2007
    #11
    Update: Just got the 16GB ram from Crucial and installed yesterday. The machine now FLIES. Its a completely different machine from the stock 2GB that it came with. Wow, what a difference.

    Definitely worth the $79.99 from Crucial.com!
     
  12. Dixi1801 thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2012
    Location:
    South Yorkshire, England.
    #12
    Thanks a lot, I've been checking the thread every few hours to see if you'd wrote in here!

    Glad to year It's better!

    Have you fired up any games? I'm curious to see how the 512mb of video RAM performs!

    Thanks again. I'll be purchasing that ram!
     

Share This Page