Frequently Asked Questions About NVIDIA PC (non-EFI) Graphics Cards

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by Asgorath, Sep 13, 2012.

Thread Status:
The first post in this thread is a WikiPost, and can be edited by anyone with the appropriate permissions.
  1. owbp macrumors 6502a

    owbp

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2016
    Location:
    Belgrade, Serbia
    #3851
    That's the thing i don't get when people are bashing nVidia.
    With GT220 to GTX980 (that is right now in my cMP) the biggest problems i had are few pixels going mad, and the last time it happened was in El Capitan.
    On the other hand i've had numerous screen glitches with HD6850 and more than few system reboots/crashes with HD7950 (official) and R9 280X caused by Apple AMD Controller and Framebuffer kexts.
     
  2. yukdave macrumors newbie

    yukdave

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2017
    Location:
    Dash Point, WA
    #3852
    I got no problems with NVIDIA GTX980Ti. Used the GT120 in slot 2 for boot and worked great with the NVIDIA drivers. They work flawlessly for me. Just flashed the 980 so will pull the GT120 soon since I need the slot. If you don't need the slots then the old GT120 that came with it handles the boot screen and the heavy work happens on the PC version of the GTX980Ti
     
  3. BillyBobBongo, May 16, 2017
    Last edited: May 16, 2017

    BillyBobBongo macrumors 68020

    BillyBobBongo

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2007
    Location:
    On The Interweb Thingy!
    #3854
  4. irked macrumors member

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2017
    #3855
    I get the feeling all they do most of the time is increment the OS build number the drivers are looking for.
     
  5. Socket macrumors member

    Socket

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2015
    #3856
    Hi...could someone can solve this bug in F1 2016? #48

    I tried just now with the new webdrivers in 10.12.5 but still doesn't work :-(
     
  6. m4v3r1ck, May 16, 2017
    Last edited: May 16, 2017
  7. m4v3r1ck macrumors 68020

    m4v3r1ck

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2011
    Location:
    The Netherlands
  8. Helloha macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2013
    #3860
    I bought a 1060 but it's horribly unstable using the beta drivers and premiere pro.

    so, About to bite the bullet on a used 980, specifically this one:

    https://www.asus.com/be-nl/Graphics-Cards/STRIXGTX980DC2OC4GD5/specifications/

    Does anyone know if the backplate on these cards cause height issues for the card to be in the bottom slot (5,1)? All slots are filled and I need every one of them.

    Cheers!
    K.
     
  9. flowrider macrumors 601

    flowrider

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2012
    #3861
    ^^^^There's a backplate on my MVC flashed Gigabyte GTX 1080. Not a problem!

    Lou
     
  10. Helloha macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2013
    #3862
    Any idea if this specific card exceeds the power requirements? On the website it states that it's a 300watt card. But the Mac can only provide 225 or something? It has a 6 pin and 8 pin...
     
  11. pb69 macrumors member

    pb69

    Joined:
    May 5, 2017
    Location:
    New Mexico
    #3863
    Seeking recommendation of an affordable video card for a Mac Pro 4,1 that is much better than a GT120.
     
  12. Theophany macrumors 6502a

    Theophany

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2008
    Location:
    NW London.
    #3864
    GTX 680 is affordable if you buy a PC version and flash it yourself, I paid ~£100 for mine. If you bide your time and keep an eye out on eBay you can sometimes get a bargain, my GTX 980 Ti was £200 though it isn't flashed. I'm not really sure what to recommend from the red team though.
     
  13. Helloha macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2013
    #3865
    Just did some tests with the msi 980 and it seems to work, it's also much snappier to edit raw footage in Premiere Pro compared to the 1060.

    Just wondering if it's possible to control the fan on the card. By default it's off and I don't like that. I can change it in windows under bootcamp using the MSI software but the setting doesn't stick around when I boot into osx... Any thoughts on that one?

    Cheers!
    K.
     
  14. h9826790 macrumors 604

    h9826790

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2014
    Location:
    Hong Kong
    #3866
    You have to dump the ROM, mod the fan profile inside it, and flash it back to the card. Otherwise, all soft setting in Windows won't carry to MacOS.

    Anyway, the card is designed to do that. And 60C is not hot for GPU anyway (fan won't spin up until this temperature), keep the fan running just suck more dust in, increase fan wearing etc, not really necessary a good idea.
     
  15. pierrox macrumors regular

    pierrox

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2015
    Location:
    Paris, France
    #3867
    Rookie Nvidia user question - sorry if it's been covered a thousand times, though I did some searching before posting:
    I'm on OS 10.11.6, hence driver 346.03.15f06. On the Cuda page, it says the corresponding Cuda is v7.5.x.

    Can I install the very latest Cuda (v8.x) or am I stuck with v7?
     
  16. h9826790 macrumors 604

    h9826790

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2014
    Location:
    Hong Kong
    #3868
    The newest version usually only cover the latest OS.
     
  17. pierrox macrumors regular

    pierrox

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2015
    Location:
    Paris, France
    #3869
    That's what it says on their page:

    New Release 8.0.83
    • General CUDA driver update to support macOS 10.12 and NVIDIA display driver 378.05.05.15f01
    Recommended CUDA version(s):
    • CUDA 8.0
    Supported MAC OS X
    • 10.12.x
    • 10.11.x
    Now that's what I find confusing - hence my question: their page says "10.11.x" but also says "driver 378.xxx" which is 10.12 only.
     
  18. InuNacho macrumors 65816

    InuNacho

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2008
    Location:
    In that one place
    #3870
    I'm overhauling my 4,1 running 10.9.5 and is it correct to assume that the GTX 770 is the most powerful card I can use? I was looking around and it looks like it takes 230w and the slots only provide 225w, in the real world would the 5w make a difference or should I hunt down a 760ti?
     
  19. Synchro3 macrumors 65816

    Synchro3

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2014
    #3871
    230 Watt is no problem for the Mac Pro. But you need at least one 6 to 8 pin power cable.
     
  20. DearthnVader macrumors 6502

    DearthnVader

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2015
    Location:
    Red Springs, NC
    #3872
    Has anyone gotten HDMI audio to work with GF10 cards?
     
  21. pb69 macrumors member

    pb69

    Joined:
    May 5, 2017
    Location:
    New Mexico
    #3873
    Need $150 new video card recommendation. Running El Capitan. MP 4,1 with 5,1 firmware.
     
  22. h9826790 macrumors 604

    h9826790

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2014
    Location:
    Hong Kong
    #3874
    What do you mean "new" card? New generation? Never use? Newer than your current one? Or simply means need a replacement card?
     
  23. pb69 macrumors member

    pb69

    Joined:
    May 5, 2017
    Location:
    New Mexico
    #3875
    New as in never used.
    So far my only choice for El Capitan seems to be a GTX 750 ti.
    I have discovered that If I run Sierra I can use a GTX 1050 or a RX 460 both of which are about $30 less than the GTX 750 ti.
     
Thread Status:
The first post in this thread is a WikiPost, and can be edited by anyone with the appropriate permissions.

Share This Page