Football Manager 2009

Discussion in 'Mac and PC Games' started by timmyb, Nov 1, 2008.

  1. timmyb macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2005
    Location:
    United Kingdom
    #1
    I'm more excited by this coming out than usual.

    Although the full game isn't out for a fortnight, a full feature demo is being released at midnight (UK) tonight.

    I think I'll be spending the next few days sheltering from the elements making a valiant effort to organise Newcastle!

    Anyone else looking forward to it?
     
  2. pknz macrumors 68020

    pknz

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2005
    Location:
    NZ
    #2
    Demo is out. ~1GB For the 'strawberry' demo.

    Apparently its Intel only, even thought the box art has the Universal Binary logo.
     
  3. FleurDuMal macrumors 68000

    FleurDuMal

    Joined:
    May 31, 2006
    Location:
    London Town
    #3
    I'm downloading now, but I'm quite sure my Rev A Macbook with its puny GMA 950 and running Tiger won't be able to run it. You really know its time to upgrade when you can't even play Football Manager.

    Now where did I leave that £1,200...

    :(
     
  4. pknz macrumors 68020

    pknz

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2005
    Location:
    NZ
    #4
    Your GMA 950 should be able to run it in 2D mode, although the system requirements do state OS X 10.5.5

    A user on the SIGames Forums said he had it working on PPC OS X 10.5.4 (I think the user said 3D as well but not running well. So who knows...

    Here is the link to the thread
     
  5. Kyouya macrumors member

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2008
    #5
    Yep, seems like it is Universal Binary indeed. But working properly on Leopard only.

    I am enjoying the game so far, 3d match is awesome and such but there is a serious injury bug. They'll probably fix it until release(and patch a Tiger compatibility, hopefully).
     
  6. FleurDuMal macrumors 68000

    FleurDuMal

    Joined:
    May 31, 2006
    Location:
    London Town
    #6
    Well, I've just tried to run the demo on the Macbook in my sig (running Tiger)

    The game seems to load up just fine and snappy...right up until you actually go into the match. At that point it just seems to hang forever, regardless of whether you choose 3D match or classic view.

    It's a shame as apart from the 3D view, I see no reason why my MB shouldn't be capable of playing it. FM is one of the only games I play and as my MB does everything else I need it to do perfectly it'd be annoying to upgrade machines just to play a game that - with one minor feature disabled - it should be able to run like a breeze.

    Bleh.


    EDIT: Nevermind, I'm an idiot. There is an option to turn off the 3D all together. Phew. However, the game does still seem a bit buggy. I tried to change the forward and backward arrows in one of my tactics and the whole thing started behaving very oddly until I had to close FM down. Also, TV Mode (which is fullscreen 2D basically) is not very smooth at all. Not a major complaint, but still a bit annoying.

    Haven't played for very long so I can't give an indepth review of bugs. However, on trip to the SI Games forum indicates that the whole thing seems a bit buggy...
     
  7. pknz macrumors 68020

    pknz

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2005
    Location:
    NZ
    #7
    Yes, it always seems to be a buggy release from SI.

    I thought the 3D match engine looked terrible (in need of anti-aliasing), and found a setting for graphical detail.

    Needless to say I can only choose low. I assume this is because my graphics card is too low as apposed to the higher details not being included in the demo.

    I may try and run the PC demo on Vista on the same computer to see if that enables me to run the higher detail levels if I don't get any information from SI.

    Mac Pro 2Ghz, 2GB RAM, X1900XT

    EDIT: As it turns out running Vista on my Mac Pro and the same graphics card I am able to select any of the graphical detail levels.
     
  8. FleurDuMal macrumors 68000

    FleurDuMal

    Joined:
    May 31, 2006
    Location:
    London Town
    #8
    Apparently if you try to load the game up in Windows on a system that can't run 3D view, it won't even let you start up the game to turn the 3D option off.

    Bizarre.
     
  9. pknz macrumors 68020

    pknz

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2005
    Location:
    NZ
    #9
    Ah Sports Interactive are such a frustrating company.
     
  10. Jaffa Cake macrumors Core

    Jaffa Cake

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2004
    Location:
    The City of Culture, Englandshire
    #10
    Hmm... It does seem to get buggier with each release. I was lucky with 2008 in so far as I wasn't affected by many of the problems some people were experiencing, but there was one major bug that made running a long-term game a frustrating experience. Luckily, it was resolved in the patch but it's not what you expect when you buy a game.

    I traditionally buy on the day of release, this time though I might wait a week or two to see if there are any major issues.
     
  11. timmyb thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2005
    Location:
    United Kingdom
    #11
    It's not looking too great at the moment. I'm having problems with right-clicking - it "stays clicked" and the only option is to restart.

    Still it's a free demo. Am hoping there'll be a patch pretty speedily when it's released - I won't be handing over any money until I hear testimony of it working smoothly on a MB.
     
  12. capoeirista macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2007
    #12
    Oh dear another FM... Hmmm, finishing PhD, maintaining relationship with g/f.... or getting the Mighty Colchester United into Europe???

    DAMN YOU SI!!!

    Also, I never buy FMs until at least the first patch is out, because a) I hate (the inevitable) crippling bugs and b) the patches are sometimes not save game compatible and require you to start a new game anyway and I hate getting stuck into a season only to have to restart...



