Error12, need help, new Mac Pro + 980 Ti in Win10

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by heeroyuyj, Apr 1, 2016.

  1. heeroyuyj macrumors newbie

    heeroyuyj

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2015
    Location:
    China
    #1
    my new Mac Pro installed OS X + Windows 10 (UEFI mode), system RAM 64GB


    i've already got the 980 Ti working in EL Capatin (using automate eGPU master v0.9.8)


    however, i just cant get it working in windows 10, just like this:


    [​IMG]


    and i got this Error 12 (Code 12), This device cannot find enough free resources that it can use


    [​IMG]


    i tried to disable my two D300 video cards, still, the 980 Ti wont able to start


    i searched a lot topics, find "DIY eGPU Setup"


    first, i used the DIY eGPU v1.3 setup, it came with these messages:

    =========================
    [ERROR] EFI/GPT installation found. You cannot do a disk image
    install. You have two options to get Setup 1.x working:

    1. Do a USB install, add an experimental UEFI framework to \config.bin
    directoru as uefi.iso or uefi.img and hope it chainload your OS whilst
    preserving the modified PCI config space.

    2. (recommended) change your partitions to MBR and set your BIOS to
    'legacy' or 'CSM'. SeeHow to Convert a GPT disk layout to a MS-DOS/MBR layout without data loss (and Gigabyte Hybrid EFI)
    for a non-destructive GPT to MBR conversion process.
    =========================

    since my Windows 10 is already in BIOS UEFI mode, and i can't change my partitions into MBR (OS X is needed)


    then i tried with DIY eGPU v1.2 setup, followed all the steps in setup-disk-image.bat and reboot my nMP

    =========================
    I choose DIY eGPU Setup 1.2, hit enter, see what happend?


    Windows failed to start. A recent hardware or software change might be the cause. To fix the problem:


    1. blah blah blah....

    2. blah blah blah....

    3. blah blah blah....


    blah blah blah....


    File: \eGPU\grub.exe

    Status: 0xc000007b


    Info: The application or operating system couldn't be loaded because a required file is missing or contains errors.
    =========================


    dont know what to do now [​IMG]


    i contacted nando4, but he's in hostipal due to road accident


    thus he can't give me any further tech support right now


    so, im here to asking for help
     
  2. h9826790 macrumors 604

    h9826790

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2014
    Location:
    Hong Kong
    #2
    I think only MVC can get the eGPU work on the Windows side at this moment. And it seems EFI is required for the 980Ti.
     
  3. orph macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2005
    Location:
    UK
    #3
    why do you have 2 ATI cards and 1 nvidia card in at the same time?
    ps what mac pro do you have?
     
  4. heeroyuyj thread starter macrumors newbie

    heeroyuyj

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2015
    Location:
    China
    #4
    i see...

    so... basically, we need a video card can flash speical EFI ROM to get work in windows, right?
    --- Post Merged, Apr 1, 2016 ---
    mine is new Mac Pro (late 2013)

    it got two AMD firepro D300

    i wanna use eGPU, so i brought some stuff... but, the eGPU only works in OS X right now, it wont start in windows, pity :(
     

Share This Page