Frequently Asked Questions About NVIDIA PC (non-EFI) Graphics Cards

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by Asgorath, Sep 13, 2012.

Thread Status:
The first post in this thread is a WikiPost, and can be edited by anyone with the appropriate permissions.
  1. Asgorath thread starter macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2012
    #176
    The cards aren't officially supported. This means at some point, someone will just have to buy one and try it out. I personally don't have a MacPro1,1 or a GT 630 card, so I can't try it out for you.

    If you buy the card and it works, great. If not, you can always return it, right?
     
  2. da991319 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2012
    #177
    EVGA GTX 560Ti, ML 10.8.2

    Hi everyone,

    i am trying to have an EVGA GTX 560Ti to work on y mac pro 3.1 with ML 10.8.2. The nVidia drivers are the one provided by the link at the beginning of this thread.

    I experienced the exact same problem as charliebee (on page 3) :
    - GTX 560 Ti (slot 2) + native 2600XT => system boots up but reboots itself when it gets to the login screen
    - GTX 560 Ti (slot 2 or slot 1) => I get the startup chime but doesn't seem to load the OS at all. I waited a several minutes and nothing happened

    Unlike Charliebee I am not able to boot in safe mode (no matter if the 2600 XT is plugged in) so i can't even see if the card is detected.

    I also tried to modify the ktext as Charliebee explained (by added the correct device ID of the GTX 560 Ti) but it doesn't do any difference.

    Did anyone ever experience this with this video card.

    Any advice would be greatly appreciated.

    Thank you
     
  3. Asgorath thread starter macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2012
    #178
    I've used the EVGA GeForce GTX 560 Ti since February or so of this year. I was using it with Mountain Lion, both with and without the NVIDIA drivers. Rock solid for me, no modifications needed. My system is a MacPro5,1 (2010) for what it's worth, and I had the card in slot 2.

    Check the system logs for error messages. Does the system boot fine with just the 2600 XT?
     
  4. arunpg123 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2008
    #179
  5. Asgorath thread starter macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2012
    #180
    You're in the wrong thread, this is an AMD card.
     
  6. Kristian Thomse macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2012
    #181
    Thank you so much for your reply, MacVidCars.

    ----------

    Thank you, Asgorath.
    You are right - and I think that is what I am gonna do.
    I will return with the results of the test!

    When I read your thread, I thought: "This guy, Asgorath, is unbeatable in this subject". Therefore I assumed you could tell if the card was gonna work, from a set of genius calculations or the like. But perhaps Apple has left us with no other real options than trial and error. You do seem well informed regarding Mac Pro and GPU upgrades, and as well does indeed MacVidCards.
     
  7. Asgorath thread starter macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2012
    #182
    Right, my answer is "probably". It will probably work, since it's a Fermi GPU and those tend to work fine with Lion. That's as best as I can do without actually having access to such a card. All of our knowledge on this subject has come from exactly that, trial and error. Good luck!
     
  8. da991319 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2012
    #183
    Hi Asgorath,

    The mac boot without any problem with the 2600 XT.
    I have paste the ktext in case you notice any problem with it:


