Finally calling out for help: so many problems with my (2013) mac pro

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by jorisvanr, Apr 12, 2016.

  1. jorisvanr macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2016
    #1
    So, for starters, ever since i've bought (well, my boss did) my mac pro, i've experienced many, many problems. Two of them are the most annoying and problematic. Lets kick off with the first one: one of my screens (Led Cinema display) is not functioning as it should.

    Almost every time when I reboot my Mac, the LED Cinema display simply does not work (the Thunderbolt display does). I have to reset the PRAM etc in order for it to work, sometimes. Or I have to unplug the display for several minutes, and try again, and reset everything again. This would be ok if it happened once in a while, but every freaking time on a $7000 machine is simply unacceptable.

    The other big issue I'm experiencing is a crazy error with USB hubs. When I connect devices like a mouse, keyboard, etc everything works fine. When I try to charge my phone, everything works fine. When I connect a usb stick or harddrive, nothing happens. At all.. Except when I put the usb cable of the hub in a port that is not directly the one from the Mac Pro. In other words: when I connect the hub to the USB port of my thunderbolt display, everything works fine.

    Can anyone help me with these frustrating issues? Any hints are welcome.
     

    Attached Files:

  2. BrianBaughn macrumors 601

    BrianBaughn

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2011
    Location:
    Baltimore, Maryland
    #2
    The USB thing is weird.

    Nothing showing in About This Mac>System Report? Even after a restart?
     
  3. jorisvanr thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2016
    #3
    Nope! When I reboot it works, but if I switch the hub of and on again, the problem returns.

    Another thing I noticed: in the "about this Mac" section, I see the hub, but it is labeled as a USB2 device, which is weird as it is a USB3 hub.

    Thanx for your reply! It is very much appreciated :)
     
  4. BrianBaughn macrumors 601

    BrianBaughn

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2011
    Location:
    Baltimore, Maryland
    #4
    To clarify...a USB drive mounts on a restart when connected directly?

    What happens if you disconnect every other USB device and then plug in a USB drive directly?
     
  5. jorisvanr thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2016
    #5
    Yes it does! On an important sidenote: if I plug in a usb drive (HDD, usb stick, etc) directly in the Mac it works. When I plug it in to the USB hub it does not. Except when I reboot or plug the hub in the usb port of my Thunderbolt display.

    I Know, it is so weird!
     
  6. BrianBaughn macrumors 601

    BrianBaughn

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2011
    Location:
    Baltimore, Maryland
    #6
    I think I've been confused about you question.

    Are these "powered" hubs? More than one hub has been tested?
     
  7. orph macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2005
    Location:
    UK
    #7
    sounds like it's the usb hub that is the problem not the mac pro + is it a powered hub? because it will have to be to power drives.
    display might just be anything from a bad cable to bad display.
    id try the display on a different computer to see if it still has problems, and you can talk to apple for help too
     
  8. jorisvanr thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2016
    #8
    Yes it is a Powered hub, and works fine on other mac pros. I'll try to connect another powered hub tomorrow.
     
  9. orph macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2005
    Location:
    UK
  10. jorisvanr thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2016
    #10
    It works fine on other mac pros, and it a powered hub.
    --- Post Merged, Apr 13, 2016 ---
    This one:
    https://www.conrad.nl/nl/renkforce-...ehuizing-met-snellaadpoort-zwart-1305503.html

    The link is in Dutch, so I hope this clear enough.
     
  11. orph macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2005
    Location:
    UK
    #11
  12. jorisvanr thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2016
    #12
    Thanx! Seems like a similar problem. Did a reboot, but still nothing worked. After that I did a reboot without my keyboard connected (probably USB2) and then it worked as a USB3 hub.

    BUT...

    When I switch it off and on again, nothing happens! in de system report the hub is now recognised as a USB2 hub and nothing works, except for input devices like a mouse and keyboard (so no data from USB sticks / drives).
    --- Post Merged, Apr 14, 2016 ---
    Other hubs have the same issues. Everything works fine on another mac pro.
     
