Frequently Asked Questions About NVIDIA PC (non-EFI) Graphics Cards

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by Asgorath, Sep 13, 2012.

Thread Status:
The first post in this thread is a WikiPost, and can be edited by anyone with the appropriate permissions.
  1. GermanyChris macrumors 601

    GermanyChris

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2011
    Location:
    Here
    #151
    it says something like..you mac does not support GTS or Quadro....

    I didn't give it much thought since the card is in there and working just fine..

    When I get back to my apartment on Sunday I'll post a screen shot.
     
  2. MacVidCards Suspended

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2008
    Location:
    Hollywood, CA
    #152
    right click on installer and run from package inside

    I think you are saying the installer won't run, correct?

    that is a different thing from saying that the drivers don't work
     
  3. GermanyChris macrumors 601

    GermanyChris

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2011
    Location:
    Here
    #153
    Did that last night, and corrupted my boot drive and the automatic back up..
     
  4. Anderton macrumors member

    Anderton

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2012
    Location:
    Sweden
    #154
    I think you got other issues with your system to be honest.
     
  5. GermanyChris macrumors 601

    GermanyChris

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2011
    Location:
    Here
    #155
    Ok...I'm good with that
     
  6. MDangerous macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2008
    #156
    I think I may have found a solution. I deleted the Final Cut plist files and restarted FCP X. No crashes in the last day or so. Fingers crossed.
     
  7. Xeocon macrumors member

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2006
    #157
    Just an update on the EVGA 660 Ti in a Mac Pro 4.1:

    It seemed before that by plugging my monitor into the DVI-I connector rather than the DVI-D connector solved my sleep issues. However now I think that the issue comes from the computer putting itself to sleep when left idle. Whenever I manually put the computer to sleep, the monitor has no issues waking up. When falling asleep by itself though, the computer wakes up but not the monitor. Maybe I should try putting the card in slot 2? Its currently in slot 1.

    Anyone else experiencing issues?
     
  8. GermanyChris macrumors 601

    GermanyChris

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2011
    Location:
    Here
    #158
    This time with the diver 209.00.05f02 I did not get a corrupt drive..

    The first time the Package wouldn't install so I opened package contents and installed just the driver and the computer never booted again...

    This time after a minty Lion install the diver install and reboots.
     
  9. MacVidCards Suspended

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2008
    Location:
    Hollywood, CA
    #159
    So, a case of Operator Error. Drivers fine.
     
  10. GermanyChris macrumors 601

    GermanyChris

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2011
    Location:
    Here
    #160
    Yes
     
  11. kapowaz macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2008
    #161
    I have recently purchased a GeForce GTX 680 to fit into my 2008 Mac Pro (2,1) which is running Mountain Lion. Everything went smoothly until I tried playing games — both World of Warcraft and Portal 2 demonstrated graphical corruption, with a weird checkerboard effect showing the scenery through 3D objects (example below).

    [​IMG]

    I've arranged an RMA with the manufacturer, but I'm wondering if there's any possibility that this might not be a hardware fault? I could probably verify if the problem still happens with the latest drivers under Windows by installing another hard drive and boot camp, but I'm loath to commit so much time to testing that if it's definitely a hardware fault. Anyone able to comment?
     
  12. Asgorath thread starter macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2012
    #162
    You're not running 10.8.2 plus the NVIDIA driver, are you? It's not a HW problem, driver bug that was fixed in the 10.8.1 web driver from NVIDIA (and the fix is still present in the 10.8.2 web driver).

    Edit: I should update the OP with info about this, since it's been a common problem with 570/580/670/680 cards from what I've heard. Definitely fixed with the latest drivers.
     
  13. PurdueRPh, Oct 24, 2012
    Last edited: Oct 24, 2012

    PurdueRPh macrumors newbie

    PurdueRPh

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2012
    #163
    I just bought a PNY GeForce GTX 670 this last weekend, installed OSX 10.8.2 and then put the new card into my 2009 MacPro. As stated here in these posts, no EFI boot screen, but the machine started up with no other issues. I then went and started up WoW, and I noticed the same pattern on the screen and that my FPS was 15-20, with all setting set medium to low.
    I then followed the link to nvidia's website and downloaded the newest version of the drivers and the Cuda one's also. They installed with no problems. I restarted WoW and the pattern was gone. I pumped the graphics to ultra and got 100-120 FPS in Pandaria. It was a huge difference in performance.

    My question is now, since the new iMacs are running the 670MX chip for graphics, is there any hope for an EFI bios for my GFX 670?
     
  14. MacVidCards Suspended

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2008
    Location:
    Hollywood, CA
    #164
    Doubtful on the EFI in iMac.

    AFter a lot of extracting and fiddling with a new rMBP, we came to the conclusion that the CPU based Intel 4000 handles boot screens. There is no EFI to enable boot screen from the 650.

    Likely iMac is same and the only place to get said EFI is going to be K5000.

    Or maybe it is on iMac. Won't know until someone tries. But it would seem likely that they will do it same way as rMBP.
     
