Energy save missing

Discussion in 'Mac mini' started by Melle279, Jan 20, 2016.

  1. Melle279 macrumors newbie

    Melle279

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2016
    #1
    Hej all,

    I got a Mac Mini Late 2012 running on OSX 10.9.5
    But i want to change the timer of my stand by mode.
    on the internet i read all the time i need to change it in SystemPref->Energy Save.
    but there is no Energy Save icon or app to be found on my mac mini so i can't change the timer.
    anyone know how to fix this problem?
    [​IMG]
     

    Attached Files:

  2. ActionableMango macrumors 604

    ActionableMango

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2010
    #2
    Sleep timer was removed in Yosemite.

    OS X is removing more and more control from the end user, especially in El Cap.
     
  3. Melle279 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Melle279

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2016
    #3
    i use osx Mavericks (10.9.5) and i don't want to upgrade because many programs won't work on newer osx.
    but is it unpossible now to prevent my mac mini to go to sleep mode?
     
  4. ActionableMango macrumors 604

    ActionableMango

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2010
    #4
    My apologies, I completely misunderstood your problem. I see now in your screen shot that the entire Energy Saver preference pane is missing on your computer like you said. I read too quickly and I thought it was only the Sleep Timer you were missing, which would be normal in Yosemite or later.

    I don't know why you are missing the entire Energy Saver preference pane. But looking around, the following seems to have worked for a lot of people:

    Find the System Preferences app in the Applications folder. Right click, Get Info, and select "Open in 32 bit mode".
     
  5. donlab macrumors 6502

    donlab

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2004
    Location:
    USA
  6. Melle279 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Melle279

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2016
    #6
    i didn't tried that yet but really don't want to because there are many files on my mac which really can't be lost
     
  7. Melle279 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Melle279

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2016
    #7
    That didn't do the trick either. looks like that because of some weird black magic, the whole energy saver app isn't installed on my mac
     
  8. jbarley macrumors 68030

    jbarley

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2006
    Location:
    Vancouver Island
    #8
    Sleep Timer was just fine in my Yosemite installation, just as it is in El-Capitan.

    Screenshot 2016-01-22 at 8.57. AM.png
     
  9. ActionableMango macrumors 604

    ActionableMango

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2010
    #9
    Yes some have it and some don't. It depends on your hardware. I think Haswell and newer have it, but I don't know where the cutoff is, only that it started on some Macs around 2012-2013. There are many threads about it missing.

    I wouldn't know what to try next except to back up your files and reinstall OS X.[/QUOTE]
     
  10. DeltaMac macrumors 604

    DeltaMac

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2003
    Location:
    Delaware
    #10
    Sleep timer, or not - the Energy Saver pref pane will always be there. OP is missing that pane in System Preferences.
    Launch your System Preferences.
    Go to the View menu, and click Customize...
    Can you find the Energy Saver pane? It may be unchecked, which would make it hidden. Bring it back into view by checking the box on that Energy Saver pane.
    If that pane is still missing, even in the Customize screen, then you will need to reinstall OS X.
    Very easy to do, and you won't lose YOUR files and apps.

    Restart to your recovery system (Restart while holding Command-R)
    When that recovery system boots, choose Reinstall OS X. It will take most of an hour, maybe longer, as all of the install files have to be downloaded first. Then the system files are reinstalled. Once that is complete, you should be good to go.
     
  11. Fishrrman macrumors G3

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2009
    #11
    OP:
    Look here on your boot volume:
    System/Library/PreferencePanes/EnergySaver.prefPane

    Is it there?
     
  12. Melle279 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Melle279

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2016
    #12
    Reinstalling OSx did the trick!
    Thanks for the help all!
     

Share This Page