Forums Upgraded to v1.5

Discussion in 'Site and Forum Feedback' started by arn, Dec 18, 2015.

  1. arn macrumors god

    arn

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2001
    #1
    Hi all,

    We performed a forum upgrade tonight. We moved from the 1.4 -> 1.5 branch of Xenforo. It's possible something broke, and if so, let me know

    A list of some of the improvements are here:
    https://xenforo.com/community/threads/xenforo-1-5-0-released.103412/

    I think there's a lot of backend improvements, so most won't be immediately obvious most users.

    - Tagging of threads is new. Which I'm not sure how that will perform.
    - Two factor authentication is available for everyone

    Let me know if you notice anything broken.

    arn
     
  2. Gav2k macrumors G3

    Gav2k

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2009
    #2
    Ooo I see a ui change here. What else do we get...?
     
  3. Gav2k macrumors G3

    Gav2k

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2009
    #3
    image.png
    Ok that's broken lol

    @arn when this is viewed in portrate on the iPhone 6plus the replies don't have text in them. It's ok in landscape though.
     
  4. robpow macrumors regular

    robpow

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2007
    #4
    All posts are empty, at least in the mobile view.

    Matt
     

    Attached Files:

  5. garirry macrumors 68000

    garirry

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2013
    Location:
    Canada is my city
    #5
    Ah, so that's why the site went offline for an hour. I'll check the new features later.
     
  6. arn thread starter macrumors god

    arn

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2001
    #6
    crap. ok. I've jumped back to the old theme while I fix that.

    arn
     
  7. Gav2k macrumors G3

    Gav2k

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2009
    #7
    Lol thanks mate. You could have started a revolution.
     
  8. arn thread starter macrumors god

    arn

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2001
    #8
    well, I can't get it fixed tonight.

    Looks like the old version of the theme is working well enough for now. It just doesn't support the new 1.5 features. I'll update this thread when we are fully upgraded.

    arn
     
  9. m4v3r1ck macrumors 68020

    m4v3r1ck

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2011
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    #9
    Hi Arn,

    I wasn't able to connect to the forums.macrumors.com for a few hours, I tweeted about it this evening:

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    Do you keep track of twitter? But, glad we're all back on track! :cool:

    Cheers
     
  10. arn thread starter macrumors god

    arn

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2001
    #10
    We were down about 14 hours ago (1-3am eastern), but shouldn't have been down 2-5 hours ago. I guess it's working for you now?

    arn
     
  11. m4v3r1ck macrumors 68020

    m4v3r1ck

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2011
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    #11
    Working great (as ever) since a few minutes! Must be something domestic, thnx for your prompt reply, Arn

    Cheers
     
  12. Fzang macrumors 65816

    Fzang

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2013
    #12
    Can't use the rich text editor anymore on my 6S.
     

    Attached Files:

  13. arn thread starter macrumors god

    arn

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2001
    #13
    Odd

    I'm not seeing that but hopefully will be addressed soon
     
  14. arn thread starter macrumors god

    arn

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2001
    #14
    Can you tell me if this is still happening?

    The new theme should be in place. Let me know if there are any other problems.

    arn
     
  15. redheeler macrumors 603

    redheeler

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2014
    #15
    Minor issue, but the size/position of the new thread button on the mobile site seems a little odd and causes the title text to wrap (looks like this on my iPhone 6s+ as well).
    MR-New-Thread-Button.png
     
  16. MJedi macrumors 6502a

    MJedi

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2010
    #16
    On the latest Firefox, some graphics don't show up. Tested on a new profile with no extensions, and on another Mac. On Safari, the graphics are fine. Not sure if this is due to the new forum software or something else. Nothing has changed on my end though.

    Screen Shot 2015-12-21 at 7.15.25 PM.png
     
  17. garirry macrumors 68000

    garirry

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2013
    Location:
    Canada is my city
    #17
    It's odd, I'm on Google Chrome and many Unicode icons are missing, similar to your picture. If I do something that fixes it, I'll let you know.
     
  18. arn thread starter macrumors god

    arn

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2001
    #18
    I think this was a mistake I made in changing some of the paths around. Seems like its working now.
     
  19. redheeler macrumors 603

    redheeler

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2014
    #19
    The "Thread Starter" indicators are missing.
     
  20. Michael Goff macrumors G3

    Michael Goff

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2012
    #20
    Same problem with the new thread button here with the latest beta. image.png
     
  21. myrtlebee macrumors 68000

    myrtlebee

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2011
    Location:
    Baltimore-Washington Metro Area
    #21
    Not sure when this changed, but "Your Threads" and "Your Posts" have been replaced by "Your Content" in the dropdown menu. It was nice to be able to see threads with the old option.
     
  22. maflynn Moderator

    maflynn

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2009
    Location:
    Boston
    #22
    I just noticed that as well. Hopefully we can get that back, as its a useful piece of info :)
     
  23. Michael Goff, Dec 22, 2015
    Last edited: Dec 22, 2015

    Michael Goff macrumors G3

    Michael Goff

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2012
    #23
    If you download the content blocker "Focus" and turn off web fonts, the buttons are all the right sizes. That being said, a lot of icons don't work that way.

    Edit: Nope, stopped working quickly
     
  24. testcard macrumors 68020

    testcard

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2009
    Location:
    Middle England
    #24
    Discovered that I had to whitelist MR in Purify in order to post following the update.
     
  25. arn thread starter macrumors god

    arn

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2001
    #25
    I don't see that. I have purify on right now and am able to post. What happened when you tried?
     

Share This Page