Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

rajivvishwa

macrumors newbie
Original poster
May 26, 2010
Bellevue, WA, USA
I'm pretty new to mac and a pro windows user. It's not been a month since I bought my first mac and now I'm feeling so comfortable with it.

I have a basic question on how to select a few files, drag and drop it into a new folder in the same folder level

For example, In windows I do this
1. Select few files in C:\Temp
2. Cut those
3. Create a new folder and rename it C:\Temp\NewTemp
4. Right click the folder and Paste it.

This is what I do in Mac now
1. Choose the files to be moved into a new folder (When I'm about to drag it, I remember that I've not created the new folder! Grr..)
2. Create a new folder and all my selection is gone
3. Now reselect all the files again and drop it to the new folder (Phew!)

Am I missing the cut feature in finder??? I know that 'Cut' is not much required in mac since everything works on DragNDrop.

I'm not sure whether there is any workaround for people like me who are used to selecting the files before creating a target folder. I'm sure that there should be something which can help me create a folder onthefly while dragging the files and keeping the selection intact.

P.S. I apologize if the question sounds too stupid or irrelevant

catfish743

macrumors 6502
Sep 12, 2007
Kentucky
I'm pretty new to mac and a pro windows user. It's not been a month since I bought my first mac and now I'm feeling so comfortable with it.

I have a basic question on how to select a few files, drag and drop it into a new folder in the same folder level

For example, In windows I do this
1. Select few files in C:\Temp
2. Cut those
3. Create a new folder and rename it C:\Temp\NewTemp
4. Right click the folder and Paste it.

This is what I do in Mac now