EFI Rom for Radeon HD4890

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by netkas, Jul 22, 2009.

  1. netkas macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2007
    #1
    4890 and 4870 so similar so 4890 didnt even need special driver in osx, it was using 4870's drivers

    so plan is to merge efi part of 4870 rom into 4890 rom

    problems:

    1) we dont know if there any checks for device-id in code of efi rom

    2) bios rom of 4890 is slightly larger than 4870's , so need to relocate MCuC section to fit efi rom

    here is two roms for test, pc part is from msi 4890, since most 4890 is amd's design, the rom should work on other cards too


    in first rom I changed matching in efi part and tried to relocate MCuC section

    to second rom I also added small patch of efi code.

    need to test both with macpro, and if possible with pc (to know if relocation of MCuC section done right)

    make sure you made backup of your rom and have a way to flash it if smth goes wrong

    good luck testing!
     

    Attached Files:

    • roms.zip
      File size:
      190.7 KB
      Views:
      681
  2. zepharus macrumors 6502a

    zepharus

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2007
    #2
    I have a XFX 4890 that is working. I edited the bios to bump clocks to 1000/1050 using ABE.

    I would simply reflash the card and try your Roms correct? If so Im game..
     
  3. netkas thread starter macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2007
    #3
    yes

    but make sure u have a way to flash backed up rom.
     
  4. tezro macrumors regular

    tezro

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2007
    #4
    I don't mind trying it out on the Sapphire 4890 (normal model, non-overclockes, non-toxic or vapor x) when it arrives tomorrow.

    One thing I do need is the software to flash/backup with, or is that included in your zip file?

    Due to the adjusting you did, what are the changes we can expect from your modified ROM compared to a original 4890 ROM? Speed, features, etc.

    Update: found a good help page to follow. http://web.me.com/jacobcroft/4870Flash/4870Flash.html
     
  5. zepharus macrumors 6502a

    zepharus

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2007
    #5
    I use this in combination with GPU-Z to pull the bios off the card.. I then ust ATI WINFLASH to flash it.

    http://www.techpowerup.com/rbe/
     
  6. zepharus macrumors 6502a

    zepharus

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2007
    #6
    Again just to be clear if this flash works, I will get the grey boot screen for bootcamp again? Even if I have the injector software installed?

    Im going to attempt this tonight...
     
  7. netkas thread starter macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2007
    #7
    yeah


    tezro, no features, i tried to create hybrid rom for 4890

    if anyone can test this rom(any of two) on pc (not hackintosh, just booting system), that would be appricated
     
  8. tezro macrumors regular

    tezro

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2007
    #8
    Alright, basic framebuffer then :)

    I don't have a normal PC anymore with PCI-E so I could only check for Windows (once it's installed again in Bootcamp. I screwed something up...)

    The new card is arriving hopefully tomorrow, otherwise on friday.
     
  9. zepharus macrumors 6502a

    zepharus

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2007
    #9
    Ill be checking on both in about 20 min... cross your fingers



    EDIT : I just attempted to flash in a windows environment both ROMs files to my 4890 using ATIWinflash I receieved an error on both

    SubsystemIDs Mismatch


    Please advise
     
  10. netkas thread starter macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2007
    #10
    http://netkas.org/?p=90

    step 3
     
  11. MacVidCards Suspended

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2008
    Location:
    Hollywood, CA
    #11
    We Have Liftoff !!!

    ROM #2 booted to Grey Screen !!!

    Working Now !!!

    Netkas rocks !!!

    (I was supposed to test yesterday but got busy with actual job type work)

    My apologies

    We have a new ROM !!!
     

    Attached Files:

    • 1.jpg
      1.jpg
      File size:
      155.9 KB
      Views:
      139
    • 2.jpg
      2.jpg
      File size:
      184 KB
      Views:
      124
    • 3.jpg
      3.jpg
      File size:
      232.6 KB
      Views:
      219
    • 4.jpg
      4.jpg
      File size:
      257.3 KB
      Views:
      200
  12. netkas thread starter macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2007
    #12
    The rominator, can u confirm its working by removing natit/aty_init ?
     