  13. nigelbb macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2012
    #13
    Have you contacted Apple Support? If not why not? One of the good reasons for paying a premium for Apple prodcuts is to get the premium quality support.
     
  14. ActionableMango macrumors 604

    ActionableMango

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2010
    #14
    You might have a lemon. I'd take it in to Apple.
     
  15. filmak macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2012
    Location:
    between earth and heaven
    #15
    It's very important to use hubs, preferably powered, with VIA chipset VL812-B2 or newer...
     
  16. Riwam macrumors 6502a

    Riwam

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2014
    Location:
    Basel, Switzerland
    #16
    I don't know if this info brings abything to you.
    Some time ago I noticed a too long boot time of my MP late 2013.
    I tried different things.
    I changed the 5V power adapter of the USB3 hub for another 5V power adapter with same plug...and suddently the boot time was normal. Even when the USB3 hub was without power supply at all the boot time was normal.
    I have no explanation...but somehow without the original power supply of the USB3 hub, the boot time returned to normal.
     
  17. filmak macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2012
    Location:
    between earth and heaven
    #17
    If the power supply of the hub is malfunctioning there is a chance that current will flow towards the usb ports of MP and probably various problems will arise...
     
  18. Riwam macrumors 6502a

    Riwam

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2014
    Location:
    Basel, Switzerland
    #18
    You might be right.
    However the Belkin USB3 hub was delivered by Apple themselves and the power supply came with it.
    As a user you believe that Apple will not offer low quality accessories.
    How exactly the current even if too high may cause an abnormal long boot time is beyond my limited technical knowhow.
    Anyhow I was satisfied to have corrected it even without understanding at all how it happened.

    The best thing is to quote Albert Einstein:
    Theory is when we know everything but nothing works.
    Practice is when everything works but nobody knows why.
    In our team we have managed to join theory to practice.
    Nothing works and nobody knows why.
     
  19. ActionableMango macrumors 604

    ActionableMango

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2010
    #19
    What was the fix?
     
  20. Riwam macrumors 6502a

    Riwam

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2014
    Location:
    Basel, Switzerland
    #20
    A different 5V power supply to the USB3 hub returned the boot time of the MP late 2013 to normal. Even without any power supply it was again as short as usual.
    Very strange and not understandable for me. :confused:
     
  21. ActionableMango macrumors 604

    ActionableMango

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2010
    #21
    I'm especially confused because you said the hub worked fine on other Mac Pros. I don't understand either! But I'm glad your problem was fixed with minimal hassle.

    Kudo to the people who pointed toward that as the problem.
     
  22. Riwam macrumors 6502a

    Riwam

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2014
    Location:
    Basel, Switzerland
    #22
    I did not mention other Mac Pros. I have only one.
    Maybe someone else in another post spoke of several computers.
     
  23. jorisvanr thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2016
    #23
    I was the one that said it worked fine on other MP's.. Still no fix for this issue however. Changing the power supply is unlikely to fix this issue, because the same issue occurs with another (different brand) USB hub with another power supply. Will try to switch them tough..
     
  24. Riwam macrumors 6502a

    Riwam

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2014
    Location:
    Basel, Switzerland
    #24
    You can never know if it might not help.
    My USB3 Belkin powered hub, received directly from Apple, newly forces me to disconnect and connect it again in order that the MP recognizes the external drives connected to it.
    That was not the case until now. Very strange...
    A drive directly connected to a port of the MP however, appears immediately on the desktop.
    USB hubs or the way the MP deals with them seem not to be easy to understand and the behavior might change in time, I don't know why.
    I will probably buy another powered USB3 hub with more ports. With the MP late 2013 many ports are a necessity.
    Luckily they are not expensive, contrary to Thunderbolt hubs and drives.
    Ed
     
  25. filmak macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2012
    Location:
    between earth and heaven
    #25
    It doesn't matter where you have bought your hub, from Apple or elsewhere...
    If you want some peace of mind you have to buy a hub with VIA chipset VL812-B2 or newer...
     

Share This Page