    Code:
    <?xml version="1.0" encoding="UTF-8"?>
    <!DOCTYPE plist PUBLIC "-//Apple//DTD PLIST 1.0//EN" "http://www.apple.com/DTDs/PropertyList-1.0.dtd">
    <plist version="1.0">
    <dict>
            <key>CFBundleDevelopmentRegion</key>
            <string>English</string>
            <key>CFBundleExecutable</key>
            <string>NVDAGF100Hal</string>
            <key>CFBundleGetInfoString</key>
            <string>NVDAGF100Hal 1.3.4.0 (304.00.05f02)</string>
            <key>CFBundleIdentifier</key>
            <string>com.apple.nvidia.nvGF100hal</string>
            <key>CFBundleInfoDictionaryVersion</key>
            <string>6.0</string>
            <key>CFBundleName</key>
            <string>NVIDIA GF100 Resman Kernel Extension</string>
            <key>CFBundlePackageType</key>
            <string>KEXT</string>
            <key>CFBundleShortVersionString</key>
            <string>1.3.4</string>
            <key>CFBundleSignature</key>
            <string>????</string>
            <key>CFBundleVersion</key>
            <string>3.0.4</string>
            <key>IOKitPersonalities</key>
            <dict>
                    <key>NVidiaRM</key>
                    <dict>
                            <key>CFBundleIdentifier</key>
                            <string>com.apple.nvidia.nvGF100hal</string>
                            <key>IOClass</key>
                            <string>NVDAGF100HAL</string>
                            <key>IOMatchCategory</key>
                            <string>IOService</string>
                            <key>IOPCIMatch</key>
                            <string>0x000010de&0x0000ffff
                                    0x120010de&0xffc0ffff
                            </string>
                            <key>IOPCIClassMatch</key>
                            <string>0x03000000&0xff000000</string>
                            <key>IOProbeScore</key>
                            <integer>60000</integer>
                            <key>IOProviderClass</key>
                            <string>IOPCIDevice</string>
                    </dict>
            </dict>
            <key>OSBundleCompatibleVersion</key>
            <string>1.2.0</string>
            <key>OSBundleLibraries</key>
            <dict>
                    <key>com.apple.NVDAResman</key>
                    <string>1.2.0</string>
                    <key>com.apple.iokit.IOPCIFamily</key>
                    <string>2.4</string>
                    <key>com.apple.kpi.iokit</key>
                    <string>9.0.0</string>
                    <key>com.apple.kpi.libkern</key>
                    <string>9.0.0</string>
            </dict>
            <key>OSBundleRequired</key>
            <string>Safe Boot</string>
    </dict>
    </plist>
    I added this line: 0x120010de&0xffc0ffff

    I will have a look at the system logs and see if i can find any error message.

    Thanks again for your time.
     
  9. Asgorath thread starter macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2012
    #184
    My GTX 560 Ti worked without issues, so yeah, not sure what's going wrong. Checking /var/log/system.log for error messages will definitely help.
     
  10. da991319 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2012
    #185
    Asgorath

    I checked the log and I have a kernel panic when the GTX 560 is by itself.

    Here some part of the panic log:

    Code:
          Kernel Extensions in backtrace:
             com.apple.iokit.IOGraphicsFamily(2.3.5)[803496D0-ADAD-3ADB-B071-8A0A197DA53D]@0xffffff7f8eb8e000->0xffffff7f8ebc5fff
                dependency: com.apple.iokit.IOPCIFamily(2.7.2)[B1B77B26-7984-302F-BA8E-544DD3D75E73]@0xffffff7f8e634000
             com.apple.NVDAResman(3.0.4)[BC567F28-823E-3FB4-A726-F13C4041C44D]@0xffffff7f8fe16000->0xffffff7f90123fff
                dependency: com.apple.iokit.IOPCIFamily(2.7.2)[B1B77B26-7984-302F-BA8E-544DD3D75E73]@0xffffff7f8e634000
                dependency: com.apple.iokit.IONDRVSupport(2.3.5)[86DDB71C-A73A-3EBE-AC44-0BC9A38B9A44]@0xffffff7f8ebd1000
                dependency: com.apple.iokit.IOGraphicsFamily(2.3.5)[803496D0-ADAD-3ADB-B071-8A0A197DA53D]@0xffffff7f8eb8e000
             com.apple.GeForce(8.0.1)[90A7ED58-4F3E-38B4-8596-EB1D65EA1B85]@0xffffff7f90a77000->0xffffff7f90b3afff
                dependency: com.apple.NVDAResman(3.0.4)[BC567F28-823E-3FB4-A726-F13C4041C44D]@0xffffff7f8fe16000
                dependency: com.apple.iokit.IONDRVSupport(2.3.5)[86DDB71C-A73A-3EBE-AC44-0BC9A38B9A44]@0xffffff7f8ebd1000
                dependency: com.apple.iokit.IOPCIFamily(2.7.2)[B1B77B26-7984-302F-BA8E-544DD3D75E73]@0xffffff7f8e634000
                dependency: com.apple.iokit.IOGraphicsFamily(2.3.5)[803496D0-ADAD-3ADB-B071-8A0A197DA53D]@0xffffff7f8eb8e000