  13. MacVidCards Suspended

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2008
    Location:
    Hollywood, CA
    #13
    I'll remove and reboot.

    Cross your fingers. (Fact that it doesn't say "Netkas.org" should mean it will work, yes?)
     
  14. exabrial macrumors member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2008
    #14
    Not to hijack the thread, but Rominator:

    You have the sapphire card correct?
    What revision?
    Is core-image accelerated?
    Is the link speed 5t?
    If you disable injector what happens?
    Boots in windoze and osx?

    I understand Netkas is still experimenting at this point, but I just wanted to get this on the table before the sea of noobs arrive.

    And netkas, free beer for an evening on me.
     
  15. MacVidCards Suspended

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2008
    Location:
    Hollywood, CA
    #15
    Netkas 4890 ROM working !!!

    With ATY_init out of extensions folder...and it still works !!!

    Netkas is indeed King for today.

    There are a couplde moments in grey boot screen areas where the screen "breaks" for just a second, as if vertical sync off, but other than that it seems perfect.

    I was able to hold "option" and pick a bot disk...a new thing for 4890 in Mac Pro.

    Mine is an MSI 4890 1 Gig

    Most of questions are answered in screen shots.

    Will try WIndows shortly but it should be fine.

    Now to drag the 2407 in here and do a 2nd monitor test.

    If it does second monitor, the XFX 4870 will lose out as "top" ATI card.

    Mine is Quad 3.0 from first Gen...so link speed will be 2.5 til it dies.
     
  16. vailance macrumors member

    vailance

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2008
    Location:
    MY
    #16
    genius man.. well done ! soon will grab a sapphire 4890 1GB to test. Time to dump my 285 :D
     
  17. zepharus macrumors 6502a

    zepharus

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2007
    #17


    Another SUCCESS with ROM #2! I can also confirm that it boots perfectly and works in my PC so far as well...

    Now if you can just write me a ROM that clocks to 1000 core and 1100 Mem you would be my hero!

    Netkas is the man!
     
  18. netkas thread starter macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2007
    #18
    The Rominator, check card clocks in windows also.
     
  19. tezro macrumors regular

    tezro

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2007
    #19
    I was thinking, since there now is a test-ROM, might the more exotic cards work too? Like Vapor-X and others? Or are those too different hardware wise?
    (I can not test my Vapor-X anymore btw. returning it)
     
  20. MacVidCards Suspended

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2008
    Location:
    Hollywood, CA
    #20
    OK....moving over to "the Dark Side"

    I'll be back with more news shortly. (unless Bill Gates takes me)

    IM BACK-------

    Works fine into Windows


    In any case...runs beautifully in either OS once drivers are loaded.

    It states "Crossfire Disabled (Unsure in Vista64" in GPU-Z but I'm in Vista64 so hardly surprising.

    If anyone is losing sleep over it I can try Crossfire but I have every reason to believe it will work 100%.

    Screen glitches in grey at first grey screen, and then into the Grey Apple screen. Perhaps getting clocks from EFI ROM and they are slightly "off" what it loads from BIOS with drivers?
     

    Attached Files:

  21. netkas thread starter macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2007
    #21
    thats normal attitude for gpu-z in vista64,
    means crossfire is not enabled atm (since u have only one 4890)

    posted news to my blog about new rom http://netkas.org/?p=118
     
  22. pr33tz macrumors member

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2008
    Location:
    London, UK
  23. zepharus macrumors 6502a

    zepharus

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2007
    #23
    This sounds noobish but how do I go about uninstalling the injector .. Im somewhat new to OS X but reasonably intelligent. Thanks in advance
     
  24. MacVidCards Suspended

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2008
    Location:
    Hollywood, CA
    #24
    aty_init is in extensions folder

    take it out

    The blog reminds me of an important thing.

    This is still using a "modded" kext. (adding device id)

    So, without that just no QE/CI?

    Should I reinstall 10.5.7 to see exact behavior?
     
  25. ThrillSeeker81 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2009
    #25
    this is great news.

    So basicly we can flash the card in our windows boot camp partition and run osx afterwards?

    does it also support 2 dvi displays?


    Keep up the good work!
     

Share This Page