Does upgrading to macOS mojave break development environments?

Discussion in 'macOS Mojave (10.14)' started by aznboi91, Sep 22, 2018.

?

Does upgrading to macOS mojave break development environments?

  1. YES

    17.6%
  2. NO

    82.4%
Multiple votes are allowed.
  1. aznboi91 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2012
    #1
    Does upgrading to macOS mojave break development environments?
     
  2. MightyMN macrumors newbie

    MightyMN

    Joined:
    May 25, 2009
    #2
    Xcode is miraculously running on my late 2008 MBP in Mojave and I'm able to deploy to my iPhone XS!

    The only issue I've seen thus far is the iPhone XS Max simulator does not seem to work, however I suspect this is either a general issue or due to limited RAM/GPU/old hardware (I've only got 8GB RAM).
     
  3. BookEmDanno macrumors 6502

    BookEmDanno

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2010
    Location:
    State of ~Aloha!~
    #3
    My experience in Mojave ~ no issues (so far). My development tools and environment include Xcode 10 and Homebrew formulae among others.
     
  4. DaniloGeekDude macrumors 6502

    DaniloGeekDude

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2018
    #4
    I use Xcode 10 as well. No problems.
     
  5. kemo macrumors 6502a

    kemo

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2008
    Location:
    ProtonVPN
    #5
    I got nginx, brew, mysql and node installed on my machine, hopefully all will work after upgade, if not, I'll probably do a clean install and manually get all the stuff up and running then.
     
  6. nudoru macrumors regular

    nudoru

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2012
    Location:
    Near Charlotte NC
    #6
    My work flow of NPM, Node and Docker for web dev is still working just fine after I upgraded to the last public beta of Mojave.
     
  7. cnyyk macrumors newbie

    cnyyk

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2018
    Location:
    Chengdu, Sichuan, China
    #7
    Last night finished the installation of Mojave.
    Everything works fine.
    brew / node / yarn / npm / phpstorm.
     
  8. TokMok3 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2015
    #8
    I can confirm that Xcode running a simulator with safari running at the same time eats more than 8GB of ram, some how the system manages to keep running.
     
  9. BookEmDanno macrumors 6502

    BookEmDanno

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2010
    Location:
    State of ~Aloha!~
    #9
    Xcode 10.1 beta is now available. Anyone able to download it yet? And if so, any issues? ~Mahalo!~
     
  10. BookEmDanno macrumors 6502

    BookEmDanno

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2010
    Location:
    State of ~Aloha!~
    #10
    Update: I was able to download and install Xcode 10.1 beta.
    Screen Shot 2018-09-30 at 11.14.22 PM.png
    FYI
     

Share This Page

9 September 22, 2018