dumbest question ever asked: close a window in os-x?

Discussion in 'Mac Basics and Help' started by maximus06, Nov 20, 2007.

1. maximus06 macrumors regular

I am ashamed to ask this, but then again I am a total newb. How do I close a window without going to the dock icon and right-clicking "quit"?

The "x" button in windows only hides it/minimizes it to the dock. What the hell? Am i missing something here?

2. adrianblaine macrumors 65816

adrianblaine

3. lamina macrumors 68000

lamina

Click the red button (leftmost) in the top left-hand corner of the window.

That will close the window, but not quit the program.

You can also press :apple:-W

4. maximus06 thread starter macrumors regular

Ugh...people I want to close the program with one click of the mouse. You're saying you can't do that in os-x? WHAT?! That is terribly useful/convenient...why would they made it hide the window? Thats what minimize is for.

5. dL. macrumors 6502

X is to close the window, not the program. At first I found that to be pretty dumb, but why do you need to close the program? Next time you need to use the program it'll open instantly because it's already been opened. OS X is still just as fast as smooth because it has great memory management. You won't notice a decrease in performance just because that program is still left open.

dL

6. Aranince macrumors 65816

Cmd-Q closes the entire application...the red button closes the window.

7. adrianblaine macrumors 65816

adrianblaine

It may be possible, but I don't know of anyway to do it with just one mouse click. I'm a keyboard shortcut kind of guy though, so I always use them over mouse clicking...

How crucial is it to close a program (and in one less mouse click)? Is it slowing your computer down?

EDIT: also you can cmd+tab through programs and cmd+q quit programs from there as well. You can shut down 15 applications in just a few seconds doing this.

8. ~David macrumors regular

~David