    Code:
    System uptime in nanoseconds: 33635832324
    last loaded kext at 32589664619: com.nvidia.CUDA	1.1.0 (addr 0xffffff7f8eea5000, size 12288)
    loaded kexts:
    com.nvidia.CUDA	1.1.0
    com.apple.driver.AudioAUUC	1.60
    com.apple.GeForce	8.0.1
    Code:
    com.apple.driver.AppleIntelCPUPowerManagement	196.0.0
    com.apple.nvidia.nv50hal	3.0.4
    com.apple.nvidia.nvGK100hal	3.0.4
    com.apple.nvidia.nvGF100hal	3.0.4
    com.apple.NVDAResman	3.0.4
    I am not sure if that's really usefull.

    I will try to reinstall the drivers tomorrow (including SCUDA drivers) to see if that makes a difference.

    Thanks again for the logs tip
     
  11. etc macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2008
    #186
    GTX690 also works in Mac Pro (3.1 or higher) OOTB (additional PSU required):

    [​IMG]

    On Mac OS X both GPU's works as separate graphics cards. All DVI ports working perfectly.

    But only one GPU will work on Windows. You can install HyperSLI patch to get SLI, but it works only with two separate cards with SLI bridge (tested with two GTX560). Dual-GPU card with internal SLI will not work in MP for unknown reasons. Windows disables one GPU which isn't "main", so you can't use DVI ports 2-3 or 1 (DP not tested) simultaneously. In device manager only one GPU shown. If I forced to work both, HyperSLI 80% will work well.
     
  12. Kristian Thomse macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2012
    #187
    Thanks - and thank you for giving me your best possible answer, Asgorath.

    This goes out to anyone in the discussion:
    I have read here and there that graphics cards with 2GB+ can be problematic in terms of compatibilty (will need workarounds to function properly) with Lion. Some authors term it 2GB+ others write "more than 2GB". I wonder if this means that a card with 2GB should be fine, whereas a card with 2.5GB or more could be problematic. Or does 2GB+ mean cards with 2GB or more...? I mean, is it best to settle with 1GB cards?
     
  13. Asgorath thread starter macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2012
    #188
    2GB cards work fine. The restriction is present in both Lion and Mountain Lion, and is the Apple OpenCL framework testing the amount of video memory on the GPU. If the size is greater than 2GB, the framework disables OpenCL acceleration. Netkas figured out how to hack the binary to remove this restriction, details are in the FAQ with a link to MacVidCard's description of how to make the necessary changes.
     
  14. Kristian Thomse macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2012
    #189
    Absolutely superb answering - thanks, Asgorath. That was very useful.
    Now I am set for buying a card, and will return with the results of my testing within the nearest future.
     
  15. maxmaut macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2011
    #190
    I also wanted to confirm that Nvidia Quadro FX 1800 with 768 ram works outofthebox in my MP 4.1, and could alo be added to the list.
    I hope this would be helpful for someone.
     
  16. Asgorath thread starter macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2012
    #191
    Thanks, I need to go through the thread and update the list of cards that are known to work.
     
  17. freeflywing macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2008
    #192
    So does it mean it is safe to use 6 & 8 pins gtx 680 on Mac Pro? isn't 8 pin draw 150w? which is over 225w Mac Pro 2 x 6 pin can provide.

     
  18. Asgorath thread starter macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2012
    #193
    First of all, please don't quote the entire FAQ post.

    I cover the GTX 680 in the original post:

    Emphasis added. To be clear, if the card you're looking at getting has any number of 8-pin power connectors, you should check the TDP of the card. If the TDP of the card is greater than 225W, then you probably shouldn't get it.

