Finder losing focus when showing all open Finder windows

Discussion in 'macOS' started by ewi, Nov 10, 2016.

  1. ewi macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2010
    #1
    When I chose to show all Finder windows (moving my cursor down left out of the screen), I see all Finder windows. When I select one, it make that one active but then focus is immediately stolen by another application. Any clue?
     
  2. Gregg2 macrumors 603

    Joined:
    May 22, 2008
    Location:
    Milwaukee, WI
    #2
    You haven't provided the clues. What OS version? What apps do you have installed other than what came with the Mac?
     
  3. ewi thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2010
    #3
    macOS 10.12.
    I didn't use to have this issue. I think (but not 100% sure) it started when upgraded to Sierra. Since then, I haven't installed new apps...
     
  4. Gregg2 macrumors 603

    Joined:
    May 22, 2008
    Location:
    Milwaukee, WI
    #4
    Well, I should have asked... is the focus always stolen by the same application? If so, what is it? Also, have you set up multiple Desktops in Mission Control? If so, does the change in focus take you to a different Desktop? You haven't installed new apps since upgrading, but are there apps on your Mac that were not installed when it was new? Do you have anything in StartUp Items that opens automatically when you start up?
     
  5. ewi thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2010
    #5
    No, it's not one particular application. Eg if Chrome does it, and I close chrome, than another application steals the focus...
    I moved to one desktop to see whether that's the problem, so eliminated that as a possible cause. Skype, dropbox and chrome open automatically, but I closed those apps and the problem remains... Yes I installed several apps, such as dobe Lightroom, Mailmate, Office, ...
     
  6. Gregg2 macrumors 603

    Joined:
    May 22, 2008
    Location:
    Milwaukee, WI
    #6
    Alright, here's what I'd do next (assuming you've already been through multiple Restarts and the problem remains - if not, try that first). Create a new User Account in System Preferences. Start up in that account and see if you still have this problem.
     
  7. ewi thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2010
    #7
    --- Post Merged, Dec 15, 2016 ---
    Gregg, tried that. No problem there...
     
  8. Gregg2 macrumors 603

    Joined:
    May 22, 2008
    Location:
    Milwaukee, WI
    #8
    Gonna need a translation. Does that mean you tried a new User Account and the problem is not present when logged in under that account?
     
  9. ewi thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2010
  10. Gregg2 macrumors 603

    Joined:
    May 22, 2008
    Location:
    Milwaukee, WI
    #10
    Great! Then you have discovered that your original account is corrupt. You could spend the next few weeks or months trying to narrow it down to one thing and repair it, with the possibility that you never will find out what is out of whack. Or, you could do the smart thing and change accounts. Copy your files to the new account (or create another one) and when you're sure you got everything, trash the corrupt account.
     
  11. ewi thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2010
    #11
    What's the easiest way to do that? DO I need to copy the files, or can I drag them from one user directory to another one? What about all the programs and the settings?
    Many thanks anyway for your advice!
     
  12. Gregg2 macrumors 603

    Joined:
    May 22, 2008
    Location:
    Milwaukee, WI
    #12
    If your applications are in the "main" Applications folder, they will not be impacted by a User Account change. Yes, drag them from one to the other. Copy if you want a backup, by holding down the Option key. When you're sure all is well, delete the old account, and the file copies, if left behind, will go too.
    --- Post Merged, Dec 19, 2016 ---
     

Share This Page