Double Space Bar

Discussion in 'iPhone' started by kiantech, Dec 17, 2010.

?

Catch yourself double tapping space bar

  1. Have done it.

    20 vote(s)
    33.9%
  2. Thought about it, but never did it.

    8 vote(s)
    13.6%
  3. Nope, never have.

    31 vote(s)
    52.5%
  1. kiantech macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2007
    #1
    Most people know when you double tap the space bar on iOS keyboards you will get a write a period and get a space. Do you ever catch yourself (even thinking about it) double tapping the space bar on your desktop computer? I have :).
     
  2. ringgit macrumors member

    ringgit

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2010
  3. steste macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2010
    #3
    Microsoft Office has had the double space converted to a ". " for years.
     
  4. gr8tfly macrumors 603

    gr8tfly

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2006
    Location:
    ~119W 34N
    #4
    Very seldom, since I had to relearn touch typing (as far as spaces were concerned) when proportional spacing came along in printers (daisy-wheel, then laser). With mono-spaced fonts, the standard spacing between sentences was two spaces. When the newer printers and fonts came into common use, I had to unlearn that habit and go back to one.

    I have to admit, it's a bit more convenient to use the iPad/iPhone short cut, and use the two spaces. Though, less so on the iPad.
     
  5. wordoflife macrumors 604

    wordoflife

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2009
    #5
    Nope. I never double space on my keyboard my accident.
    I do it on purpose all the time on my phone though. I figured out with also works on Blackberry's too. :D
     
  6. someone28624 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2007
    Location:
    Buffalo
    #6
    I just did it for the first time ever about 4 minutes ago.
     
  7. JASApplications macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2010
    Location:
    Scarborough, United Kingdom
  8. adztaylor macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2009
    Location:
    Preston, UK
    #8
    I use it all the time, and I know I'm doing it.
     
  9. mstrze macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009
    #9
    Believe it or not...this is the first time I am learning about double-spacing giving a period in iOS. :eek:
     
  10. Chunkycat macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2010
    #10
    I use it all the time on my iPhone, but on my laptop - never.
     
  11. h1r0ll3r macrumors 68040

    h1r0ll3r

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Location:
    Maryland
    #11
    nopeneverhaveclearlyonemustlearnthattypingonaniphone4isalittledifferentthantypingonacomputer/laptopAsaresultI'veneverhadanissuewhereIdoubletappedthespacebaronmylaptoplikeidoonmyiphone
     
  12. Cod3rror macrumors 68000

    Cod3rror

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2010
    #12
    This is the first time I even read about double space bar,

    Thanks for the tip!

    This is what makes Apple so brilliant, little subtle features.
     
  13. martiansoldier macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2010
    #13
    I wonder why people never read the user guides?!
     
  14. rikbrown macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2010
    #14
    Me too :)

    I thought Apple products were meant to just work ;)
     
  15. DirtySocks85 macrumors 65816

    DirtySocks85

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2009
    Location:
    Wichita, KS
    #15
    No, and I actually rarely remember to use that feature on iOS. I'm sure it would save some time or effort, but it's just one of those shortcuts I haven't trained myself to use, despite having had various iOS devices for over 2 years.
     
  16. Cod3rror macrumors 68000

    Cod3rror

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2010
    #16
    User waza?














    I don't own an iPhone :(
     

Share This Page