    If the TDP of the card is less than or equal to 225W, but for some reason the card has an 8-pin power connector, then it's probably fine to just use a 6-pin to 8-pin converter cable. This only applies for the GTX 680 series cards, not the 480/580 which definitely require more than 225W.

    There are plenty of GTX 680 cards that have 2 6-pin connectors and a TDP well under 225W, and those are all fine choices.
     
  19. freeflywing macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2008
    #194
    Oh sorry, i didn't realize that a long quote is annoying!!!
    Is there any website I can check the TDP of EVGA card?
    I can not find any info about it; most web site just tells the general TDP 19x.
    and EVGA product description did not even mention the TDP on their card.


     
  20. Asgorath thread starter macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2012
    #195
    Why don't you just link the exact card you're looking at? For reference, I just got this one:

    http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16814130768

    which you can see has the 2 6-pin power connectors as expected. The underlying theme here is this: don't bother getting a super-overclocked card that requires 8-pin power connectors. It's just not worth it.
     
  21. Alazoral macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2009
    #196
    Successful Installation of GTX 660 in Mac Pro 1,1

    After (more or less) following the instructions in this thread to upgrade my 1,1 to ML 10.8.2, I installed my 660 (the ASUS DirectCU II model, if you're interested), replacing my EFI-flashed 4890. This is a report of the various setbacks I have suffered along my journey so that another may avoid my mistakes.

    Upon startup after replacing the drive, it did nothing but reboot after a period of blackness. Resolution: Replaced old card, downloaded latest drivers from nVidia's website.

    Installer failed claiming I was not running 10.8.2 (possibly due to hinkiness recommended in thread referenced above in upgrading method). Resolution: Install with Pacifist, replaced old graphics card with new graphics card.

    Started up without restarting but had no graphics at all. Was able to connect via remote desktop. System information reported no graphics card was present. Resolution: Repair disk permissions in Disk Utility.

    Now everything seems to be booting up - black until desktop, as expected. The system information reports the correct card and I appear to be having a properly accelerated operating system with the translucencies, shadows and lack of flickering as one would expect. However the Startup Disk prefpane is not letting me change the startup disk to my Boot Camp volume, claiming the bless tool is unable to do so. I shall now attempt to boot into Windows blind.
     
  22. MDangerous macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2008
    #197
    My GTX 470 seems not to like Google Earth. The GTX freezes when trying to run the latest Google Earth 7.0.1.8244 (beta). Anyone else seeing this?
     
  23. Alazoral macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2009
    #198
    No joy trying to boot windows blind. Anyone know how to fix bless?
     
  24. Asgorath thread starter macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2012
    #199
    When posting problems like this, please include:

    - Model of Mac Pro.
    - OS and driver version.
    - Any messages from "NVDA" in /var/log/system.log or elsewhere.

    Otherwise, we have no idea what's going on.
     
  25. MDangerous macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2008
    #200
    Gotcha!
    1. Mac Pro 3,1
    2. 10.8.2 and 304.00.05f02
    3. What exactly am I looking for in /var/log/system.log? I went to Console and System Logs and filtered NVDA. I see the following error repeated over and over but not sure if this is what I'm looking for....

    Nov 1 20:57:18 my-name-mac-pro-2 kernel[0]: NVDA(OpenGL): Channel exception! exception type = 0x1f = Fifo: MMU Error

    Edit: I also see these...
    Oct 31 15:55:14 my-name-mac-pro-2 kernel[0]: NVDA: Unable to use shared channel!
    Oct 31 15:55:14 my-name-mac-pro-2 kernel[0]: NVDA: Calling glrKillClient for task 0xffffff802eb4d1a8


    Oct 31 18:30:28 my-name-mac-pro-2 kernel[0]: NVDA(OpenGL): Channel timeout!
    Oct 31 18:30:28 my-name-mac-pro-2 kernel[0]: NVDA(OpenGL): Channel exception! exception type = 0xd = GR: SW Notify Error
     
Thread Status:
The first post in this thread is a WikiPost, and can be edited by anyone with the appropriate permissions.

Share This Page