  15. kapowaz macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2008
    #165
    Argh, seriously? I've already started an RMA which involves paying for a second card before returning the original (then being refunded). I'd evidently misunderstood completely — I thought it was fine to just use the drivers that come with OS X Mountain Lion. I'll reinstall the card and see what happens…
     
  16. aquarich, Oct 25, 2012
    Last edited: Oct 25, 2012

    aquarich macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2010
    #166

    Attached Files:

  17. Asgorath thread starter macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2012
    #167
    Right, the stock Mountain Lion drivers are enough to make the cards boot to the desktop. The latest ones from NVIDIA's website obviously contain additional fixes and performance improvements, for example this box-like corruption was fixed in the 10.8.1 web driver as far as I can tell.

    I've said it before and I'll say it again: there's no reason *not* to be running the driver from NVIDIA if you're using a PC card. Yes, the stock drivers from Apple will now let you boot to the desktop with such a card, but you should always update to the NVIDIA driver since it'll be more up-to-date than the one Apple ships. The benefit of the stock drivers working is that you don't have to swap cards whenever you do a Software Update, i.e. the Apple drivers aren't going to "break" your card. Once you've done the update, you should install the NVIDIA driver as soon as it becomes available.
     
  18. Asgorath thread starter macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2012
    #168
    Updated with some clarification about Kepler cards and Mountain Lion, and links to MVC's instructions on how to modify the OpenCL framework binary to remove the 2GB limitation.
     
  19. Asgorath thread starter macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2012
    #169
    Also added a note about the box-like corruption on GTX 570/580/670/680 which appears to be fixed with the latest Mountain Lion drivers from NVIDIA (though is still present in the stock Apple drivers).
     
  20. El Awesome macrumors 6502

    El Awesome

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2012
    Location:
    Zurich
    #170
    Hey all,

    I'm desperately trying to get iStat working correctly with my EFI-flashed GTX570 2560MB from MVC.

    What I get now is attached below, it says Memory Usage 0%. Impossible.
    I also don't get any temps, that would be very interesting as well.
    I tried a Nvidia-kext for hackintoshes and stuff, but I don't get any improvements. Running 10.8.2, newest nVidia drivers & CUDA drivers installed.

    Anyone able to help?
     

    Attached Files:

  21. Asgorath thread starter macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2012
    #171
    Contact the author of that app and ask him how he's querying that data? I see video memory usage (and a whole bunch of other stats) just fine with the Apple OpenGL Driver Monitor app.
     
  22. Kristian Thomse macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2012
    #172
    Mac Pro 1.1 - GT630 - 10.7.4

    Hi everyone,

    I have spent hours reading through the posts about GPU upgrades for Mac Pro 1.1's.
    For all the information shared I thank all the authors!

    I would like to know (what remains an unanswered question for me inspite of fairly profound reading):
    Will a Geforce GT630 DDR3 card work with Lion 10.7.4 and the Nvidia drivers, on a Mac Pro 1.1?

    Based on my reading I know that several Fermi cards are supported in 10.7.4, counting the GT440 and GT430.
    The Geforce GT630 DDR3 is supposed to be a rebranded GT440 - but is it compatible due to being a Fermi card?
    Or does it somehow have specs that are different from those of the GT440/GT430 - that will make it impossible or difficult to make it work with Lion 10.7.4, on my Mac Pro 1.1? Device ID / Differences regarding hardware...?

    How is this relevant?: More and more, GT440 and GT430 cards are becoming unavailable due to stockouts.

    I would like to thank everybody in advance for their time reflecting about this post.

    What i know about this subject already, from clever minds on Netkas and Macrumors, is that:
    The Kepler drivers for 10.7.5 are 64bit drivers that do not load on a 32bit kernel. Therefore, although you can force the installation of the driver software on a Mac Pro 1.1, the drivers are not going to work properly.
    - A question regarding this is whether the 10.7.4 Fermi drivers are suitable for the GT630 DDR3 card (Fermi chip), or the card will require 10.7.5 Kepler drivers as a result of being a 6 series card - thus making the GT630 unsuitable for a Mac Pro 1.1 with OS X Lion?

    Best regards
    Kristian Thomsen
     
  23. Asgorath thread starter macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2012
    #173
    What are you talking about? The stock 10.7.5 driver, as well as the 295.00.05f02 driver on NVIDIA's website, are both fat binaries (i386 and x86_64).
     
  24. Kristian Thomse macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2012
    #174
    Fat binaries...

    Thank you very much for your reply, Asgorath.

    Originally Posted by Asgorath
    Yes, the GTX 680 is not supported by 10.7.5, I need to make this more clear in the OP. Only the Fermi generation GPUs seem to work in Lion, the Kepler GPUs appear to require Mountain Lion in general.


    The GT630 DDR3 is a Fermi card, said to be a GT440 rebrand.
    Will this require Mountain Lion? Or will it run on 10.7.4 or 10.7.5, on a Mac Pro 1.1?

    I am sorry if I have misunderstood the deal about the 295.00.05f02 driver, regarding fat binaries and bits. I am trying to get the grasp on this subject, and yet my reading has not done the job, i guess.
     
  25. MacVidCards Suspended

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2008
    Location:
    Hollywood, CA
    #175
    Regardless of whether it is Fermi, Kepler or Potato, if the device id isn't supported in the driver, it won't work.

    I would guess that you would find it to work in whatever driver version other similar cards are supported in.

    ie, if it came out when GTX670 did, it MIGHT be supported where 670 is. If it JUST came out with GTX660, you might need to find the first driver that supported 660.
     
Thread Status:
The first post in this thread is a WikiPost, and can be edited by anyone with the appropriate permissions.

Share This Page