    (If it doesn't run well on a GMA950 this might be a blessing after all)
     
  13. MagicWok macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2006
    Location:
    London
    #13
    I beta tested Football Manager Live for several months - after which I think I'll be going back to the standard FM's, with FM09 when it's released.

    It does look good, but I'll have to test it on my PC rig at home it seems. Oh well :rolleyes:
     
  14. pknz macrumors 68020

    pknz

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2005
    Location:
    NZ
    #14
    I think I read that if you connect a mouse and click the mouse you won't need to restart.

    Yeah I think FM2008 8.0.2 was quite solid, the one thing that annoyed me was if a player got injured after I had made 3 substitutions, I could drag him off on the tactics screen but the confirm button stayed grey, so I couldn't actually do it.

    ...and I should actually be studying.
     
  15. Jaffa Cake macrumors Core

    Jaffa Cake

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2004
    Location:
    The City of Culture, Englandshire
    #15
    The problem I had was a bug with the board confidence feature. I like to play as a non-league side and try to work my way as far up the leagues as I can. As such, I opted to play as Harrogate Town in the Blue Square North.

    My chairman gave me a simple brief – it was something along the lines of establishing ourselves as a well-performing team in the BSN in two years. I got the team promoted as champions in my first season (by some distance). In my second season I finished in the Blue Square Premier play-offs, and if memory serves I won either the FA Trophy or the Setanta Shield. All in all, not a bad start to my managerial career – the board was delighted, the players loved me, and I was adored by the Harrogate supporters.

    Then I got sacked.

    This was bizarre, as I'd been hugely successful – I'd won promotion and performed well in the Blue Square Premier. But my initial brief was to perform well in the Blue Square North, and despite being in a higher division the board's confidence – due to the bug – went through the floor and I was sacked for not fulfilling my targets.

    Of course, this made the game all but unplayable at lower levels – if you do well and get promoted, you'd get sacked. Needless to say I was very happy when the patch came out and rectified this rather glaring bug.
     
  16. FleurDuMal macrumors 68000

    FleurDuMal

    Joined:
    May 31, 2006
    Location:
    London Town
    #16
    As much as I don't want to sound like the foaming-at-the-mouth uber nerds over on the SI Forums who seem to think that everyone working for SI owes them their life, with some of the bugs you can't help think "Did anyone actually play this game at SI HQ?!" I mean, surely someone at SI must have played on FM09 on an Apple laptop?!
     
  17. Jaffa Cake macrumors Core

    Jaffa Cake

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2004
    Location:
    The City of Culture, Englandshire
    #17
    I'm glad I'm not alone in thinking this. :p

    Mind, the past few versions have shipped with some major bugs that you really would have thought they'd have sorted...
     
  18. pknz macrumors 68020

    pknz

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2005
    Location:
    NZ
    #18
    Ah yes the board confidence, in my Liverpool they are always disappointed with me as I get knocked out of the FA Cup or League Cup... but go on to win the League and Champions League.

    I suspect they only tested 09 on a Mac desktop.
     
  19. R.Youden macrumors 68020

    R.Youden

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2005
    #19
    The good old confidence bug!

    Well 2009 is OK at best, not sure I will buy it when it comes out, I may stick with FMLive.

    For me the great thing about Football Manager is taking Hull City into the Premie..... Oh wait :p
     
  20. Nick1 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2008
    #20
    The FM demo runs fine on my new MacBook. I'll definitley be buying the retail version, but would that require me to use the CD all the time? Can you get no cd cracks, I've only ever played FM before on PC.
     
  21. Jaffa Cake macrumors Core

    Jaffa Cake

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2004
    Location:
    The City of Culture, Englandshire
    #21
    All the previous versions of the game have (as far as I can remember) needed the CD to play. As for cracks to play the game without one, sorry but we can't help you on that one I'm afraid. Discussing such things is against forum rules, as such knowledge can be used to help pirate the software. ;)
     
  22. R.Youden macrumors 68020

    R.Youden

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2005
    #22
    Us mac users have been, how shall I put it, screwed, in terms of an electronic license for FM2009. With the Windows version you can authorize 5 computers to play FM2009 via STEAM a Windows only distribution and authentication package. Us mac users are stuck with a good ol' DVD.
     
  23. Steve Jobs=God macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2007
    #23
    Yeah there is at least one member of the SI team that uses a mac and plays the game regularly on a MBP

    trying to play the demo and getting the right click issue, however only seems to happen on the 'strawberry' demo, not the 'vanilla' version
     
  24. pyeman5000 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2008
    #24
    cant get mac demo working

    Hi guys, I downloaded football manager 2009 demo for my mac and it runs fine until it gets to play a game and i go to play the match and it freezes. Not jus the program tho, my whole computer, and i have to reset the machine.

    Iv downloaded two different versions of the demo and it still happens.
    My macbook is only a year old and im running Mac OSX Tiger 10.4.11.
    The last footy manager ran fine.
    Anyone know what the problem could be?
     
  25. iBecks macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2006
    Location:
    Nottingham, UK
    #25
    You could always buy a new MacBook to play it on :D

    I've played most of the Football/Championship Manager type of games over the years, but you can never beat the ZX Spectrum version.
     

Share This Page